Skip to main content

reviews

55
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 16 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    What a cast, indeed. And what a bust as persuasive drama. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A maddening film, maddening in a good way, but maddening nonetheless. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    While the ingredients are there to make a tense and compelling post-9/11 thriller, Rendition falls flat. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    One reason to see Rendition is for Naor's stunning performance as the torturer who is the one character aware of the political and moral contradictions of what he's doing. Every time he was on screen, he commanded it. show more

  • 75
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    There are some problems with the pacing, but this topical thriller about CIA-sanctioned torture is one of the most important "message" movies of the year. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Rendition tackles the concern in a heavy-handed thriller with simplistic characters and manipulative story lines. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Rendition is valuable and rare. As I wrote from Toronto: "It is a movie about the theory and practice of two things: torture and personal responsibility. And it is wise about what is right, and what is wrong." show more

  • 88
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Taut, powerfully acted political thriller. show more

  • 75
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    A rarity – a political film that delivers its timely message with a cinematic punch and no undue speechifying. show more

  • 63
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    The movie Rendition asks, admittedly in a one-sided way, whether the ends justify these means. show more

  • May 22, 2008 movieadmirefan
    Report This User

    I thought this movie was a bit slow, but it was entertaining, Although Jake Gyllenhaal's performance was weak, he didn't quite make his work in this movie strong, Reese Whitterspoon did good work, but her performance was a bit weak too, was too disappointed that her role was not quite strong, Alan Arkin was entertaining, and Meryl Streep's performance was quite evil, and worth watching. The actor who played Reese's kidnapped husband was quite good, he did a great job. The story was pretty much predictable where it almost lost you, but in the end, you realized what the story was all about. I would not see this movie again because I don't want to be lost again. Rendition is not a movie I would suggest if only you like this kind of movie.

  • May 22, 2008 Carol
    Report This User

    With all the scenes in another language and no sub titles, how was anyone to understand what the heck was going on???

  • May 22, 2008 johnsbury1
    Report This User

    As a movie Rendition works, but as a moral indictment against the USA's complex fight against terrorism, it is a failure. Let me address Rendition, the movie, first. The current trend in Hollywood of using concurrent stories towards a conclusion, plus a time-line quirk, adds a bit interest to the story. The entire cast of this movie did a fine job, with special praise for the Arabic actor, Yigal Noar, that plays the police chief. Streep was flawless, as usual, as an amoral, one dimensional, CIA chief who's only concern is to get the job done, even if it means breaking some rules. Metwally is very convincing as the Egyptian American who is wrongly imprisoned and tortured for being a terrorist spy. Gyllenhaal is also very good as a CIA analyst, as he uses minimal dialog and facial expressions to convey his moral turmoil. The movie does get a bit slow in the middle and the end a bit fanciful but it is does not detract from the overall success of Rendition, as a movie. Rendition as a moral indictment, accusation if you will, fails to take into account the type of terrorists the USA and Free World are facing. The movie calls into question America's possible use of surrogates to circumvent our "no torture " claim to the International Community. The movie sympathetically depicts the recruitment and education of young Arabic men as suicide bombers but does not highlight whom they are sent out to slaughter: innocent young children, woman and old men peacefully shopping in some market place or lazily sitting an outdoor coffee shop. If the intent of this movie is to indict the USA for the possible use of "water boarding" or of treating captured insurgents with less than gentle interrogation methods, they are forcing us to balance that against their methods of cutting people's heads off and the random killing of innocents. Rendition as a movie, fin

  • May 22, 2008 sgdgbgsg12345
    Report This User

    This was such a biased movie..I felt I was watching a politcal ad...The person arrested for terroism didn't even try to answer obvious questions which would have lead to his release. Characters were manipulated to make some anti-American point...This movie seemed very contrived to make a point that only thae writer could understand. I would not reccommed anyone waste their time on this movie

  • May 22, 2008 candiceun
    Report This User

    Great acting, plot a bit predictable. I loved the Arab actors, nice to give a more humane impression. Loved Metwally the lead actor who plays the role of the Egyptian American Engineer tortured in some far away prison. Loved the scenes shot in Morroco. THis film is a good reminder of how we whouldn't lose our Constituitional rights...and how fighting terrroism is about winning hearts and minds...torturing anyone with a middle eastern sounding name isnt going to do anything but fuel islamic militancy.

  • May 22, 2008 salsadip54
    Report This User

    This movie was very well put together. I loved how the two stores intertwined with eachother. Don't listen to the bitter reviews. This movie was worth seeing!

  • May 22, 2008 tiwa188073
    Report This User

    Full Review: http://myfunnyvalentinemarina.blogspot.com/

  • May 22, 2008 crexrun
    Report This User

    I was reluctant to see this film because I heard that Resse W. doesn't quite cut it in the role of a woman desperate to find her husband. This ended up being true. She just doesnt have the range to play a woman in despair and desperation. Her dramatic scenes where she raised her voice were screechy and I felt nothing for her character. That being said, she is only in the movie a bit. The rest of the film rocks. It is a very intense drama about what no doubt happens to people that are merely suspected of having ties with terrorists whether innocent or guilty. Some may see this as a propoganda film but so what? Why not learn about what probably happens to innocent people who get abducted by the C.I.A. and tortured in foreign countries for information. The scenes in Africa were amazing, such a blend of good stories. The innocent yet forbidden love of the two young Moroccans was very Romeo and Juliet. The boot camp scenes of the training of young terrorist boys was scary. I loved this film. I learned something and I was on a roller coaster ride. Meryl Streep is positively evil as the head of the C.I.A. operative. If you don't like this film, you are probably a right-wing republican in denial of the truth.

  • May 22, 2008 MARK
    Report This User

    Don't waste your money....

  • May 22, 2008 parnase6
    Report This User

    Saw this film last night, definitely worth the ticket price.Good acting by all....what's up with Meryl playing all of these "nasty roles" lately?? ( Devil Wears Prada and now this one??) Although she was excellent, as usual!!To sgwhitez: Concerning your note about Reese not being able to get that close to arriving customers on planes: Some airlines (Southwest does this) will issue you (with proper ID and the flyer's name) a "special pass" to allow you to be right at the gate to meet your party, if you ask. There should be special circumstances involved (elderly, handicapped, children traveling alone, etc.) but you can do this!Very good movie!!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X