Skip to main content

reviews

36
Based on 16 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 43 )
  • 25
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    One more small thing: Every other scene in Saw IV starts and ends with a potential victim pressing "play" on a tape recorder, to the point where it's almost funny. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    If an hour and a half of so-called "torture porn" sounds like fun, you'll find Saw IV situated somewhere between the first in the cycle (a solid original with plenty of energy in it) and the last (a gasping copycat willing to do anything to stay alive). show more

  • 50
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Director Darren Lynn Bousman, who also helmed the past two installments, doesn't deviate from the stylistic formula, which includes grinding industrial music, frenzied editing and a blue-gray color palette. show more

  • 50
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Since the thing is increasingly impatient to jump forward to the next big torture set piece, there isn't any time to establish anyone's character. Butcher shops are bloody, too, but they're not scary. show more

  • 50
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    The trouble is that if you haven't seen the other entries in the cycle, or don't have all the characters committed to memory, you'll have trouble figuring out who anybody is or, in the end, what any of it is supposed to mean. show more

  • 50
    Premiere

    Though the series seemed like a great concept three years ago, it's now just a repeated assault on the senses, designed strictly for the gross-out crowd, and disturbs rather than scares. show more

  • 38
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    It's a depressing experience to view something like Saw IV. It's not just the soullessness that's dispiriting, but the lack of invention. When a movie does little more than repeat what its predecessors accomplished with grotesque effectiveness, it's past time to tip this corpse into its grave and bury it. show more

  • 25
    Stephen Cole The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    There is no narrative tension in the film, however, just a variety of grisly crucifixions. And the morality tales are blood-stained window dressing. show more

  • 12
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Getting to the true root of his evil may necessitate "Saw LX." show more

  • 20
    Film Threat

    For devotees of the series, the gore is still there and the traps are just as weird as they were in the other entries but for the rest of us, your mind will forget it the second the end credits roll. show more

  • November 04, 2008 Lil mikey 1012
    Report This User

    not as good as saw 3 but still good

  • May 22, 2008 jdlewis60
    Report This User

    Time to fire the new blood writers and bring back the old blood. Time to forgive and forget the writers strike, and start making some good movies again because lately there has been a great deal of crap, like Saw4. Utter urine! Horrid!

  • May 22, 2008 jennelle22
    Report This User

    This sequel sucked!!! I went on opening night and everyone left the theatre mad as hell. It was dry and whack!!They should have stopped at Saw III, that was the best one.

  • May 22, 2008 theregoestaylor
    Report This User

    I haven't seen it but I have seen all the the other ones... but this, i have heard that this movie is really good and there is one really gross scene! I am a little bit mad that they don't answer some questions... like where is eric matthews? What happened to his son? Also the beginning of this movie does make sense because in the end of the 3rd movie he is dying and that doctor had to treat for him but she failed so the device that she was wearing smashed her head. People wonder why he begins on an autopsy scan... hmmm lets think... obvious! He died in the 3rd movie because the doctors husband shot him and his heart rate stopped which caused the doctor's device on her head to go off. It goes off when jigsaws heart rate stops. I know this is a lot to say, but it should make sense why he would begin on an autopsy table. Maybe you guys should go look up the defintition of an autopsy! lol Enjoy the movie i heard it's good!

  • May 22, 2008 xnataliax76
    Report This User

    This movie made absolutelly no sense whatsoever. I'm a huge gore fan, but this had no purpose. I felt dumber every second I set through this wrached excuse for a horror film. I can't even begin to express where the movie went wrong. HUGE dissapointment.

  • May 22, 2008 ferniedog2u
    Report This User

    definately not my favorite of the series but it did keep me interested the whole time. not the goriest film of the series but very lucrative kills this time around. but now its starting to get a little farfetched, seriously how many tape recorders can a dead guy perfectly place? i counted like 20 more of them in this film. plus i dont really see why they would continue making the series, everyone is pretty much there and gone and the only unanswered question is WHAT THE HELL HAPPEND TO DR GORDON

  • May 22, 2008 AmericanMade08
    Report This User

    i saw this movie last night and it is definitely my favorite of the series. i was so into the story haha. to all the people askin about a sequal... if im not mistaken they are making 6 movies. i think the time frame will be cleared up in the 5th movie cuz thats the one thing i was confused on... why was jigsaw on the autopsy table in the beginning, but in the room from the 3rd one at the end? i think its just a big flashback and will prolly be cleared up in the 5th... i hate modern day horror movies cuz theyre all the same so its really nice to see a movie like Saw come out and change it up. theres always a good story and always an awesome twist at the end. theyre just great movies. one thing about this movie.... PAY ATTENTION

  • May 22, 2008 mudokin12
    Report This User

    Everyone is saying how gory this movie is, when it in fact doesnt supply ENOUGH gore for me at least. I expected this movie to be sick and twisted and filled with bloody crazy kills/ All i got were 4 semi bloody kills, and an autopsy/.......wowi want MORE!

  • May 22, 2008 chyna5683
    Report This User

    Ok, I am a big fan of the SAW series and went to the theater anticipating a great 4th installment. A few questions... What is the freakin' time frame for this movie? It starts with Jigsaw's body being graphically autopsied, yet it ends with our FBI agent being locked in a room with... you guessed it... JIGSAW! Did I miss a sequel somewhere? What was the motive for the "New Cop-turned-serial killer? Will SAW V cleanly answer these questions? I guess we'll see!

  • May 22, 2008 Marc
    Report This User

    Didnt anyone figure out the color scheme for the movie?? If you really think about it, Saw 3

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X