Skip to main content

reviews

36
Based on 18 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 25
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Only a truly dreadful story could make 81 minutes seem like an eternity. And Space Chimps is just that leaden experience. show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    And then there is the most annoying animated sidekick in a long time: a bulb-headed, trying-to-be-cute glow creature called Kilowatt (Kristen Chenoweth), who sings an ear-piercing, high-pitched note when it's scared, which is often. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The CG animation is nothing special, but the characters are surprisingly fun and the story is full of enough puns, wordplay and slapstick to elicit laughs from across the age spectrum. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Delightful from beginning to end. show more

  • 63
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Kids might find the sight of monkeys -- sorry, apes -- wrestling in outer-space funny, but unless they're unusually sophisticated, much will probably just confuse them. show more

  • 38
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Short, cheap, weird, and passably diverting. show more

  • 25
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Sucks a whole lot of talented people into a wormhole of lousy. The film either needed to be a lot wittier to make up for the way it looks, or a lot better-looking to compensate for the funny it isn't. show more

  • 25
    The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Space Chimps might have been saved, in fact, by using real monkeys in the astronaut roles. Or, better yet, by having a monkey in the director's chair. show more

  • 12
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    I went in expecting to be disappointed, but even so, I was disappointed. show more

  • 50
    Marc Savlov Austin Chronicle

    Who doesn't love an animated, anthropomorphized-chimpanzee-starring, sci-fi romantic comedy? show more

  • September 12, 2008 one800jbj
    Report This User

    This movie is creative just plain fun. This is definitely for an 7 or 8 year old. It has a plot and moves along fine for a rainy afternoon. Our society it totally over stimulated! This movie is a moment of peace.

  • August 23, 2008 Joy
    Report This User

    I thought the movie would never end! My kids liked it, but I did not find it very entertaining like other kid movies!

  • August 08, 2008 Nycol8
    Report This User

    To: "I M all JIGGiLee": U must not be very "JiggiLee" if you can't conjure up a sense of humor and leave your animal rights B.S. to your own mental blog. U say, "sorry little ones" as if an 6 year old is really gonna read your nonsense opinion on AOL Moviefone. Sorry to burst YOUR bubble "big one" but to put it in terms that u might understand, but your an idiot. P.S. animimal planet is on the TELEVISION, NOT the big screen. Seems you would understand that seeing as how u probably don't go out your house much. Have a great cartoon animal saving day :)

  • August 05, 2008 Bayardrc
    Report This User

    This movie was so amazing! The characters were good and the plot was awsome! I think that the ailens should of stood up to Zartick the evil dictator.

  • July 30, 2008 Odmaryann66
    Report This User

    it is amazing

  • July 24, 2008 I M all JIGGiLee
    Report This User

    it is so rude to send monkeys to space against there will.....because monkeys cant really talk in real life!!!!! sorry to burst your bubble little ones but this so wrong...where is animal planet wen u need them they need to stop this before it gets really bad where they make little puppies take over the world ooo oops that is already done in the movie cats vs. dogs booooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!

  • July 21, 2008 Urbanprepster17
    Report This User

    I hate to be the bearer of bad news but the movie was incredibly hard to watch my kids hated it and they get amused watching our dog chase it's tail..

  • July 20, 2008 Cheetah BabyGirl
    Report This User

    i took my 2 and 4 year old and they loved it. It was the one of the best kids movies I've seen since Cars. It was cute and very well animated. I would recommend it and I'd get it on DVD.

  • July 20, 2008 TmrAbraham
    Report This User

    MAYBE THE LITTLE BOY THROWING UP IN THE AISLE IN FRONT OF OUR SEATS SET THE STAGE FOR THE WAY THE REST OF THE MOVIE WENT. OR MAYBE IT JUST ISN'T A GOOD MOVIE??

  • July 20, 2008 CelestialRainb0w
    Report This User

    Space Chimps was completely boring as far as I was concerned and barely kept my 6yo's attention. Take your child to see Wall-e instead. Skip this one.

`

similar movies

  • Meet the Robinsons (2007)

  • A Bug's Life (1998)

  • Rio 2 (2014)

  • Fly Me to the Moon (2008)

  • Toy Story 3 (2010)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X