Skip to main content

reviews

68
Based on 32 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 10 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Artfully exciting and compulsively watchable even at a butt-numbing 152 minutes, the film makes good on the promise New Zealand writer-director Andrew Dominik showed with "Chopper" in 2000. show more

  • 50
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Ponderous, repetitive and lacking a single rousing action sequence. show more

  • 100
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Though there is plenty of gunplay, this is a wondrously contemplative and poetic saga that offers a fresh and bewitching take on a timeworn genre. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The language of its narrative, like that of its characters, may be elevated -- a literary Western version of Damon Runyon -- but the words are intriguing, challenging and, occasionally, very funny. show more

  • 75
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Does something no other Jesse James movie has done: It tells the truth. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    This fascinating relationship gets smothered in pointlessly long takes, repetitive scenes, grim Western landscapes and mumbled, heavily accented dialogue. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Here is another Western in the classical tradition. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    It is a film, often breathtaking without settling for being pretty, filled with nervous silence. show more

  • 88
    Glenn Kenny Premiere

    Proceeds at a very stately pace, hoping the otherworldly mood of its detailed recreation of the old West might seep into the viewer's bones. This viewer did, as it happens, fall under the film's spell. show more

  • 63
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    The movie dreamily conjures up the outlaw's last months, and it's gorgeous, but long, cumbersome, and slightly shallow. show more

  • June 29, 2009 BC
    Report This User

    one o the most self-indulgent and pretentious pieces of crap I hve ever had to sit thru ******** artsie fartsie style it makes one yern of cowboy flick s of old MAke one wonder of BRad pitt is incapabile of choosing a good script of ter the miserable mr. and Mrs. smiith woner why he would stop to this one, mr. and mrs. Smith at least gave him the prospect of banging Angilena JOLIE in this one he gits to bang caseyAffleck

  • November 09, 2008 Don
    Report This User

    A waste of film.

  • May 22, 2008 God's child
    Report This User

    I have yet to see the film, I'm just wondering why the writer or whoever named the film this about Robert Ford? Is it only because he shot JJ in the back? Thanks

  • May 22, 2008 genowa
    Report This User

    Worse time I have ever spent in a movie theater. Too long and Pitt has always been overrated and proves it in this painful epic. Affleck was fine.

  • May 22, 2008 swtc8roline
    Report This User

    DO NOT USE THESE PEOPLE!!! THEY ARE A RIP-OFF AND DO NOT FIX YOUR ELECTRONICS!!! \n\nWe gave our Xbox 360 to them to be repaired. After having it for one week, they returned it and it was still broken. And they do not charge $49. It was $75! We gave it back to them and they have had it for a month! They will not return phone calls and do not show up as promised to return your merchandise. We just got our Xbox back tonight and they kept the power cord, which I am sure will take another month to get back. We googled them and have their home address if anyone needs it!! They also called us at 11 pm to tell us they won't return our powercord until we take down any negative reviews about them. Don't be a victim!

  • May 22, 2008 maggie368
    Report This User

    I loved the part where Brad Pitt rips off Casey Afflects pants in the tent and takes him from behind ...on that cold night up in the mountains. I cried when Brad held Casey's old shirt, after he died..they loved each other all those years.\nWait!\nMy bad. That was another movie. I got confused because wathing this Jessie James movie hurt as much as being rammed in the butt!

  • May 22, 2008 moviegoer1234
    Report This User

    This is 2 hours and 40 minutes of my life that I will never get back! -There were a total of three of us in the theater. Thank goodness I didn't go to concession or I would be angry about the money I spent there, too. This was, hands down, the worst movie I've seen since "Showgirls." I'd rather sit through a "Razzies" marathon than watch this JESSE JAMES movie again! Yes, some of the scenes were beautiful. But, if I wanted three hours of beauty? I would have gone hiking. The relief to me was that with the amount of voiceover? It limited the amount of wretched marbles in the mouth speaking that Affleck did. I want BOTH my time and my money back. That's the first time in a movie that I seriously considered walking out. Now? I wish I had. The most talented actors were the horses.

  • May 22, 2008 snoopykul123
    Report This User

    Please do not waste your money on this film. It is too long and extremely dull. 310 to Yuma is a much better western all around.

  • May 22, 2008 cucalow
    Report This User

    I really like this movie.

  • May 22, 2008 Jeanne
    Report This User

    One of the funniest, best movies I've seen this year. Adam Goldberg had lines that had me laughing in the aisle. Julie Delphy is a very talented writer, actress, etc. It was WONDERFUL!!! I'd see it again.

similar movies

  • 3:10 to Yuma (2007)

  • The Proposition (2005)

  • Ned Kelly (2003)

  • Appaloosa (2008)

  • Django Unchained (2012)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X