Skip to main content

reviews

23
Based on 24 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 13 )
  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The Condemned isn't post-modern junk, smirky junk, faux junk or clever junk. It's pure junk, with a certain integrity to it. show more

  • 25
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    This is the worst kind of movie, one that insults its audience by purporting to condemn violence while simultaneously reveling in it. show more

  • 25
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    The wrestler carries himself with decency and without self-seriousness, the qualities that made Arnold Schwarzenegger a star. Austin deserves better material than this. So do we. show more

  • 12
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The film is smugly hypocritical at every turn, loudly preaching the evils of sick voyeurism while encouraging its audience to cheer every gruesome death. It's not only morally bankrupt but, between the ludicrous script and Z-level acting, scrapes the bottom of the entertainment barrel, too. show more

  • 20
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    D-grade "Running Man" ripoff. show more

  • 38
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    Steve Austin is conspicuously inarticulate and uncharismatic. Former soccer lout Vinnie Jones, whom no one will ever mistake for Laurence Olivier, acts rings around him. show more

  • 38
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    There are stretches when it becomes tedious and insufferably self important. There's even a late scene in which the movie turns preachy. show more

  • 25
    Michael Wilmington Chicago Tribune

    A real stinker. It doesn't have the courage of its own bad taste, or that of its villain. show more

  • 25
    Stephen Cole The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    It is hard to say what is more despicable about The Condemned: the overtly racist portrayal of Brekel-Goldman as Jewish-media bloodsuckers, or the film's sleazeball attempt to pass off lovingly attentive sequences of ritual torture - often scenes of incredible hulks bashing cowering women - as a critique of media violence. show more

  • 12
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Just watch Austin on "WrestleMania" instead, avoiding the shower this movie leaves you wanting. show more

  • May 22, 2008 eagles23mld
    Report This User

    These songs r OK but "Hi" Brittany!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 barbourgretna
    Report This User

    ok look i loved this movie and i know as soon as this review hits the web about100,000 fans of Battle Royal are gonna get ticked and rant about how much this movie rips off its story and they are right but look maybe the story isn't original but its got tons of action and guess what genre this movie is ACTION and no real action movie fan can't say that its not action packed as for the critics i will bet you every cent i have none of these critics like violence or any vulgarity bottom line good *action* movie if you want a soap opera watch lifetime movie network five stars watch it.

  • May 22, 2008 fedorthekiller
    Report This User

    what a rip off. if you're going to make a movie about people being put on an island to kill each other so the sole survivor can go free why not just remake the japanese movie battle royale. they did it with the grudge and ring movies. even pulse was a japanese original. they should've just went in true hollywood fashion and ripped battle royale off too. while we are on the subject they should do an american version of ichi the killer, probably the greatest movie nobody's ever seen! and if it takes "big hollywood picture" to get it exposure...then so be it.

  • May 22, 2008 fragilediamond
    Report This User

    Alright. I don't even have to watch the movie to know that it's the worst movie made. Most movies that rip off perfect Asian movies are always horrible. When I heard the Condemned was coming out it made me angry as hell because: Battle Royale is the best, don't replace that movie with a bunch of wrestlers. Battle Royale had a real meaning to it, The Condemned did not. Let's just face it. American directors cannot make a better version of Blockbuster Asian movies! They just come out like crap.And if they try to remake Old Boy, I will definately hurt someone.

  • May 22, 2008 paintballajensen
    Report This User

    Robdeezal316 obviously you are a great cridict (by the way its critic you moron) you must be quite the scholar hoping that if you write in caps lock then no one will notice your wonderful grammar and typing skills. Maybe just maybe you should be going to school more than watching overgrown men on steroids man handling each-other in one gay pseudo dance in underwear! apparently you havent heard the truth about your precious WWE... its fake! dont go crying though! By the way this movie looks awesome! robdeezal316 as for you get a life...and a job.... hopefully not a WWE star or a teacher...and definetly not a critic!

  • May 22, 2008 royce0869
    Report This User

    I love this film. I thought that the film maker could held the camera a bit more steady during a few of the fight scenes, other than that, awesome plot and non-stop action. Was I had more than two thumbs so that I may turn them all up.

  • May 22, 2008 metsman173d
    Report This User

    Listen here all you pro writers out there i saw the condemded and it was amazing alright, steve willams was amazing

  • May 22, 2008 drus636275
    Report This User

    This movie was silly with really bad acting. Stone Cold Steve Austin can't act.Anyone over 10 years old who still watches wrestling and went to this movie to see Steve Austin should get their head examined and grow up.

  • May 22, 2008 robdeezal316
    Report This User

    I TELL U WHAT FOR ALL THOSE WHO THINK THAT THE CONDEMED IS A BAD MOVIE YOUR DUMM THIS MOVIE BY FAR IS MY SECOND BEST ACTION MOVIE I EVER SAW AND THE ONLY REASON WHY ITS MY SECOND IS BECAUSE ITS NOT BETTER THAN BAD BOYS 2 OTHER THAN THAT STONE COLD SUPRIZED ME WITH HIS ACTING I GIVE THIS MOVIE A 10 I GIVE STONE COLD A 10 WWE FILMS NEEDS TO NO THAT THIS MOVIE IS GOING TO BE HARD TO BEAT CAUSE TO ME AND MY FAMILY ALTHOW IM THE ONLY WRESTLING FAN WE THINK THAT NO A FINCE TO JHON CENA AND KANE BUT HANDS DOWN STONE COLDS GOT U BEAT AND AS FOR THE ROCK GOES HE WILL BE UP THERE WITH U REAL SOON NOW I WOULD ADMITT I DIDNT THINK THE MOVIE WOULD HAVE BEEN GOOD BUT IT SHOCKED THE HELL OUT OF ME ONE THING THAT I DIDNT LIKE WAS HOW FAST STONE COLD BEAT UP ON NATHAN JONES I WAS HOPEN TO SEE A LONGER MORE CLEARER FIGHT SCENE BUT HE MADE UP FOR THAT THIS MOVIE SHOWED ME THE TYPE OF ACTION I HAVNT SEEN SINCE BAD BOYS 2 SO I LOOK FORWORD TO STONE COLDS NEXT MOVIE I WILL MOST DEFINITLY SAPORT WWE FILMS WITH THERE NEXT FILMS THAT COME OUT THEY ALL WILL BE IN MY DVD COLLECTION AND IF WWE FILMS WERE SMART THEY WOULD COME FIND AN UP AND COMMING ACTOR LIKE ME TO STAR IN A COUPLE OF THOSE MOVIES HELL ILL EVEN WRITE SOME I HAVE SOME BRIGHT IDEAS BUT TAKE THIS AS AN EDVICE DONT KEEP USING THE WRESLERS FOR EVERY MOVIE NOT ALL OF THEM CAN ACT IM A BIG WRESLING FAN NOT ALL OF THEM ARE MOVIE STARS LIKE STEVE AUSTIN AND HHH AND THE ROCK USE REAL ACTORS BECAUSE THERES ALOT OF PEOPLE NOT SEEING THE MOVIES BECAUSE THEY THINK O ITS JUST A NOTHER WRESTLING MOVIE TRUST ME IM THE BEST MOVIE CRIDICT I RATE EVERY MOVIE I SEE I ALSO RATE EVERY WRESLING MATCH I WATCH THEY CALL ME THE CRIDICT MAN IF I TOLD SOME BODY THAT THE CONDEMED WAS DUMM NO ONE WOULD HAVE SEEN IT EVERY BODY TRUSTS ME NOW IM A TELL U WHAT LEVEL THE CONDEMED IS ON EVERY BODY NOS THAT THERE IS A HIS

  • May 22, 2008 tfogel8406
    Report This User

    DUH! CRITICS STUPID. DUH! ME LIKE MOVIE. DUH!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X