Skip to main content

reviews

78
Based on 45 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 134 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The sheer scope of Nolan's vision – with emotion and spectacle thundering across the screen – is staggering. The Dark Knight Rises is the King Daddy of summer movie epics. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Moments are stretched. Every recollection must be illustrated by a flashback. Character motivations shift on a dime, and if you understand even half of what's going on - not generally, but specifically - you'll be doing better than most. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    While it's the most ambitious of the three films, it's not as mesmerizing as 2008's "The Dark Knight." The plot is occasionally murky, its archvillain lacks charismatic menace, and the last hour is belabored. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    It's spectacular, to be sure, but also remarkable for its all-encompassing gloom. No movie has ever administered more punishment, to its hero or its audience, in the name of mainstream entertainment. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    If you just give yourself over to Nolan's sweeping, symphonic Cowled Crusader saga, The Dark Knight Rises is, well, a blast. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    While director Christopher Nolan and star Christian Bale's epic of criminality and all-consuming conviction ultimately falls a bit short - missing, for instance, a villainous face a la Heath Ledger's Joker - their Batman trilogy ends with a suitably thrilling mix of guts and glory. show more

  • 100
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    Makes everything in the rival Marvel universe look thoroughly silly and childish. Entirely enveloping and at times unnerving in a relevant way one would never have imagined, as a cohesive whole this ranks as the best of Nolan's trio, even if it lacks -- how could it not? -- an element as unique as Heath Ledger's immortal turn in The Dark Knight. It's a blockbuster by any standard. show more

  • 75
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    The Dark Knight aspires to the epic and reaches it on a number of impressive and less impressive levels. That it is a frequently, unnervingly glorious triumph of brawn over brains is not despite but in spite of Nolan's admirably stubborn - if persistently, risibly serious - insistence that the modern superhero can have it all. show more

  • 85
    Bob Mondello NPR

    As you might expect from the creator of "Inception" and "Memento," there are surprises both in the story and in the storytelling. But the biggest surprise may just be how satisfying Nolan has made his farewell to a Dark Knight trilogy that many fans will wish he'd extend to a 10-part series, at least. show more

  • 100
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    This is not the sort of movie you can just leave behind in the theater. And like any true finale to a trilogy, the picture doesn't work nearly as well if you haven't seen the previous two installments: It's not designed to stand alone, and it pays off all that has come before with an exuberant, thrilling high. show more

  • January 14, 2013 hv00000000134916
    Report This User

    Worst movie I have se in a long while, There is onl2 parts to this fim that were worth watchin andother thn that this movie takes forever to build up in which during this you lose track on what it was building up to. I prefr the other 2 ovie previous and this is no worth the rent or buy.

  • January 04, 2013 sm00000000134753
    Report This User

    If you haven\'t seen this your missing out on another awesome batman movie. Worth a watch and a buy.

  • December 28, 2012 jimijean79
    Report This User

    As Most movies there s plenty of Action. But as an Artist, the movie was not accurate. Bane had way more of a part way to involved for this Movie. As an Colector of Comics a well for nealy 30 years I know the Actual History of Bane and Batman. The Movie had some good points but more bad than good.SORRY but the Movie ended badly.Simply because Selena Kyle is a Great Thief. The Chase would have been better with CATWoman and Riddler this way the Riddler could have Cleared up Batmans Name the movie would have been better instead of a FairyTail Ending. Bale was tired of doing the Caped Part THIS is why there is no Robin so now the Kids of Today have no real Information on How the Bane Story Really is ! Bane was a great Story but really long . Look it up at a Comic book Store OR Somewhere Batman had a Sort of Stand in for Months, They Did a Great JOB in the Books. The Director should have insisted on Better Story. I Blame Hollywood and Lets Throw this out there they will swalow it and they did. They even Tried to Smooth it over with the young Offcer at the ending. An Actor as good as bale shouldn\'t have taken the part if the fans were not First. Well whats done is done. People buy into way too much. No demand for accurate accounts is just about everywhere . Maybe someday someone will get it Right. As far as my opinion it is just another Quick ending at the end of a Series. Not to Take away from the Kids but A Great Story can go so much farther Books/ Toy SALES included when done with as much detail as possible. We as a public need to be Demanding Better.

  • December 23, 2012 bigbobsh2o
    Report This User

    I think this was better than the Avengers and Spiderman. I would say this was the best super hero movie of 2012.

  • December 07, 2012 jacob10299
    Report This User

    Christopher Nolan\'s Best batman Movie ever ! A well-written magnificent crafted movie with a surprise twist at the end!

  • October 29, 2012 ee00000000131234
    Report This User

    Best movie that I have seen in a long time

  • October 07, 2012 bennygarbacz
    Report This User

    Very very good. But the Dark Knight was much much better.

  • September 23, 2012 mv00000000129837
    Report This User

    Epic!!!

  • September 14, 2012 ng00000000125422
    Report This User

    To call this movie breathtaking would be an insult, as this movie is so much more. This is the stuff William Lincoln was dreaming of back in 1867 when he watched moving drawings rush by through a simple slit cut into a spinning wheel. This film is the trophy of the American film industry\'s undisputed triumph in the art. From some reason I saw the main engineering of this film as a parallel with the human need to invent a god and live and die by its terms. Desynthesizing our responsibilities by use of a third party. Everyone is always looking for a leader to give them a tune to march to. Good or bad. So long as there is a tune, there are always willing participants. Batman must make a come back, not just to answer to himself, and tie-in the plot of the previous film, but most importantly because people are at a loss after knowing of his existence. Which begs me to wonder: We are all assuming there is a guy sitting comfortably upstairs pulling cords, but what if we really truly knew? As with Batman, we\'d be demanding this guy get back to business and do it as we demand him to. After all, his decisions are our lives. But let\'s look at it from another point of view. The bad guy, Bane, also has followers. Hordes of maniacs looking for blind faith to provide them juice out of their vacant existence. Reminding me a bit of a lot of terrorist ideologies. The propagation of a bad idea is often better than having no ideas at all. Check with our past historical dictators to confirm my suspicions. \"You must do it without a rope.\" No one could forget those lines. The true motivator of human evolution. Because when it comes down to it, there is no large human accomplishment that has ever been performed with a safety net. Leaps must be made with blind faith. Something takes place in the universe when there is full commitment in place... Notice that I did use \'blind faith\' here as well as I used it in the previous paragraph about evil. Because faith works both ways. The flip side of a coin by the name of \'hope.\' The true lesson Batman delivers here after reconquering his own faith is that humanity must learn to ********* own battles with individually instilled hope and determination. Allow me to explain... This one book you might have heard of, the Bible, has a somewhat similar story. It\'s about an unassuming guy that shows up to perform acts no other man could ever fathom. And when he gets everyone\'s attention, he tells them that they too can do the same if they only believed. Of course, they think he is nuts. Everyone always misses the moral of the story. The reason why Batman has to go away, as did the guy in the Bible... Witnessing greatness is clear proof that we are all part of ********* already within each one of us. And it\'s ok to move forward alone. We all find the way. So long as we have faith.

  • September 12, 2012 Richard
    Report This User

    Great profound story and action. Batman leaves the normal life and becomes legend.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X