Skip to main content

reviews

Based on Reviews
fan reviews ( 9 )
  • March 03, 2012 Sallyjosto
    Report This User

    Our daughter had us watch this tonight...I loved it! The story was a little crazy, but fun, once we figured out what was going on. Catinca Untaru is adorable! I highly recommend this movie!

  • December 20, 2010 mavolf
    Report This User

    This little girl was GREAT in this film. My wife & I almost put this film away. Due to her mannersims, she caught my heart. The film itself was mediocre and quite slow in many parts. I hope she has a lot of success. I have not heard of her in anything else.

  • June 17, 2008 Suslik
    Report This User

    The trailer is off the charts... the two main characters are superb...the visuals are unmatched and highly artistic... color is used with the skill of a master...the storytelling is fun and interesting... and yes, I wish the "promise" of a gut-wrenching emotional happening hinted at in the trailer were actually in the movie... IF the movie's overall plot were better, this would be a best picture winner. I highly recommend it to lovers of art, color, beauty and to anyone who appreciates great moviemaking.

  • June 13, 2008 chernabog91
    Report This User

    It is off the beaten path of all summer movies. It captivates you with many sights rarely seen in a movie. The dialogue between Catinca Untaru and Lee Pace is hilarious. I would definitely recommend this film to you if you enjoyed "The Princess Bride" and/or "Pan's Labyrinth". Go see this movie!

  • June 09, 2008 casablanca247
    Report This User

    This movie is definately different than most summer movies, it kept me interested intellectually and stayed with me for a while after leaving the theater when you get a chance to digest the movie and see what it was trying to tell you. The little girl was wonderful and so natural in this role, I would like to see her again. The connection between the girl and Lee Pace (Pushing Daisies) was touching although it did get a little heavy emotionally towards the end.

  • June 07, 2008 thenursisin
    Report This User

    whoops, that's worth 5 stars!

  • June 02, 2008 d0rk3h
    Report This User

    It's a shame this is running limited showings, because it's the kind of movie someone waltzing into a theatre and looking for a good movie for the sake of a good movie will want to see. Without the star power of some of the television-to-movie spin-offs of the summer, this gem of a film will most likely be overlooked. The only chance to recoup what must have been amazingly high production costs (it looks it, every second. Flawlessly sewn together, flawlessly shot, with colors that stun and shots that awe. And those sets!) will be word of mouth.Hence: GO SEE IT. It's well worth the time and money. It's an honestly enjoyable film, the first I've seen in a while. If nothing else, the spectacle of it will draw you in. Many shots may seem absurd (out of place, outlandish, etc) to a viewer, but I would suggest 1) enjoy the sheer sight of it, before you judge, then 2) go ahead and try to meditate on meanings of imagery, but 3) be aware this film has a double unreliable narrator... or rather, an unreliable narrator and an unreliable listener. The man is making up a story as he goes, and the child is interpreting it as a five year old might. The acting is very good, with a lot of intriguing secondary faces and some very strong leads. I usually can't stand movies with child actors, but this one forced me to bite back all those opinions. In all, a full-scale film that probably won't get the full-scale audience it deserves.

  • June 02, 2008 steven92672
    Report This User

    I see probably 90% of the releases. I thought it was fantastic. This is one of those movies where you have to let yourself completely "go with it". If you liked Pan's Labyrinth or The Devil's Backbone, you will love this one. Definitely a limited audience appeal movie as it is too sophisticated for children and will lose rigid adults in the first reel. Film students will savor each bite of this banquet. The editing alone is worth the price of admission as it goes seamlessly between time periods, fantasy and reality, old footage and lab effects. Shot all over the world in fantastic places you have never been before. The little girl, Catinca, unaffected and cast perfectly as the magic carpet for us to ride thru this masterpiece of abstract art...

  • June 02, 2008 Rip10199
    Report This User

    this movie looks fantastic I haven't seen anything about it anywhere but here. the reviews are a to z some like it some don't. I am personally tired of movie reviews. the last one I read and listened to gave the movie bewitched 5 stars. I went to that movie and wanted to commit suicide half way through the movie it was that bad. so S@

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X