Skip to main content

reviews

57
Based on 27 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 35 )
  • 50
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Feels a bit too much like six hours of movie packed into 113 minutes - imagine if New Line had made Peter Jackson cram the entirety of "Lord of the Rings" into one film. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    The special effects are effective, though not terribly special. While director Minkoff pays homage to past masters of the genre, the past masters were better at this game than he. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The wisecracking Chan and the stoic Li play off their on-screen images with good humor, and if they don't have the agility they once did, it's still a joy to watch them make the most of Yuen Woo-ping's impressive choreography. show more

  • 50
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Will please its core audience but won't enthrall anyone over the age of 16. (Even that might be stretching the point.) show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    The Forbidden Kingdom may be nothing but disposable fun, but it is a great, heaping, overflowing helping of fun. If you're 10, it may also seem like "Citizen Kane." show more

  • 75
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    To see the two of them on screen together, even past their primes, is a delight. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    For martial arts action fans, The Forbidden Kingdom may be the best fantasy story since the genre was opened to a wider audience by "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon." show more

  • 63
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    It's good-natured myth-making cut into kid-size pieces. show more

  • 63
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Unashamed about giving its audience a good time, and the high spirits go a long way toward counterbalancing the cliches. show more

  • 63
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Although veteran choreographer Yuen Woo-Ping ( Kill Bill, The Matrix) handles the wire action, the camera work is merely okay and the sequences are on the familiar side. Still, it's fun to see Chan resurrect his loopy, staggering "drunken master" fighting style. show more

  • February 25, 2010 Curlyspykid
    Report This User

    this was the best movie i ever saw i the world it like my secound my frist is avater i have dreams about this movie it veryy good i what to see it agean

  • May 22, 2008 boed4
    Report This User

    If you want to be entertained, go see this movie. Don't go into this movie judging it for what it wasn't intended to be, but rather for what it is, entertainment. Lots of action, comedy, great special effect moments, and finally a movie without cursing. Take the kids, grandparents, or a good friend. Enjoy!

  • May 22, 2008 xxlolax9
    Report This User

    i had a nice time..a little bit of karate kid but ok i guess

  • May 22, 2008 Janice
    Report This User

    I loved the Forbidden Kingdom. It was a well-crafted blend of a modern setting with an ancient tale. Jackie Chan and Jet Li were masterful in their fight scenes. The scenery and cinematography were breath taking. All of the elements blended together beautifully to make a compelling story, exciting fight scenes and an ancient tale brought to life and completion in our era. Thank you for making this film!

  • May 22, 2008 Shannon
    Report This User

    I thought this was a WONERFUL film! I enjoyed the story, the action and the scenery. The action shots are great Jackie Chan sequences and Jet Li was wonderful as the Monkey King. I thought the lead boy did a great job too. Great twist at the end. There are some Super Funny parts too! Go see it and be entertained.

  • May 22, 2008 okihiro782
    Report This User

    You got to see this movies. We enjoy it from the start to the finish, a family moves for everyone.

  • May 22, 2008 missmarisa95
    Report This User

    This is probably the worst movie I've seen in a long time. I went with a bunch of my friends, and almost fell asleep in the first 5 minutes. Would only appeal to twerpy 13 year old boys who like anime and action. DON'T see it!!

  • May 22, 2008 Stephen
    Report This User

    This movie suprised me. The action is good. The visual images are spectacular. The even has a plot. Based on Chinese mythology with the use of the Monkey King, Jade Emperor and Jade Warlord. The movie may be past some who do not understand the mythology behind it but it is very good. If you are a thinking person read up on Chinese Mythology and then go see it you will really enjoy it. If you are a martial arts movie fan Jet Li and Jackie Chan together on film what more can I say.It is ONE OF MY MUST SEE MOVIES of this year.

  • May 22, 2008 darmonaro
    Report This User

    Kinda gave me the FF feel while playing..err.. watching it. If you have played a Final Fantasy game, it is pretty much the same plot stillI found it very entertaining. I'm actually thinking of watching it again.

  • May 22, 2008 per929
    Report This User

    Who cast this movie? Kill them! Jet Li and JC were fine, albeit with very little chemistry to speak of. But holy moly was the lead kid bad! Did he win a school contest to be in this film? He reminded me of a dweeb at a Bar Mitzvah who goes around telling bad jokes and ending each one with a big smile by asking, huh? Huh? He was laughably horrific. And the Boston bullies were equally terrible. But at least we've seen that type of inexplicably angry gang in 588838383 movies before. Also - who wrote this movie? Kill them! It was the cure for insomnia. BORED OF THE RINGS!

`

similar movies

  • Big Trouble in Little China (1986)

  • The White Dragon (2004)

  • Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time (2010)

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X