Skip to main content

reviews

39
Based on 23 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 26 )
  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Feels forgettable, even though, in the moment, it's often very funny. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Although Will Ferrell materializes for a goofball cameo, The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard lacks a key element that his "Talladega Nights" and "Anchor Man" both had - that is, somebody to like. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    The oh-so-out-there mentality earns some chuckles, but that, along with Piven's preening, gets very trying. A hard sell is still a hard sell. show more

  • 20
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Tediously one-note comedy. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    A cheerfully energetically and very vulgar comedy. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Sloppy, grimy but quick on its feet, which puts it ahead of certain other (“The Hangover”) R-rated comedies (“The Hangover”) we’ve seen this summer (“The Hangover”). show more

  • 50
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    You put up the cash, the movie clunks. show more

  • 38
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Jeremy Piven's infamous "sushi defense" for skipping out on a Broadway role is easier to swallow than his performance as a scuzzy auto liquidator who sees the light in The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard. show more

  • 25
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    How can a movie as overstuffed with funny people as The Goods: Live Hard, Sell Hard be so listless and leaden? show more

  • 25
    Premiere

    If you are a fan of brainless comedy that willed with bits that seque magically into some semblance of a plot…then The Goods is for you. show more

  • May 08, 2012 craigpd2
    Report This User

    Overall a fairly funny movie, but is very strong with many laugh out loud moments. It\'s worth watching and I\'ll probably watch it again.

  • September 05, 2009 JDam123044
    Report This User

    Come on, it wasn't that bad! You have to be in or have been in the car business to really appreciate the movie. Brings back fond memories of my tent sale days! If your not a car person you won't see the humor in it.

  • August 30, 2009 jglazzz
    Report This User

    Another thoughtless boner comedy that needs to include ****** to induce laughter. Go see District 9 if you seek thorough entertainment. Best film since (whatever sci-fi film you last saw and loved).

  • August 28, 2009 bhuezo
    Report This User

    Ari Gold would not approve of this movie.

  • August 28, 2009 luvdior
    Report This User

    Oy, I would have seen this movie-but, I got food poisoning from a bad dish of shell fish and had to drop out of my role as a movie goer.

  • August 26, 2009 dlpfrench
    Report This User

    Jerrry Piven is not and never has been funny...well except in Old School where Kilby's Porsche landed on his head and exploded.

  • August 25, 2009 Ast0riasFinEsT15
    Report This User

    what the hell people you obviously have no taste in humor. This movie was so funny, like what the **** how could anybody complain about it. You should all be put down and sent to a home for not saying this movie was really bad. You know what movie was really bad, TROPIC THUNDER. that movie ***********, yet people actually went online and wrote reviews saying it was funny. yeah, this movie had some non funny parts, but not every movie can be as funny as like the hangover, or step brothers. you people need to get a life, i almost didnt see this movie because you ******** said it was dumb.

  • August 24, 2009 asarnel
    Report This User

    THANKS EVERYBODY i WON'T GO SEE IT:)

  • August 23, 2009 PANG3000
    Report This User

    This is the worst comedy I have EVER seen in my life! Seriously, the worst. I was a big fan of Pivens, but not anymore. This is just low rate, desperate for laughs, pathetic film. I sat there wondering if I (or anyone else in the theater) would laugh at anything. One laugh only. I see a lot of films, have directed a lot of MTV videos and can honestly say that this film is a complete waste of time and money.

  • August 23, 2009 Cali Dude
    Report This User

    Sorry to say, it was not just bad, but really bad. I didn't laugh once during the whole movie. Several people got up and left, I should have joined them.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X