Skip to main content

reviews

65
Based on 32 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 56 )
  • 75
    Walter Addiego San Francisco Chronicle

    An edifying and forthright drama that aims to create a lump in the throat, and succeeds. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    An enjoyable, rousing film, despite its formulaic quality. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Mr. Washington is splendid, as always. So is Forest Whitaker as James Farmer, Sr. show more

  • 88
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    A triumph. Unapologetically old-school, in both the literal and metaphorical meanings of the term, Debaters overlays the story of social underdogs onto the familiar template of the stand-and-deliver saga, the staple of sports inspirationals like "Rocky," "Invincible" and "The Karate Kid." show more

  • 75
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    The three young actors are good, but the movie is held together from beginning to end by another riveting performance from Washington. Few actors can dominate a film with their diction as well as Washington, and the role of the erudite, passionate Mel Tolson gives him plenty of opportunity. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    An earnest drama about the search for self-esteem and sense of responsibility among young black people that successfully relies on its fine actors. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    This is a film that is affirming and inspiring and re-creates the stories of a remarkable team and its coach. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Ultimately an uplifting movie because it is about triumph. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Good story, well told. Interesting concept. I wonder if people will go for it. show more

  • 75
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    For a film about the power of speech, it's the quiet moments of rapture that say everything. show more

  • April 19, 2010 dguefen
    Report This User

    I found this today and watched it on TV. Thank God, and the many, that the time has come, that such an appealing, sensitive, moving and realistic piece of art has been produced and released. See it. You won't regret it. Dana Guefen

  • May 22, 2008 Axekick
    Report This User

    i THOROUGHLY ENJOYED THE MOVIE, "THE REAT DEBATORS' IN MAY OF THIS YEAR, I WILL WILL BE CELEBRATING MY GOLDEN ANNIVERSARY FROM BENNETT COLLEGE FOR WOMEN, LOCATED IN GREENBORO, NORTH CAROLINA.MY ENGLISH PROFESSOR, DR. HOBART JARRETT, WAS A GRADUATE OF WILEY COLLEGE AND TAUGHT ENGLISH DURING MY YEARS AT BENNETT (1954-58). I AM TOLD THAT HE WAS A MEMBER OF THE DEBATE TEAM AT WILEY COLLEGE. I PLAN TO DO SOME FURTHER RESEARCH ON THIS BUT IF YOU CAN CONFIRM/DENY THIS, I WOULD BE FOREVER GRATEFUL. THIS WILL ALSO ENABLE BE TO WRITE A FANTASTIC REVIEW. THE MOVIE WAS SIMPLY FANTASTIC.I ALSO DABBLED IN THE ARTS WHILE AT BENNETT AND WAS A PRETTY GOOD ACTOR -- AT 72 YEARS OLD, I THINK I STILL AM!

  • May 22, 2008 Thewig
    Report This User

    "The Power of Spoken Words" Excellent movie! Denzel and Forest Whitaker were superb.This film also gets five stars. As an NYS Title One Reading educator the power of education and word came to life a brillant story.Wow! extremely well done depiction of a very hateful period of segregation and total racism in our country.A great movie to show in school for black history week in February . Surely The Academy has forgotten how to choose exceptionally good pictures anymore.Yes, the file is ultimately an uplifting movie because it is about triumph.

  • May 22, 2008 amhicks
    Report This User

    Wish that the critics had not given this very inspiring film such mediocre ratings...more people need to see this movie...extremely well done depiction of a very shameful peiod of segregation and total racism in our country.It has my vote for BEST film of the year, especially over most of what has been nominated for an oscar.amh

  • May 22, 2008 ccfit1
    Report This User

    So glad I saw this movie. It was terrific in every way.

  • May 22, 2008 boazandme1
    Report This User

    A movie is well worth seeing. It's still in theatres. I saw it yesterday. I recommend everyone to go and see it. Great acting, very informative, intimately soul touching, memorable, and a classic you'll want to add to your collection later. But go see it today. It's worthy of you support. God Bless.. It's excellent.

  • May 22, 2008 ajbnj33
    Report This User

    What an inspirational story! You should bring the whole family. A truly well done story with a backdrop of true American history, but more importantly the tale of the power of education and word. At moments, the whole theater laugh and at others cried in joy.Don't miss it!

  • May 22, 2008 brownlustre65
    Report This User

    Superb, movie filled with a lot of insight to the past and future. My grandsons and I watched the movie it held their attention. Later, I gave them a session of Q

  • May 22, 2008 pj323jp
    Report This User

    Although this movie tells an important story in African-American history, it's greater message is that each of us has the right and the duty to speak out against oppression. It clearly makes the point that our Constitution is about individual rights and responsibilities. If we don't know our rights and speak up for them when it's time to do so, we may lose them, no matter which group we're part of.

  • May 22, 2008 PATTY
    Report This User

    The movie was not a good as I had hoped. Densel, of course, was good and the story line was good but the movie just didn't get there. Would have been good for a DVD. I have seen Densel in better roles. Great insite to that period of time and that was truly believeable. But the movie just didn't get there for me.

`

similar movies

  • Freedom Writers (2007)

  • Lean on Me (1989)

  • 42 (2013)

  • Stand and Deliver (1988)

  • Lee Daniels' The Butler (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X