Skip to main content

reviews

61
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 25 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Both boys give such heart-rending performances that fear of reprisals for participating in the scene persuaded the studio to postpone the film's release to give them time to leave Kabul. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The terseness of Hosseini's prose has been replaced by the sentimentality of the director's approach. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A compelling and uplifting tale that exposes the viewer to an unfamiliar, fascinating culture and a family dynamic that is recognizable and nuanced. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The only reliable source of energy is Homayoun Ershadi, a powerful actor who plays Baba, Amir's Westernized father. show more

  • 88
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Whatever our misfortune, The Kite Runner says, sometimes we are fortunate enough to get a second chance to make amends for a first mistake. show more

  • 63
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    This is an eye-opening story that doesn't quite hold together as a movie, but it deals with honor in men's lives in ways rare to mainstream film. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Like "House of Sand and Fog" and "Man Push Cart," it helps us to understand that the newcomers among us come from somewhere and are somebody. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    At times brutal, at times touching, the movie stands out as one of the better "prestige" productions offered for cinematic consumption during the waning weeks of 2007. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    It's what Hollywood calls a 'tweener - not quite edgy or artistic enough to satisfy the art-house crowd, but a tough sell for family audiences because of its extensive subtitles, two-hour-plus running time, and a (tastefully rendered) male rape scene. show more

  • 75
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    The movie doesn't have the heart of the book, but it does have a solid mechanical pump, strong enough at least to keep a robust story on two-hour life support. show more

  • May 22, 2008 rinconmd
    Report This User

    It is hard to watch a movie that is mostly sub-titled, you have to really keep up, or you will miss alot. The sentences go by too fast sometimes. Luckily I saw it at home and could rewind. After watching it and understanding it, as it was a little confusing, I really liked it. It was very sad and I cried at the end, probably cause I was happy that things worked out the way they did at the end, but all in all it was good. I hope the young boys are doing ok who played in this film.

  • May 22, 2008 smjmc
    Report This User

    Simply excellent...a must see.

  • May 22, 2008 mlrelle
    Report This User

    Excellent film! I read the novel, my husband didn't but he said he thoroughly enjoyed the film as well. Gives genuine insight into the basic lives of the Afganistan people, also explains how the Taliban was born. I loved the imagery of the kite weaving thru the story -- taking the innocence of children into the flight of politics and terrorism. Outstanding in everyway!!!

  • May 22, 2008 queenybea
    Report This User

    This movie was awesome. Despite subtitles and an old theatre that you had a hard time seeing over heads the movie was true to the novel and beautifully done. Excellent cast. A very moving movie that tugged at your heart on many levels. Triumphant conclusion, the story came full circle with "for you a thousand times!" Loved it.

  • May 22, 2008 altpsych
    Report This User

    Having not read this acclaimed novel, I had no strong draw to seeing the film until a close friend encouraged me to join her. Though she was only half way through the book, she didn't want to miss the oppoturnity to see how it translated onto the screen. This is one of the best written films I have ever seen. Seamless. Flawless. The gut wretching struggle between cowardess and courage, the inhumanities that are brought to bear when cruelty is paired with power and dominates a world gone mad. Anyone who has ever taken freedom for granted or not given it the due and respect that many have died to ensure, needs to see this to be reminded that disgrace is not in the falling, but the failure to rise. And the courage of redemption is the strength that binds us all. Courage speaks no language greater than the bonds of friendship tested.This movie speaks to everyone, anyone, anywhere.See it.

  • May 22, 2008 Stacie
    Report This User

    I thought they did an excellent job with this move however the book was very detailed the tragedy was much much more. Like the seen in the oil truck in the book somene died in that oil truck and they left out the fact that they had to sit for days in feces and urine.They left out that when the man came with the boy back to Pakistan he had to be put in the hospital his chin was broken etc and that it took alot to get the boy out of Pakistan they left out the truth about adoption that is is near impossible to adopt a boy from a war torn country.The details would of left this movie as a contender from the Oscar it made me think they were in a hurrt to make the move and make some money. The details would of mean Oscar Worthy.

  • May 22, 2008 anneluvabull
    Report This User

    This film was one of the best I've seen. It's a beautiful story of friendship. It has some of the best acting I've seen. The actor playing the lead role of "Baba" was discovered one day by a filmmaker when he was in his car stopped at a stoplight, and he was probably the strongest actor in the film. Go see this film!!!

  • May 22, 2008 LeslieAB1
    Report This User

    This was a very powerful and moving film - beautifully protrayed by fine acting, directing, and cinematography. Despite its sadness, the end portrays hope for a better day and a better world. The fact that the language is in Farsi, it in no way hindered the movie. A must see for movie buffs.

  • May 22, 2008 caroline1600
    Report This User

    I'm really surprised by some of the comments about this movie by "professional" critics and reviewers. I usually never pay attention to them. But I don't know what they were seeing because I thought this movie was amazing and was glad that it did the book justice. The book was one of the best books I've ever read and this movie was a terrific adaptation. Sure, it's not cinemagraphically beautiful, but that war-torned area is not exactly plush and green. (Yes, I realize it was filmed mostly in China, but I think they did a good job depicting what Afghansitan probably looks like now.) To everyone who is thinking about seeing this movie....you should! You will enjoy it, esp. if you enjoyed the book!

  • May 22, 2008 pj323jp
    Report This User

    First, the dialog is about 1/3 English, the rest subtitles. The two boys are very engaging for the first thirty minutes, then everything gets sad and slow to develop. I left after an hour and a quarter due to the unending depression. This story should have followed both boys and their fathers into the future, not just the weaker one.

`

similar movies

  • The Boy in the Striped Pajamas (2008)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

  • The Hunger Games: Catching Fire (2013)

  • Life of Pi (2012)

  • Philomena (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X