Skip to main content

reviews

52
Based on 19 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 50
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    Leaves you feeling buoyed, but you must endure a level of overacting more suitable for the soaps. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The saga is an undeniably heartwarming one about perseverance, hard work, and pride in community. And who could criticize that? show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    It also has another watchable turn from Ice Cube, and, as with his previous films, the rap artist-actor leads by example. show more

  • 40
    Sheri Linden The Hollywood Reporter

    Every triumph registers low on the emotion meter, and most of the supporting characters are two-dimensional at best. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The more it builds, the more it grows on you. show more

  • 75
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    An unforced, sweet-natured story about people who find small ways to touch others and rediscover the good in themselves. show more

  • 63
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Its characters are likable enough to settle in with for a pleasant hour and a half. show more

  • 63
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    It's all terribly trite, but Durst does make an effort to keep his film grounded in the reality of a lot of once thriving towns like the fictional Minden. show more

  • 50
    Jennie Punter The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    A pleasant flick, more suitable for families than football fans. show more

  • 38
    Chicago Tribune

    It's almost always rewarding to watch an underdog triumph--what else could explain why movies exactly like this keep being made?--but Longshots is one underdog that's hard to love and harder still to champion. show more

  • January 28, 2009 Amazingcrystal
    Report This User

    IT IS WAS GOOD MOVIE

  • January 10, 2009 Mattmandj
    Report This User

    krazykat4932 is a fag.

  • August 30, 2008 charmsoerthrown
    Report This User

    The story wasn't anything new, but the young lady in the lead role was an excellent young actress, and I thought that the movie really showed not only the challenges of being a girl in a man's world, but also looked at how economic recession is hurting small town America. I thought it had excellent messages about what family and community are supposed to be, and the acting was better-- and the characters more real-seeming-- than is usually the case in movies like this. The kids all seemed like real kids, none of them were perfect or pretty or super fashionable, and I think that makes them easier to identify with. Good movie for little girls and preteens.

  • August 29, 2008 Paul
    Report This User

    i havent seen it so i dont know im guesing

  • August 28, 2008 SINGNDANCEGURL
    Report This User

    it was a perfect movie for a daddy and daughter family fun funny and great and exellant

  • August 27, 2008 PE4EVER
    Report This User

    This was a great movie. My neighbor and I went and weren't sure if we would like it but we both loved it.

  • August 26, 2008 superhannah07
    Report This User

    Hii peoples(:me and my frand alyssaare going too seee thisss movie tonite!Woohoo,!!! i love you

  • August 25, 2008 jb070272
    Report This User

    I was very surprised. This is a very good movie with many positive messages. My wife wanted to see it and I'm glad we did!

  • August 24, 2008 PRYR1
    Report This User

    This is the best movie I have seen in a long time. It has so many wonderful messages in it. It is great for people of all ages and backgrounds.

  • August 24, 2008 Janken4
    Report This User

    I loved this movie. It was very touching and uplifting. It made me laugh and cry and everybody clapped at the end. The story was very compelling and I fell in love with the characters. My only complaint is that they used Jesus' name as a curse word a few times, which I wasn't expecting in a PG movie. Other than that, it was a wonderful movie!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X