Skip to main content

reviews

51
Based on 18 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 24 )
  • 38
    Scott Bowles USA Today

    RZA's directorial debut is heavy on bloody kung fu action...and light on just about everything else. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The movie plays things relatively straight, acknowledging clichés without the winking irony in which modern homages usually indulge. As such, it's giddy fun - a well-made genre picture that sends up its influences even as it clearly reveres them. show more

  • 70
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    It's all sufficiently well done and amusing enough to satisfy the appetites of fans who mainline this sort of thing, but it also sports a concocted, second-hand feel common to this sort of throwback homage. show more

  • 50
    Steve Macfarlane Slant Magazine

    The chop-socky wire-fu scenes are beautifully choreographed, but pretty crudely edited; despite its gourmet neo-grindhouse trappings, the film won't bring the heat like you've never seen before. show more

  • 25
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    At 96 minutes it is exactly 93 1/2 minutes too long. If they're going to put this artifact in theaters, they'd better charge 1973 grindhouse prices: a dollar a ticket. show more

  • 70
    Boxoffice Magazine

    It's a real film, and a fun one, made with gonzo good humor and plenty of action from the opening brutal battle over which the sound of The Wu-Tang Clan's 1993 single "Shame on a N***a" roars. show more

  • 60
    Empire

    Don't let the 'Quentin Tarantino Presents' tag deceive you, this is a mixed bag of lumpen dialogue and martial-arts magic that never quite coalesces into the delirious mayhem we'd hoped for. show more

  • 60
    Total Film

    Grisly and goofy, this ode to the Shaw Brothers' '70s-era kung fu epics serves up 96 minutes of murder and mutilation and not a lot else. Sweet soundtrack, though. show more

  • 40
    Ben Kenigsberg Time Out New York

    Both the martial arts and the slightly dull narrative patchwork are too choppily edited to gain much of a foothold. show more

  • 20
    Peter Bradshaw The Guardian

    It's leaden, boorish and dull. show more

  • April 01, 2013 tw00000000142903
    Report This User

    this movie was not good. i couldn\'t even finish watching it. the only thing that saved this movie was Russel crow.

  • March 06, 2013 gg00000000140366
    Report This User

    Wow, very mechanical fight scenes, but that okay... the acting is even more mechanical. The voice over is just plain horrible. They should\'ve over-dubbed the rapper accent with somebody who could actually speak clearly and with some emotion.

  • February 18, 2013 pl00000000138269
    Report This User

    Guess that's what you get when you put a rapper in charge of budgeting, no money left to get actual chinese people

  • February 17, 2013 kingjustin023
    Report This User

    I\'m sorry, but this was a horrible, horrible movie. Rza ruined this film.

  • December 27, 2012 hb00000000134003
    Report This User

    Terrible BAD movie. really BAD. Don\'t spend your money watching this movie. I went to the dollar movie theater and I regret having spent $ 1 on this film

  • November 23, 2012 nx00000000133446
    Report This User

    Left feeling very dissatisfied. Horrible acting and even worse, unrealistic plot. Do not waste the time and money.

  • November 22, 2012 vj00000000132497
    Report This User

    Uncivilized people will never learn and will never evolve and certainly do not need to be making movies. This garbage of a movie is proof. It would have been a moderately ok had it not been for the street ebonics that only appeal to uncivilized urban trash. I don't think anyone who knows how to wear shoes and pants pulled up to their waistes could truly relate and appreciate this movie. I can't believe Quintin Tarantino would sanction this garbage. No one in their right mind would have produced this movie, unless they were offered more weed than they could smoke. What really annoyed me most about the movie wasn't necessarily the rap and the fact that you have an unbelievable strory of a freed slave all the way in 19th century China, but moreso it was RZA's appaling onscreen demeanor. He looked like he was high on ecstacy for the whole entire movie - unalert blank aloof stare, gaping mouth, and a droopy bottom lip. What was that all about? It was instead of watching a human being, it was like watching a dumb ignorant uncivilized baboon for the whole movie which required you to suspend your intelligence in order to believe that he's a gifted blacksmith who can craft intricate automated weapons and who is also well-liked and well-received by people of very high social status and a completely different race. You might as well put a Neanderthal caveman in a business suit and stick him in a computer lab and get me to believe he develops software for top government officials who happen to think that their resident caveman is the next best thing since slice bread.

  • November 16, 2012 CHERYL
    Report This User

    Can I give it a MINUS 10? OMG!!! This has got to be the WORST movie of all time. STUPID!!!!!!!!!

  • November 13, 2012 sz00000000131908
    Report This User

    I was excited going in, had high expectations. I was terribly disappointed !!! I\'m a shaw bros. enthusiast and a collector. This monstrosity of a movie is shameful on how it was made. Rza really! Your narrative in that street slang was just painful to hear and watch at the same time! Though I enjoyed the death scenes the feeling lasted only in seconds and back to the horrible acting and convoluted story line. How on earth could you put together a star studded cast and produce garbage like this! Leave directing to the professionals and stick to rapping and music! Tarantino should be ashamed for putting his name on this! I wanted to hang myself for paying and sitting through this awful movie.....refund please!!!!

  • November 13, 2012 ho00000000131815
    Report This User

    ninja hookers! AWESOME!!!! lead by lucy lu is AWESOME!

`

similar movies

  • The Forbidden Kingdom (2008)

  • Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2000)

  • Once Upon a Time in China (1991)

  • The Raid: Redemption (2011)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X