Skip to main content

reviews

73
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 55 )
  • 100
    San Francisco Chronicle

    The animation, sparkling and graceful, also ranks as the studio's best traditional work in ages. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Emphasizes backing up wishes with hard work. That proviso is a thoughtful message for young moviegoers. show more

  • 88
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    The film billed as the first Disney animation to boast an African American "princess" is really about a resourceful bootstrapper in New Orleans, a young woman allergic to the fairy-tale pap spoon-fed to young girls. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Part of the problem with "P&F" is that Tiana and Naveen's connection feels superficial. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Marks Disney's rediscovery of a strong narrative loaded with vibrant characters and mind-bending, hilarious situations. show more

  • 100
    Ann Hornaday Washington Post

    The Princess and the Frog invite viewers to see the world as a lively, mixed-up, even confounding place, to recognize essential parts of ourselves in what we see, and to say: This is what we look like. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Randy Newman's songs are catchy and are effective within the movie's context, but I can't see any of them having "legs" beyond the screen the way tunes from the earlier animated musicals did. show more

  • 88
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    Two things keep the film off Disney's top shelf. First, Naveen is a dull hero; his good-natured vanity isn't engaging until late in the story. Second, Newman's songs are less bland than usual but no more memorable. show more

  • 88
    Mike Scott New Orleans Times-Picayune

    Local viewers will be tickled by the wealth of New Orleans details in the production. One of the best just might be in the film's music. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The Princess and the Frog inspires memories of Disney's Golden Age it doesn't quite live up to, as I've said, but it's spritely and high-spirited, and will allow kids to enjoy it without visually assaulting them. show more

  • July 12, 2011 jhanerichardson
    Report This User

    VERY SOULFUL MOVIE

  • December 22, 2010 TheHangoverfan
    Report This User

    God Awful Movie!

  • December 22, 2010 RyananJua
    Report This User

    TERRIBLE!

  • December 22, 2010 HancockJohnShe
    Report This User

    im cajun and this movie offended me because all the cajuns in the movie were retarded. it was so stupid

  • January 18, 2010 tmkdubry
    Report This User

    I loved the movie so much. I wanted to get it on DVD. My favorite part was when they got married. ........review by my 6yr old daughter, Kaitlyn I took my daughter and my 73 yr old mother, and we all loved it. We all laughed and cheered. There are some scary parts, but if you're ready for it it won't be bad. The artistry in this Disney film is just beautiful. Definitely worth seeing in the theater. A new Disney Classic for sure.

  • January 17, 2010 MackyScooby
    Report This User

    i really like this movie

  • January 17, 2010 wateringshowers
    Report This User

    I WISH I WATCH THIS MOVIE WHILE IT WAS IN THEATRES B CUZ IT LOOKS LIKE AN O K MOVIE AND I LIKE DISNEY WEN ITS LIKE DISNEY AGIAN

  • January 11, 2010 bo jun99
    Report This User

    So happy to see Disney's return to hand-drawn 2-D animation!

  • January 11, 2010 Limecoconut123
    Report This User

    This movie was a disappointment - and I LOVE Disney animated musicals. The setup is good, but once the middle of the story gets started it slows way down. It is one new unremarkable, character after another, and one uninspired musical number after another. Randy Newman is not a Broadway composer, and it shows. Every time a song starts, the energy goes down. The directors tried to make up for the slow story with very fast editing and jerky animation. It did not work. The main charcters are cute, the New Orleans setting is lovely, but the villain is silly, the supporting charcaters are derivative of other Disney charcters. and the story is poorly developed. See it on DVD.

  • January 10, 2010 PrEtTy AtrAcTiVe
    Report This User

    This movie is great!! I don't understand why people kept saying price naveen is white! He is not white! And who cares, the movie is fantastic

`

similar movies

  • Aladdin (1992)

  • Toy Story (1995)

  • Monsters, Inc. (2001)

  • Toy Story 3 (2010)

  • Meet the Robinsons (2007)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X