Skip to main content

reviews

92
Based on 39 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 136 )
  • 100
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    In terms of excitement, imagination and rule-busting experimentation, it's a gusher. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Anderson almost brings off a picture worthy of his grandiose ambition. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    A searingly intense and artful tale that grabs hold of the viewer from its jarring and wordless opening scenes and doesn't let go. show more

  • 100
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Daniel Day-Lewis's portrayal is not just the performance of the year -- there will be injustice if he doesn't win an Oscar -- but a creation of awesome proportions. show more

  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Just a few barrels short of being a masterpiece. show more

  • 88
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    With a grating symphonic score by Radiohead's Jonny Greenwood and the constant sense of danger following Plainview, "Blood" does not release its grip on the audience until its last, bizarrely crazy minutes. show more

  • 100
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Daniel Day-Lewis stuns in Paul Thomas Anderson's saga of a soul-dead oil man. show more

  • 100
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Day-Lewis... the role of a lifetime. show more

  • 100
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    The fact that that character happens to be so repellent -- and yet so endlessly fascinating -- is one of the film's many strokes of genius. show more

  • 100
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    There Will Be Blood" is anti-state of the art. It's the work of an analog filmmaker railing against an increasingly digitized world. In that sense, the movie is idiosyncratic, too: vintage visionary stuff. show more

  • September 24, 2012 qs00000000130291
    Report This User

    A masterclass performance by Daniel Day Lewis!

  • September 05, 2011 j0eisgreat
    Report This User

    Unquestionably this has become one of my favorite films of all-time, and probably that is the only American film I can say this about from the past 5 years. Every shot is drenched in visual poetry. The production design in stellar. The cinematography is mind-bending. Daniel-Day Lewis gives one of the great performances of all time and Johnny Greenwood delivers one of the best scores ever (unsurprisingly as Radiohead is one of the best bands ever. If you need something fast-moving and don\'t like to think too much go elsewhere. This is not ******************** art. There\'s a big difference.

  • April 22, 2010 drarthurwells
    Report This User

    Powerful film with great acting. A classic.

  • November 16, 2009 MrCraze182
    Report This User

    man oh man that movie was kick ass

  • September 13, 2009 Mrs. Wulff
    Report This User

    I give There Must Be Blood 5 stars for nothing else than the closing violin solo. What a smashing idea to pair great credits music with the cinematic plot kernel of Upton Sinclair's book "Oil". The greedy price of commodity oil today and the world's need to become free of it, was a dark mirror image to the early greed for oil of this film. Long, yes. Try reading some Upton Sinclair, fascinating. and the reade can take it a chapter at a time. Day Lewis earned his Oscar, and the rest of the csting was convincing, The music in the filmed story was simply ok, not good, not bad. The theme of the film story is frightening. With the tribute Altman I reconsidered its worth to be a 5 star undertaking.

  • July 16, 2009 JoeyJoker13
    Report This User

    Daniel Day-Lewis stars in this epic-saga drama from Paul Thomas Anderson. "There Will Be Blood. When I seen this. I never liked Daniel Day-Lewis in other films. But after seeing this trailer of heart pounding thriller about Religon Vs Oil = EPIC!! MASTERPEACE!! You will love this film. The ending is Epic. The first 15 minutes of the film..Awsome. I mean. It reminds me of the Godfather But more. You will ask for a Part II..then Part III. Cause you will be left hanging. Simply wonderful. Terrific. Piece of cake. Awsome film from beginning to end. My favorite line of the film is very epic. "I'VE ABANDED MY CHILD...I'VE ABANDED MY LITTLE BOY" Very Good. I Could watch this film for a year. Critic Rating: 100/100.

  • February 22, 2009 bullitt34
    Report This User

    Friday the 13th fans will not like this movie - it requires some thought process.

  • October 22, 2008 DrgnChocobo
    Report This User

    Extremely boring and uneventful movie.

  • July 15, 2008 obigguy456702146
    Report This User

    the movie sucked, the music was brutal and the whole movie was boring and leads up to nothing and not worth spending money on

  • July 14, 2008 mkdirector05
    Report This User

    Just another case of critics not knowing anything at all - not what so ever!! One of the worst movies I have ever had the misfortune to watch, and I wish I had been spared this horrible and meaningless event - absolutely plotless and what little vapors of plot there were - sprayed across the screen in random and meaningless seconds - I thought this was a mess. How the so called "critics" found anything worth recommending to anyone, is just incomprehensible to me - I can't find the words to say how worthless and horrible this movie was - and how they could give it 5 stars leaves me speechless.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X