Skip to main content

reviews

41
Based on 21 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 19 )
  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    Silly, but an enjoyable, well-paced fantasy-action story. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It takes more than an awkward title attempting to sound cool to overcome its mundane plot and silly dialogue. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    TMNT has a cool, noirish sheen. There's an attention to detail in the visuals and sound design that pushes it up several notches above most kiddie fare. It's not art, dude, but it will do. show more

  • 63
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    At its best, TMNT does recall the slangy fun of the series' glory days. But there are too many moments when it feels as stale as one of Mikey's half-eaten pizzas. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    A tad too conservative and calculated. CGI delivers best on moody sets and a noirish atmosphere achieved by lighting, backgrounds and visual effects. But the characters look like plastic dolls, and the story is recycled sci-fi. show more

  • 50
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    The movie is a serviceable way to pass the time: Kids will cheer the bright colors and funny new words ("Kowabunga!"). show more

  • 50
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    With your sharper minds, you'll probably figure it out. I hope so. Hope you'll like the movie too. But here's a bit of advice: Don't bet your allowance on it. Make Daddy pay. show more

  • 38
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    The movie pretty much exists to sell tie-in products, and it's about as entertaining as watching little kids playing with their toys in the sandbox. show more

  • 38
    Angel Cohn TV Guide

    Bummer, dudes. Longtime fans who expect the fun lingo and pizza-gobbling Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles of the past may be shocked by director Kevin Munroe's reimagining of the popular kiddie series. show more

  • 25
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Without the brute vigilante junk, this 82-minute picture would be approximately 2 minutes long. show more

  • September 29, 2009 Wmac212
    Report This User

    All I can say is that the movie is not as good as the first two live action TMNT movies. It at least is not like TMNT3. I give it 3 out of 5.

  • May 22, 2008 rotonda4now
    Report This User

    yo this movie was off the chain son the action was hot and one of ny favorite turtles were beast again i'm glad there back,but it does look like ur watching a 90 minute video game,but its cool,it was kind of funny when master splinter said he was going to watch his storys!!!LOL

  • May 22, 2008 nancyloveselmo6
    Report This User

    This was one of thoose movies that you either loved it or hated it. I happened to loved itThe bestt movie ever!!TMNT

  • May 22, 2008 tricia0628
    Report This User

    I took my three boys to seet this. I remember the other movies when I was younger that sucked! Can honestly say, it was a really good movie. They did a good job this time!

  • May 22, 2008 mandihudson
    Report This User

    No remake here, Shredder is still dead and so a new nemesis presents itself. My kids (9, 8

  • May 22, 2008 zoodarrell
    Report This User

    This movie is great and is not *********** is also great for the whole family!It is a relly good movie pcked with action and adventure!

  • May 22, 2008 raikoh130
    Report This User

    Wow! This movie was awesome! The CGI in the movie was amazing! I enjoyed the entire thing. It was funny, excellent action, and well, the whole thing was excellent! I dunno what these "so-called critics" are thinking but they take movies too seriously. This movie is amazing, go see it, and ignore these "so-called critics" opinions! 5 STARS!

  • May 22, 2008 gombaboy
    Report This User

    I love it so much I really want you guys to see it! I love this movie so much I saw it like a million times! LOL Hope you love the movie like I did ! Peace Yall

  • May 22, 2008 redsox1694
    Report This User

    this movie is awsome and i loved it. it is funny and is one of the best movies ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 jez998
    Report This User

    Whomever it was that argued that Splinter's voice wasn't properly cast; You are way off. I'm curious as to who you would have chosen instead. The late (died 7/06) great Mako was an extremely smart choice as he has an immense background in voice over character roles, and almost 80 live-action films. His latest work was in "Avatar: The Last Airbender" as "Uncle Iroh", which is the smartest, best written cartoon/animation out there on cable television. I'm not even a "TMNT" fan and I initially went to see the movie because I knew he was the voice behind Splinter. Luckily I walked out of the theatre accompanied by my fanboy boyfriend and 6 y/o son in tow with a fantastic movie still reeling in our heads. The older generations who lack imagination or any kind of child-within is unfortunately detached from the fun or funny stuff aside from giggling at the neighbors bad curtains while secretly screwing their husbands, or an old fart popping pills and drinking whiskey walking around as elitist as he can be, Mr.Schmutzncrotch. Hey folks, drag the sticks and stones, or enema bags outta your arse and chill out. Kate

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X