Skip to main content

reviews

70
Based on 36 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 38 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Woody Allen's sexiest movie ever. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The film's freedom and control, its inspiration and focus, announce it as the work of a confident and mature artist. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    As exhilarating, captivating and enjoyable as a summer romance in an exotic city. show more

  • 70
    Wall Street Journal

    The narration, aided by a terrific score, does streamline the storytelling, and adds to it a faintly sardonic top note. show more

  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Smoking, shouting, practically shooting off sparks, Cruz spreads a wildfire sexuality across Allen's sunny tableau of Catalan country picnics and scenic Barcelona ramblings. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    There are two stormy performances from Javier Bardem and Penelope Cruz that elevate Allen's melancholy thoughts on love and relationships. show more

  • 80
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The two most hilarious characters, played by Spain's two most famous actors, Javier Bardem and Penelope Cruz, are nothing if not cliches about tempestuous Latin lovers. But, boy, does Allen have fun with those cliches. show more

  • 88
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    After years of diminishing returns, Woody Allen spectacularly returns to form with Vicky Cristina Barcelona, his funniest movie in years and arguably his sexiest. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The actors are attractive, the city is magnificent, the love scenes don't get all sweaty, and everybody finishes the summer a little wiser and with a lifetime of memories. What more could you ask? show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    I enjoyed it as much as any Allen film of the last 20 years. show more

  • May 03, 2009 fertkisser
    Report This User

    This was the most boring movie ever. I though it was empty and would never end.

  • February 23, 2009 pe0ny13
    Report This User

    One of the worst Woody Allen movies I've seen. Disappointment can't cover the feeling. The dialog is inane, the subject matter is inane and the direction is inane. Only Penelope Cruz's acting talent can shine through the vapidness of this movie. I obviously saw a different version than some of these viewers.

  • February 21, 2009 MJPIC
    Report This User

    I have always loved Woody Allen films and this is one of his finest! No one does it better than Woody!!!!

  • January 03, 2009 mattsci
    Report This User

    This is easily one of the most enjoyable movies of the year, and one of the best in the past few years. I have not enjoyed Woody Allen movies for the most part, but this is a major exception.There is not a single dull moment, and the characters are so perfectly cast it is mind-blowing. The scenes between Bardem and Cruz deserve awards - they are so real. The women are so absolutely beautiful that you stay captivated just watching them throughout, but thankfully the storyline is awesome on its own. The themes can be related to real life in a twisted way, and I think everyone can imagine friends who have the same life issues as all these people. Javier Bardem is the perfect portrayal of a Spanish artist living in a fiery, passionate world. You walk away from this movie wanting to be this guy - for a few months anyway. Johansson and Hall portray the young American tourist to perfection, each bringing her own distinct flavor to the roles. I suggest everyone see this movie, and I challenge someone to find fault with it. There is some voice-over that can be a tad much, but it helps the story line and adds to the humor. My initial reaction: 9/10 or better

  • December 24, 2008 HOWARDStyx
    Report This User

    Get caught from the beginning with the characters, their dialogue and their acting. Woody knows when to end a movie. Take the ending or leave it. I took it. Compares to the Soprano ending, take it or leave it!. Howardstyx@aol.com

  • September 22, 2008 Brieaustin
    Report This User

    From the opening scene until the credits ran I was hooked, and the film never let go. Interesting characters, good dialogue, charm, beautiful locations, and of course, all of it comes together to make a statement -- it is Woody Allen after all.

  • September 16, 2008 Forever70s
    Report This User

    Great movie! Loved it! Made you feel like you had been in Spain! Great cast! Good job Woody! More movies like this please!

  • September 06, 2008 Visornotes
    Report This User

    Like most Woody Allen movies, it gets you thinkin". I doubt many people will be nappin during this one, as both the boys and the girls get plenty of eye candy. I would like to apply for the narrator position next time though.

  • September 06, 2008 Quality Cinema
    Report This User

    fairly differnet than Woody's usual style...narration throughout. Not a typical Hollywood ending..depicts a slice in the life of two women., Javier was incredible. A deep look at interpersonal relationships. Very realistic...view of emotions and love. Javier was incredible and best of actors...Onlky criticism is it did need more oomph! Seemed very linear in that there were no great highs...but quite intriguing and def. worth a go. I left the movie ..a bit uncomforatbel and rather deep in thought..makes you question all your ideas about love, romance ,a nd life

  • September 05, 2008 Moishy1x
    Report This User

    spect this one is fun. I was uncomfortable how quickly these intelligent girls gave themselves to this amoral artist, but as fictional chracters, hey, entertain me!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X