Skip to main content

reviews

56
Based on 36 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 83 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Whatever you think of Dubya, he has balls. The movie doesn't. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    In the end, W. makes up in immediacy what it lacks in objectivity. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The performances are good (some scarily realistic), and the movie is enjoyable to watch. But as a probing analysis of the 43rd president, it falls short. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    In spite of Josh Brolin's heroic efforts, W. is a skin-deep biopic that revels in its antic shallowness. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Unlike the filmmaker's previous stabs at presidential biopic-ing and conspiracy theorizing - "JFK" and "Nixon" - this one doesn't have the luxury of historical perspective. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    A measured and thoughtful meditation on a leader who, this terrific movie believes, inadvertently made the world as roiling as his soul. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    It's a gutsy movie but not necessarily a good one. Its greatest strength is that it wants to talk about what's on our minds right now and not wait for historians. show more

  • 60
    Bob Mondello NPR

    A surprisingly unsurprising film. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    W., a biography of President Bush, is fascinating. No other word for it. show more

  • 88
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    You'll be disappointed if you expect famed leftist Oliver Stone to apply a coup de grace to this man. show more

  • February 25, 2009 TruxR4Girls07
    Report This User

    If you are considering seeing this movie it's simple.... if you are an Obama fan and/or Bush hater, you'll think it's great. If you are not, you'll find it to be a complete mockery of President George W. Bush, Condoleezza Rice, and more subtlely but still there, born again Christians. It portrays President Bush and Condoleezza Rice complete idiots. Amazing.

  • February 24, 2009 Dollsarebest
    Report This User

    I kept waiting for the movie to start. About 90 minutes into it, it finally did... but I agree with the Onion's review which stated that instead of going in to paint Bush's life with strokes, even broad ones, Stone gave us a paint roller of a portrayal. I didn't find it as worthy as Stone's other films.

  • January 15, 2009 Andrepeyinghaus
    Report This User

    no good.

  • January 01, 2009 moviejan2009
    Report This User

    If you never new George W was president and this was pure fiction you would see a story of a man that was spoiled, selfish and totally unworthy of the highest office in our country. Everyone should see this one. What an eye opener. The movie itself was pretty good but nothing great.

  • November 26, 2008 varenya1
    Report This User

    After Stone went to Cuba and hugged Castro, I'm surprised he hasn't made a hagiographic life of El Supremo yet. Someday Hollywood will realize that infantile tantrums that indulge one's political agenda may feel good to the producers and directors, but they're embarrasing to observers.

  • November 14, 2008 TeriBuchananNapa
    Report This User

    If you're interested in seeing a highlights reel of the Bush administration with a horrible Condoleeza Rice impersonator, you might enjoy this movie. I wasn't and didn't.

  • November 12, 2008 ebugb
    Report This User

    This is an idiotic piece..I'm embarrassed for Oliver Stone, Don't waste your time - sorry I did.

  • November 10, 2008 Grace Anne94
    Report This User

    One of the worst mvoies i hvae ever seen in my life next to golden compass don't waste your time my whole entire group of friends and i fell asleep :p

  • November 09, 2008 P420869
    Report This User

    W is horrible. Don't waste your time.

  • November 08, 2008 rx4risk
    Report This User

    Abolutely astonishing to read these reviews. A "satire" about a sitting President of the United States of America, and most of you join Hollywood in the gleeful bashing. "W" is a loser in everything? Amazing, you should be running for President then, eh? I don't recall seeing a movie about Bill doing Monica in the White House, or ignoring the Al Qaeda threats that were apparent during his terms of office. And I doubt we will see a movie on President Obama should he face any challenges that approach the severity of what George W Bush has had to deal with. Regardless of your political bent, it is truly bad form to not support the leaders of your country. If you don't agree, rally like minds to have them voted out at the next election. I know one thing - your Grandparents would be very ashamed of your behavior. And you know it, too.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X