Skip to main content

reviews

59
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 15 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    We Own the Night is defiantly, refreshingly unhip. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Things are a little off. The style is gritty 1970s-style crime thriller, but the morals are straight out of 2007, and the movie is set in 1988. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The movie really belongs to Phoenix, who gives a haunting performance with just the right degree of intensity. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    At times solid and suspenseful, at times dopily implausible and woefully familiar. show more

  • 63
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    When it goes wrong, specifically when Bobby is given a badge like an angry Earp brother in "Gunfight at the O.K. Corral," the story turns into something barely at the level of a TV cop show. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    A more accomplished film than "Yards." Yet it will fail to satisfy police movie buffs, as procedures are de-emphasized, and the drama is too perfunctory and obvious. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    This is an atmospheric, intense film, well acted, and when it's working it has a real urgency. show more

  • 75
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    The movie's climactic car chase is as absurdly thrilling as it is innovative. Set almost silently in a blue-gray daytime downpour, it has a tough, improvisatory danger that makes the movie. If John Coltrane went in for action sequences, he'd have dug this one. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    With a cast like this, one has a right to expect something amazing, so the fact that We Own the Night is merely "entertaining" might cause disappointment in some quarters. show more

  • 63
    Ken Fox TV Guide

    Phoenix gives a nice performance as a man caught between loyalties but blind to the realities all around him, but Gray's screenplay is filled with clunky, Dr. Phil-sounding aphorisms that stop the movie cold. show more

  • June 02, 2012 elizabeth
    Report This User

    wonderful movie,great acting

  • May 22, 2008 hurleygrlshry33
    Report This User

    excellent!!!!!***** stars....... should be nominated for an oscar acadamy ; and also should be a soon to be award winning movie selection of an classic story with Joaquin Phoenix, Mark Wahlberg, Eva Mendes, Robert Duvall.....and more....

  • May 22, 2008 movieadmirefan
    Report This User

    We Own the Night was really good because of Joaquin Phoenix. He became the movie's scene stealer. He delivered a Worthy Oscar Performance, He compelled every scene. His acting in the movie was another great performance. He intensed the movie. I loved the way he brought the movie to his acting and He should've been nominated for his role of a son willing to make his life on the right path. I would recommend this movie only if you like Phoenix's work as a really good actor. The movie itself was entertaining, but The Departed was more entertaining and worth watching. This movie was worth watching because of Phoenix. Robert Duvall also delivered a great performance as Phoenix's Father, Eva Mendes was flawless. I loved the movie.

  • May 22, 2008 Holly
    Report This User

    What a waste of anticipation! Three (some could argue four with Eva) great actors thrust into a movie in which they obviously didn't take enough time to disect the script. Too much storyline reduced to short 15-second takes. Cheap visuals. Cheezy lines. Why police and not DEA? No Russian interpreter? Where DID Amada (Eva) go? She just disappeared. How did Phoenix get inducted into NYPD in one day and then run the place? He wants a "piece"? Scorcese..now HE coulda done somethin' with this... bad..bad...bad.

  • May 22, 2008 GETSUMEI
    Report This User

    The opening scene of 80's excess and debauchery belied the simplistic, shallow plot, and oft times the story was hypocritical to the characters actions. There is very little action, a car chase and one minor gun battle at the end. Several sequences, and even scenes, add little or detract from the main storyline. Eva Mendez is great to look at, but at the end of the movie what, if anything, (besides eye candy) did she contribute to Phoenix's character or the story at all? Nothing, the story was about Phoenix's family and the choice to return/embrace his family in order to protect it or avenge it. Eva did not even represent his adopted lifestyle. This movie seemed to be slapped together at the last minute, the story was shallow, the acting atrocious (and I usually love Robert Duvall movies), and extremely predictable. The only reason I stayed for the entire movie was I was not alone, wanted something for my 7 bucks, and it did not have Matthew McConaughy. It was not Sahara bad, but it was close.

  • May 22, 2008 vivalaraza61592
    Report This User

    Terrible acting, terrible storyline, and terrible script (at one point I was laughing at some of things Pheonix and Duvall were saying). The worst part thought was that it was very predictable from beginning to end.

  • May 22, 2008 barbaraannnyc
    Report This User

    This was a great movie. Soul searching. Leaves you with lots to think about. Afleck was tremendous in the leading role. I loved this one

  • May 22, 2008 hockey5195
    Report This User

    You have to see this movie.It's action packed

  • May 22, 2008 mif48
    Report This User

    John Timpanaro steals the entire movie. Joaquin Phoenix is great, Mark Wahlberg is terrific but Timpanaro deserves the Academy Award.

  • May 22, 2008 pnrrouchard
    Report This User

    Movie was worth the money, you are entertained from the first second all the way to the end. I found myself needing to relax..very intense. Love Phoenix...worth the money just to watch him, he's amazing as always. I look forward to seeing it again!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X