2015 Film Independent Spirit Awards - Show
The 30th Independent Spirit Awards was held in Santa Monica Saturday afternoon, and "Birdman" and "Boyhood" were the ceremony's big winners. Hosted by Kristen Bell and Fred Armisen, the more casual Oscar precursor honored the best in independent filmmaking from the past year. Only three films -- "12 Years a Slave," "Platoon," and "The Artist" -- have won best feature at the Spirits and gone on to nab the Best Picture Oscar. Time will tell if this year's Spirit winner will follow in their footsteps. Get a complete list of the nominees with the winners in bold, below:

Best Feature
"Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)" - WINNER
"Love is Strange"

Best Director
Richard Linklater, "Boyhood" - WINNER
Damien Chazelle, "Whiplash"
Ava DuVernay, "Selma"
Alejandro G. Iñárritu, "Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)"
David Zellner, "Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter"

Best Screenplay
Dan Gilroy, "Nightcrawler" - WINNER
Scott Alexander & Larry Karaszewski, "Big Eyes"
J.C. Chandor, "A Most Violent Year"
Jim Jarmusch, "Only Lovers Left Alive"
Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias, "Love is Strange"

Best First Feature
"Nightcrawler" (Director: Dan Gilroy; Producers: Jennifer Fox, Tony Gilroy, Jake Gyllenhaal, David Lancaster, Michel Litvak) - WINNER
"A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night" (Director: Ana Lily Amirpour; Producers: Justin Begnaud, Sina Sayyah) "Dear White People" (Director/Producer: Justin Simien; Producers: Effie T. Brown, Ann Le, Julia Lebedev, Angel Lopez, Lena Waithe)
"Obvious Child" (Director: Gillian Robespierre; Producer: Elisabeth Holm)
"She's Lost Control" (Director/Producer: Anja Marquardt; Producers: Mollye Asher, Kiara C. Jones)

Best First Screenplay
Justin Simien, "Dear White People" - WINNER
Desiree Akhavan, "Appropriate Behavior"
Sara Colangelo, "Little Accidents"
Justin Lader, "The One I Love"
Anja Marquardt, "She's Lost Control"

John Cassavetes Award (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000)
"Land Ho!" - WINNER
"Blue Ruin" "It Felt Like Love"
"Man From Reno

Best Female Lead
Julianne Moore, "Still Alice"​ - WINNER
Marion Cotillard, "The Immigrant"
Rinko Kikuchi, "Kumiko, The Treasure Hunter"
Jenny Slate, "Obvious Child"
Tilda Swinton, "Only Lovers Left Alive"

Best Male Lead
Michael Keaton, "Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)"​ - WINNER
André Benjamin, "Jimi: All Is By My Side"
Jake Gyllenhaal, "Nightcrawler"
John Lithgow, "Love is Strange"
David Oyelowo, "Selma"

Best Supporting Female
Patricia Arquette, "Boyhood" - WINNER
Jessica Chastain, "A Most Violent Year"
Carmen Ejogo, "Selma"
Andrea Suarez Paz, "Stand Clear of the Closing Doors"
Emma Stone, "Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)"

Best Supporting Male
J.K. Simmons, "Whiplash" - WINNER
Riz Ahmed, "Nightcrawler"
Ethan Hawke, "Boyhood"
Alfred Molina, "Love is Strange"
Edward Norton, "Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)"

Best Cinematography
Emmanuel Lubezki, "Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance)" - WINNER
Darius Khondji, "The Immigrant"
Sean Porter, "It Felt Like Love"
Lyle Vincent, "A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night"
Bradford Young, "Selma"

Best Editing
Tom Cross, "Whiplash" - WINNER
Sandra Adair, "Boyhood"
John Gilroy, "Nightcrawler"
Ron Patane, "A Most Violent Year"
Adam Wingard, "The Guest"

Best Documentary
"20,000 Days on Earth"
"Stray Dog"
"The Salt of the Earth"

Best International Feature
"Ida" (Poland) - WINNER
"Force Majeure" (Sweden)
"Leviathan" (Russia)
"Mommy" (Canada)
"Norte, the End of History" (Philippines)
"Under the Skin" (United Kingdom)

18th Annual Piaget Producers Award (Honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films)
Chris Ohlson- WINNER
Chad Burris
Elisabeth Holm

21st Annual KIEHL'S Someone To Watch Award
Ana Lily Amirpour, "A Girl Walks Home Alone at Night"
Rania Attieh & Daniel Garcia, "H." - WINNER
Chris Eska, "The Retrieval"

20th Annual Lenscrafters Truer Than Fiction Award (Presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition)
Dan Krauss, "The Kill Team" - WINNER
Amanda Rose Wilder, "Approaching the Elephant"
Darius Clark Monroe, "Evolution of a Criminal"

Special Distinction Award
Director/Producer: Bennett Miller
Producers: Anthony Bregman, Megan Ellison, Jon Kilik Writers: E. Max Frye, Dan Futterman
Actors: Steve Carell, Mark Ruffalo, Channing Tatum

Robert Altman Award (Given to one film's director, casting director and ensemble cast)
"Inherent Vice"
Director: Paul Thomas Anderson
Casting Director: Cassandra Kulukundis
Ensemble Cast: Josh Brolin, Martin Donovan, Jena Malone, Joanna Newsom, Joaquin Phoenix, Eric Roberts, Maya Rudolph, Martin Short Serena Scott Thomas, Benicio Del Toro, Katherine Waterston, Michael Kenneth Williams, Owen Wilson, Reese Witherspoon