moonlight, independent spirit awardsThe nominations for the 32nd Independent Spirit Awards were announced by Film Independent last week, hailing the best of independent cinema from 2016.

Nominated for the event's most prestigious award, Best Feature, were "American Honey," "Chronic," "Jackie," "Manchester by the Sea," and "Moonlight." "Moonlight," the critically acclaimed coming of age of tale which chronicles a young man coming to terms with his sexuality, is up for five nominations total, and will also receive the prestigious Robert Altman Award, given to one film's director, casting director, and ensemble cast in honor of their stellar work.

According to Vulture reporter Kyle Buchanan, that latter prize is why the stars of "Moonlight" -- including and -- were not nominated in the individual acting categories, despite generating significant buzz. Director , however, did receive a Best Director nod.

The Independent Spirit Awards will take place on Saturday, February 25, 2017, and will air live on IFC beginning at 2 p.m. PST and 5 p.m. EST. The full list of nominations is below.

BEST FEATURE (Award given to the producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.)

American Honey

Producers: Thomas Benski, Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen, Lucas Ochoa, Pouya Shahbazian, AliceWeinberg


Producers: Michel Franco, Gina Kwon, Gabriel Ripstein, Moisés Zonana


Producers: Darren Aronofsky, Scott Franklin, Ari Handel, Juan de Dios Larraín, Mickey Liddell

Manchester by the Sea

Producers: Lauren Beck, Matt Damon, Chris Moore, Kimberly Steward, Kevin J. Walsh


Producers: Dede Gardner, Jeremy Kleiner, Adele Romanski

BEST FIRST FEATURE (Award given to the director and producer)

The Childhood of a Leader

Director: Brady Corbet

Producers: Antoine de Clermont-Tonnerre, Chris Coen, Ron Curtis, Helena Danielsson, Mona Fastvold, István Major

The Fits

Director/Producer: Anna Rose Holmer

Producer: Lisa Kjerulff

Other People

Director: Chris Kelly

Producers: Sam Bisbee, Adam Scott, Naomi Scott

Swiss Army Man

Directors: Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert

Producers: Miranda Bailey, Lawrence Inglee, Lauren Mann, Amanda Marshall, Eyal Rimmon, Jonathan Wang

The Witch

Director: Robert Eggers

Producers: Daniel Bekerman, Jay Van Hoy, Lars Knudsen, Jodi Redmond, Rodrigo Teixeira

JOHN CASSAVETES AWARD (Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the writer, director and producer. Executive Producers are not awarded.)

Free In Deed

Writer/Director: Jake Mahaffy

Producers: Mike Bowes, Mike S. Ryan, Brent Stiefel

Hunter Gatherer

Writer/Director: Josh Locy

Producers: Michael Covino, April Lamb, Sara Murphy, Isaiah Smallman


Writer/Director: So Yong Kim

Writer/Producer: Bradley Rust Gray

Producers: David Hansen, Alex Lipschultz, Johnny Mac


Writer/Director/Producer: TW Pittman

Director/Producer: Kelly Daniela Norris

Writer/Producer: Isaac Adakudugu

Producer: Giovanni Ximénez

Spa Night

Writer/Director: Andrew Ahn

Producers: David Ariniello, Giulia Caruso, Ki Jin Kim, Kelly Thomas


Andrea Arnold

American Honey

Barry Jenkins


Pablo Larrain


Jeff Nichols


Kelly Reichardt

Certain Women


Barry Jenkins

Story By Tarell Alvin McCraney


Kenneth Lonergan

Manchester by the Sea

Mike Mills

20th Century Women

Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias

Little Men

Taylor Sheridan

Hell or High Water


Robert Eggers

The Witch

Chris Kelly

Other People

Adam Mansbach


Stella Meghie

Jean of the Joneses

Craig Shilowich



Ava Berkofsky

Free In Deed

Lol Crawley

The Childhood of a Leader

Zach Kuperstein

The Eyes of My Mother

James Laxton


Robbie Ryan

American Honey


Matthew Hannam

Swiss Army Man

Jennifer Lame

Manchester by the Sea

Joi McMillon, Nat Sanders


Jake Roberts

Hell or High Water

Sebastian Sepulveda



Annette Bening

20th Century Women

Isabelle Huppert


Sasha Lane

American Honey

Ruth Negga


Natalie Portman



Casey Affleck

Manchester by the Sea

David Harewood

Free In Deed

Viggo Mortensen

Captain Fantastic

Jesse Plemons

Other People

Tim Roth



Edwina Findley

Free In Deed

Paulina Garcia

Little Men

Lily Gladstone

Certain Women

Riley Keough

American Honey

Molly Shannon

Other People


Ralph Fiennes

A Bigger Splash

Ben Foster

Hell or High Water

Lucas Hedges

Manchester by the Sea

Shia LaBeouf

American Honey

Craig Robinson

Morris from America

ROBERT ALTMAN AWARD (Given to one film's director, casting director and ensemble cast)


Director: Barry Jenkins

Casting Director: Yesi Ramirez

Ensemble Cast: Mahershala Ali, Patrick Decile, Naomie Harris, Alex Hibbert, André Holland, Jharrel Jerome, Janelle Monáe, Jaden Piner, Trevante Rhodes, Ashton Sanders

BEST DOCUMENTARY (Award given to the director and producer)


Director/Producer: Ava DuVernay

Producers: Spencer Averick, Howard Barish


Director/Producer: Kirsten Johnson

Producer: Marilyn Ness

I Am Not Your Negro

Director/Producer: Raoul Peck

Producers: Rémi Grellety, Hérbert Peck

O.J.: Made in America

Director/Producer: Ezra Edelman

Producers: Nina Krstic, Tamara Rosenberg, Caroline Waterlow


Director: Rokhsareh Ghaem Maghami

Producer: Gerd Haag

Under the Sun

Director: Vitaly Mansky

Producer: Natalya Manskaya

BEST INTERNATIONAL FILM (Award given to the director)



Director: Kleber Mendonça Filho



Director: Athina Tsangari

My Golden Days


Director: Arnaud Desplechin

Toni Erdmann

(Germany and Romania)

Director: Maren Ade

Under the Shadow

(Iran and U.K.)

Director: Babak Anvari

20th ANNUAL PIAGET PRODUCERS AWARD (The 20th annual Producers Award, sponsored by Piaget, honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources, demonstrate the creativity, tenacity and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.)

Lisa Kjerulff

Jordana Mollick

Melody C. Roscher & Craig Shilowich

23rd ANNUAL KIEHL'S SOMEONE TO WATCH AWARD (The 23rd annual Someone to Watch Award, sponsored by Kiehl's Since 1851, recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Kiehl's Since 1851.)

Andrew Ahn

Director of Spa Night

Claire Carré

Director of Embers

Anna Rose Holmer

Director of The Fits

Ingrid Jungermann

Director of Women Who Kill

22nd TRUER THAN FICTION AWARD (The 22nd annual Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant.)

Kristi Jacobson

Director of Solitary

Sara Jordenö

Director of Kiki

Nanfu Wang

Director of Hooligan Sparrow

[via: The Hollywood Reporter, Kyle Buchanan]