Skip to main content

reviews

61
Based on 20 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 11 )
  • 50
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    May be Disney's most pointedly feminist effort since "Mulan." show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    This is Disneynature's third and best release, after 2009's "Earth" and 2010's "Oceans." With its compelling narrative of survival, it will probably be the one that most enthralls audiences. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Though African Cats is G-rated, scenes of animals chowing down on other animals are not for the faint of heart or delicate of stomach. I don't think it's suitable for those under 6, and they should be prepared for real animal behavior. But it's deeply involving and primally moving. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    African Cats, while often adorable and at times gripping, is more of a TV-ready experience. show more

  • 90
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The cinematography and editing are as superb as the film's feline stars are photogenic and heroic. show more

  • 55
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Mostly, though, African Cats is extremely tactful about the truly harsh stuff that goes down in the world of nature. show more

  • 88
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    Almost every shot is a postcard-perfect African vista, and every animal shown in majestic close-up. show more

  • 75
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Kids will love African Cats, which is full of "aw" moments. Their parents will appreciate that narrator Samuel L. Jackson keeps things from getting too schmaltzy in this true-life depiction of the circle of life. show more

  • 75
    Washington Post

    Ultimately, this is a universal story about how these wild mothers, like their human counterparts, sacrifice again and again - all to make sure their children are happy, healthy and well fed. show more

  • 75
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    No doubt, life is tough in the wild but, this being a Disney flick, it's loving too and even comes with a kiddie-friendly narrative that's easy to summarize and hard to dispute. show more

  • November 11, 2011 Eli
    Report This User

    Just awesome! Cinematography is breathtaking & the stories are awe-inspiring!! I just loved it

  • September 13, 2011 kiplove2
    Report This User

    Outstanding, I just love to see how the way mother nature works. Especailly on the Great lands of Arica!!!!!!!

  • May 21, 2011 blyssd1
    Report This User

    I Loved the movie and so did my 7 yr old daughter. Cinematography was beautiful and the story very real! my daughter was sorry about the cubs and the hiennas but I loved the realism. More movies like this should be made. I\'d like to see something on my favorite animal......the tiger.

  • May 09, 2011 mildredlamela
    Report This User

    most awsone

  • May 05, 2011 kostacheks
    Report This User

    TRULY AWESOME!!! The scenes are breathtaking, we were sooo impressed! This is a must see for families! I have 3 children and they all enjoyed it! It is done very tasteful, keeps you involved but not to much information! Truly great piece, look forward to seeing it again in the near future!

  • May 04, 2011 Elizabeth
    Report This User

    Gripping, fascinating to watch both lions and cheetahs so up close and personal. Wonderful story of their lives, but the narrator kind of detracted from the brilliance of the animals. That would be my only complaint, otherwise beautifully made.

  • May 01, 2011 Margaret Opine
    Report This User

    NOW THIS IS JUST PLUM GOOD!!! Some might call it a documentary but I call it storytelling, narrated by Sam Jackson, so it has a really good storytelling flare. The photography gets us really close, extremely close. This is Nature or this is what is called REAL LIFE...and this is what some people want to protect their children from but some parents want their children to see something like this so they can explain some things about real life to their child. A child should grow up with an understanding of both worlds especially male children. The female life seems out in the open; it is male life that may be harder to grasp because of the transformation from animal to human is far more complexed and difficult than the female\'s. If this movie is in competition with the likes of the BBC fiilms then it is fit competition. People love a story and Sam tells a good story.--MO

  • April 27, 2011 jk00000000090056
    Report This User

    THIS WAS AWESOME! I\'ve seen many documentaries but this one was the best by far. I love wild cats! I recommend that if you have children they will really appreciate this as well as you. Can\'t wait til it comes out on DVD!

  • April 23, 2011 Pete
    Report This User

    I will go see it Tuesday but I ******* was in Imax 3D!

  • April 23, 2011 j0eisgreat
    Report This User

    Hey Jude. That\'s no basis to give a movie 1 star. It does not choose what it gets to be rated, and you should have done your homework before going if violence bothers you so much. This information is available pretty much everywhere.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X