Skip to main content

reviews

84
Based on 37 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 29 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    A dynamite film that ranks with the year's best. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Its virtues are velocity, energy, innovative storytelling - and something that seems even more the province of young directors: a certain heartlessness and ironic distance in the tone. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    One bad idea can unravel and ruin lives in unimaginably horrific ways.That's the concept underlying the riveting Before the Devil Knows You're Dead, a sharply acted and highly entertaining morality play. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This is not a drama of shadings, but of ever-increasing intensity. show more

  • 100
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    A wicked deconstruction of a dysfunctional clan: brothers at each other's throats; a father whose legacy is anger and betrayal; an unfaithful wife; a history of deceit. It's a horror show of hatred and festering psychic wounds. show more

  • 88
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Arguably Lumet's best film in 20 years. show more

  • 90
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Pungently atmospheric, brilliantly textured and featuring superb performances from every performer in parts big and small. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    A superb crime melodrama. show more

  • 100
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    This flick is fast and ferocious, his (Sidney Lumet) sharpest and best since "Prince of the City" (1980) - and surely one of the year's finest. show more

  • 100
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Compact, nasty, and altogether wonderful, a tale of brotherly greed and New York comeuppance that shows an old dog dusting off old tricks using new technology. show more

  • March 27, 2010 ninefaner
    Report This User

    The first 3 minutes are a bit raunchy but Marisa is one fine lady. Everything that can go wrong with a robbery does go wrong. Very good movie.

  • December 07, 2008 EMPIREJEWLERS
    Report This User

    this movie was cool but in the begging it was sexxxxx..... hottt and sharp

  • May 22, 2008 bb52184
    Report This User

    I watched this movie earlier today, and i thought it was so so. If you can make it through seeing Hoffman naked the first couple of minutes then it turns out to be well still so so!

  • May 22, 2008 briskinscoobydoo
    Report This User

    The basic storyline would have been better without all the raunch. The F word and raunch are the center of the movie whereas the unlikely attraction of the polar opposites and her mixed up family was really a good starting point for developing a interesting comparison of "love" and "attraction" of polar opposite that end up actually loving each other.

  • May 22, 2008 akgtwoten
    Report This User

    positively riveting.evolves like a Shakespearean tradgedy. Wonderfully acted.........actors and movie should be nominated to academy awards.........

  • May 22, 2008 shanabarb2
    Report This User

    I came in expecting to see a masterpiece, and instead I saw very good acting by Hoffman and Hawke, with a rather dull plot and a poorly written script. Though you understand what leads up to their actions, how they developed into these heinous, deplorable people still remains unknown. And what is told doesn't adequately explain the events that unfold. I like complex, multidimensional characters that allow you to feel compassion regardless of their behaviors, but in this movie that was difficult to do. With all the great, thought-provoking movies out there, this one could definitely be missed without much regret.

  • May 22, 2008 qualitycinema
    Report This User

    Ignore all the critical reviews here. This was suspense and thrills all the way. Hoffman was amazing. The last 1/2 hour had you glued to your seat. Incredible and a must-see

  • May 22, 2008 newcharming
    Report This User

    The worst film I've seen this season. Erik Hawke

  • May 22, 2008 missp831
    Report This User

    I remember starting to read this short story years ago but for some reason I never finished it. That's the main reason I went to see it and although it was your typical horror film, the ending made it worthwhile. In fact, the ending was like getting hit in the face with a brick. Which in itself made it worth seeing. Might go and see it again.

  • May 22, 2008 calluponthejeep
    Report This User

    this movie was so bad it gives the ending away the first 10 minuts no suspence poorly writen no clue about reality it just sucked i wanted to walk out but i try not to do that i wish i could have that time back trust me dont go see this pece of crap

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X