Skip to main content

reviews

31
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 45 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    If you're like me, diluted Smith is still better than no Smith at all. show more

  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Represents his (Smith) first act of cinematic cynicism, his first crime against his own talent. With this action comedy, he has given us 110 worthless minutes, a bad formula movie like every other bad formula movie. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Director Kevin Smith's tweets, jokes and sharp commentary after being denied a seat aboard a Southwest Airlines flight because of his girth were a lot more engaging than Cop Out, his new movie. show more

  • 50
    David Hiltbrand Philadelphia Inquirer

    You want to cut Cop Out some slack because it's just so darn eager to please. So let's grant that it will make a reliably fun companion when it's on cable 10 times a week. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Has its moments, it's also regrettably ordinary. show more

  • 50
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Definitely has its amusing moments, but ultimately all that improvised shtick gets mighty tired without any real break in the nonaction. show more

  • 10
    NPR

    Tedious to watch and torture to listen to. show more

  • 50
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Cop Out seems aptly named. It’s not personal. It’s barely even a movie. It’s a fire hydrant that the director and his stars use for exterior shots. show more

  • 50
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Okay, there are worse movies out there, but I'm hard-pressed to figure out why I'd waste my time and money watching something that's a half-baked retread of better movies I can stream from Netflix. show more

  • 50
    Joe Williams St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    While the plot is as flimsy as a hooker's halter top, it's buoyed by two actors with attitude and timing. show more

  • December 01, 2010 Tmrtjt6
    Report This User

    an adult humor movie and absolutely funny!!!!!!!!! loved it.

  • October 20, 2010 BSK 3141
    Report This User

    Some of the worse dialog in a movie I've seen in years. Not worth the time or money, in my opinion!

  • August 31, 2010 WilliamSicklick
    Report This User

    good 2/2

  • July 31, 2010 hrodi007
    Report This User

    The movie wasn't that good. A lot of language and sexual humor. I thought the ending was funny.

  • April 12, 2010 milakette
    Report This User

    Oh, the high-brow critics... I guess what really bothers them is Bruce Willis being a Conservative. Mrs./Miss Betsy Sharkey (what kind of name IS that?!) from the arch-Liberal Los Angeles Times condescendingly refers to viewers as "many of you"! My husband and I finally watched it this past Friday and LOVED it. Sometimes I laughed so hard I almost cried. The unlikely duo is great. While Willis is his natural quiet, bad-cop-looking self, Morgan is absolutely hilarious. And Seann William Scott, who I never really like, is extremely funny as the crazy, super-high adrenaline criminal. Watch it and get out of the theater still laughing, in great mood, and ready to take on another Obamanation day! (PS: this is NOT a movie for kids for cursing and bad language.)

  • March 21, 2010 Sweetie2505
    Report This User

    This movie was just eehhh....actually, it really wasn't that great. I really didn't find the movie that funny....I laughed here and there. I do not find Tracey Morgan's humor very funny...so didn't enjoy him too much. I like Bruce though. The story line was predictable and not that interesting. I would suggest skip the movie...if its an absolute must see for you then just wait for the dvd.

  • March 20, 2010 nelconsult
    Report This User

    We walked out on this turkey even though we are big fans of BW!

  • March 19, 2010 STREETYAVE
    Report This User

    oops i forgot my rating

  • March 18, 2010 CHERYL
    Report This User

    This review is coming from ages 45-55 and this movie was hilarious. It had way too much "F" words in it but overall, it was funny and great acting. I would NOT recommend this movie to anyone under 18 though.

  • March 17, 2010 zach16cu
    Report This User

    There were a few semi-interesting scenes, very few jokes that were funny, But overall, very disappointing. The humor merely consisted of saying shock things and that quickly got tiresome. I feel very bad for all the people that that rated this movie 5 stars, they probably have no friends at all. Sometimes when i see a bunch of 5 star votes on a bad movie, and there have been many awful movies lately, I can't help but feel that they are paid my the director or studio to give the film 5 stars. Its' a sign that the Producer and Director will go to great lengths to get sales up. Hey, wasn't Bruce Willis very good in the movie 'sixth sense'..

`

similar movies

  • Bad Boys (1995)

  • Lethal Weapon 3 (1992)

  • Rush Hour (1998)

  • 22 Jump Street (2014)

  • Beverly Hills Cop (1984)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X