Skip to main content

reviews

45
Based on 10 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 47 )
  • 20
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Completely lacking in visual, narrative or stylistic coherence, the film also suffers from cheap-looking visual effects and poorly staged and edited action sequences that will not exactly please the fanboys. show more

  • 50
    Boston Globe

    Nearly all the actors seem to be having a good time, and the action moves so fast that you don't mind when something nuts happens. show more

  • 38
    TV Guide

    Just know there's a whole lot more great stuff out there than just what Evolution has in store for you -- namely, the anime that it was based on. show more

  • 40
    Marc Savlov Austin Chronicle

    Bottom line: costumed Goku and Chi Chi cosplayers may argue the finer points of this adaptation, but it is fairly dazzling it its own overextended, futurist-teenpulp fashion, and Chow makes a vastly more entertaining Roshi than he did a King. show more

  • 50
    Entertainment Weekly

    Marvel at the fact that something this trippy made it to our local multiplex. show more

  • 70
    Village Voice

    Far more entertaining than it deserves to be, unless you're a 10-year-old boy, in which case it's only the greatest movie ever made. show more

  • 70
    Nathan Lee The New York Times

    May or may not appeal to fans of the Japanese fantasy franchise it is based on, but aficionados of apocalyptic teenybopper kung fu extravaganzas are in for a real treat. show more

  • 50
    Variety

    A popular Japanese manga series gets a pleasing if paint-by-numbers live-action makeover in Dragonball Evolution, which half-heartedly tries to keep the faith for its pubescent male fanbase. show more

  • 40
    Los Angeles Times

    Director James Wong ("Final Destination") and writer Ben Ramsey are utterly blasé in their approach to the series' mythology and structure, cobbling together an 84-minute movie that seems to exist only to rile up fanboys. On that count -- and that count alone -- Dragonball Evolution triumphs. show more

  • 42
    Tasha Robinson The A.V. Club

    The film is crammed with treats for old-school "Dragonball" fans, from the inclusion of all these characters (who don't actually do much) to the moment when spiky-haired Goku dons his orange gi. For everyone else, this amounts to another seen-it-before, probably-willing-to-see-it-again distraction. show more

  • October 27, 2011 aklt5
    Report This User

    this is like beyblade !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • September 06, 2010 IrishP138
    Report This User

    if ur a true DBZ fan,and you watched the movie.you know the movie was crappy.

  • June 29, 2010 Betty69blue
    Report This User

    are you kiddin me obviously your not a true DBZ fan if u liked this **** cause this movie sucks. they like twisted everything. wtf. disappointment but whatever. for once id like a book or manga/anime based movie to actually be like ******** based on. ughhh.

  • May 01, 2010 Servo82
    Report This User

    If your a true DBZ fan then skip this movie! This movie is garbage and I really hope they don't make a sequel. Who ever said that they should make a sequel to see Goku turn super saiyan not saian is on crack and needs to go watch the original dragon ball and dragonball z, you can skip GT because it sucked too! This movie was just to make a quick buck using a popular dragon ball franchise.

  • February 22, 2010 MovieCritic0
    Report This User

    You have to be a true DBZ fan to enjoy this movie, I hope that there will be another with goku going super saian.

  • February 10, 2010 AllNFLProJordan1
    Report This User

    I Thought this movie wasnt that bad

  • July 12, 2009 kd00000002368548
    Report This User

    Blah, a bad movie. Too many joking around, no seriousness to it. Didn't resemble the original anime too much. Only plus side was the pretty girls in this movie. I was hoping for a Dark Knight type of drama but with traditional Dragonball storyline. Didn't happen.

  • May 06, 2009 rebirthofthefink
    Report This User

    i just watched it, honestly it was not bad considering they turned a widely popular anime series into a movie. yes the plot is different, but every movie that is made from either a book or other popular media always has its HUGE changes that tend to disapoint fans. i thought it was pretty decent. if you are one of those die-hard fans who is going to decide it sucks before you even watch it then dont talk bad about it. for a dragonball,dbz, or dbgt fan of the manga or the anime series this is definately worth a watch.

  • April 28, 2009 DojosonD
    Report This User

    did not see the movie. dont think i will. goku in school? get real, since when did he ever go to school. he was home schooled in the mountains. people if your going to make a movie of an icon stay with the facts and then you can put in a new plot. also I like james but is he playing the old piccolo or the new piccolo after he died a spit out the egg. if old ok,he was a week small fry. if its the piccolo we all love theres no actor on earth that can potray the 8 foottall green meanie with the killer moves, he has to be CG no questions about it. to bad they screwed up. I would have loved to see an older goku played by jackie chan as a funny goku, he could realy pull it off, jet lei as adult gohan, ray park as our fave baseball player, lucy lu would also be great you get the picture.

  • April 20, 2009 Mad Dog 61692
    Report This User

    i saw the movie on the computer. it wasn't as good as i thought. i think it was a disappointment. here is a link to the watch the movie for free, along with a bunch of other movies. http://movie6.net/?p=1033

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X