Skip to main content

reviews

41
Based on 31 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 10 )
  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Another dreadful, not-funny Owen Wilson movie, in which Wilson is the best thing. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    As clunky and humorless as its title. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    There are winning scenes between Wilson and the three teens as they train in various martial arts (like Mexican Judo - "as in Ju-don't know who you're messing with!") and get tips from clips of "Fight Club" and "The Untouchables." show more

  • 75
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Even if this movie doesn't quite hit the highs of its predecessor, it's nice to know that there are still filmmakers ready to respect the eternal struggles of freaks and geeks. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    A relatively lame exercise that never achieves comic traction. show more

  • 63
    Premiere

    Presents nothing blindingly new for fans of Apatow- or Sandler-style humor and when watching it, one can hear the faint rustling of old scripts being yanked from drawers for a timely cash-in, but with his high-school memories now hopefully exhausted, maybe Rogen has a good college yarn to spin. show more

  • 50
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    "Superbad” got a deserved R rating for its unmitigated and gleeful raunch. Drillbit Taylor is cleaner in mouth but far uglier in spirit. Wilson and Mann do what they can to tone it up, but their scenes belong to a different film, and a fresher one. show more

  • 50
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    The film emits a subtle yet distinct John Hughes vibe. show more

  • 50
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    The last time I saw this much talent in a losing cause was Super Bowl XLII. Trying to mix farce with heart, Drillbit Taylor is instead as soulful as Kenny G and as wacky as public television. show more

  • 50
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    A disappointing hodgepodge of rehashed clichés. show more

  • July 22, 2008 DinoE6
    Report This User

    It was a really funny movie but, I thing that the directors intended for it to be a stupid comedy. My point is, is that it is stupid but funny too.

  • May 22, 2008 tad094
    Report This User

    I thought this movie was hilarious - just not as funny as i thought. I thought of it as Superbad's little brother. It was funny and that fat kid is hilarious when hes naked in bed. Owen Wilson's lines, though, weren't that funny and all the funny stuff was already shown on TV spots.

  • May 22, 2008 Joshua
    Report This User

    this was really good and i might see Superhero movie next weekend cuz of good user reviews.hint: i dont care wat critics say cuz they have no taste for comedies and they bring in just about a third of the box office's income and the others are the big action/adventure flicks next to drama and mystery.

  • May 22, 2008 emlou94
    Report This User

    okay, i have to admit that the excessive cussing does bring the family friendliness down from a 5 star to maybe a 2 star. but as for the humor i thought this movie was an absolute 10 out of 10! i loved this movie and i loved every part of it! owen wilson looks like my uncle anthony with shaggy blonde hair (they could literally be TWINS!!!) so it made it all the funnier picturing him doing all that! lol overall on the humor scale, i give this movie a 10 out of 10. -Emily Indiana

  • May 22, 2008 moviefan452
    Report This User

    I found Drillbit Taylor to be an enjoyable teen comedy. It's somewhat reminiscent of last summer's Superbad with a younger group of boys. Owen Wilson plays a loser who is nonetheless endearing. Read my full review at www.johnhuntspace.com/drillbit

  • May 22, 2008 haptowns
    Report This User

    This movie is way too long. They could have easily cut out 30 minutes of it as it droned on and on. I still enjoy Owen, he was the best part but not as funny as it could have been. Lots of comedy opportunities left undone.

  • May 22, 2008 main screen name
    Report This User

    me like big aminel with fir"i like movie, movie good, i like big aminals and things too me go to movie again, movie had popcorn me had greart time at moveie my captor watch novvie wit me, yeaaa nowe i at sume place in dark thinkking aboot moveie with big elipent and kat with big teeth toomarrow i gret chain takin off and i get to go to the plavce where docoktoer put needle in myy braiin it tickkle and i sneeze blood and pooop,,,"

  • May 22, 2008 triplebogey67
    Report This User

    I saw this film on March 22 and numerous people walked out halfway through it. I didn't walk out until 10 minutes before it ended.If you are a teenager, you will probably enjoy this movie because it addresses some of the issues that face you at school. As an adult, I found this film to be sophomoric, poorly written and not worth my time.For instance, the upperclass bullies who pick on the freshman nerds are shown in some of the same classes as the nerds. This would never happen at any high school I have ever heard of (freshman track classes are separate from junior or senior level courses, even for knuckleheads who are not going to college).If you are over 19 years old, do not waste your time with this piece of crap movie.

  • May 22, 2008 pj323jp
    Report This User

    OK. You're resting nervously in the dentist's chair, waiting for the laughing gas to take effect...but it doesn't work....AND the dentist starts drilling anyway.

  • May 22, 2008 davidmarcel1
    Report This User

    I went to this movie and got what I expected-something light and goofy, just to forget about everything else for a few hours. I also went for Owen Wilson-who I think is one of our finest talents out there right now.

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X