Skip to main content

reviews

37
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 68 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    It's Carell who projects the movie's only sense of mischief. But it's too little and too late. show more

  • 25
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A limp, slow-moving and desperately unfunny comedy. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    It's an almighty, humorless bore. show more

  • 20
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    This is movie-making by and for dummies, a sappy little bible story, blissed out on its own ineptitude. show more

  • 50
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Ultimately, Evan Almighty is too sappy, too sanctimonious. show more

  • 63
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Carell and Freeman are great together and Wanda Sykes' acerbic humor is perfect for her role as Evan's perplexed assistant. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Carell is getting quite good as these everyman characters but lacks the audacity of, say, a Carrey or a Robin Williams. He is making comedy out of dullness. show more

  • 63
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    Evan Almighty may not be enough to make you shout ''Hallelujah,'' but it's not the cinematic equivalent of a plague, either. show more

  • 63
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Though far from a disaster of Biblical proportions, Evan Almighty is a mild, sporadically funny comedy in an oversized sentimental frame. show more

  • 50
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Carell's frantic mugging as a modern-day Noah barely keeps Evan Almighty afloat. show more

  • September 08, 2010 jtbljones
    Report This User

    Its ok. I love Steve Carol.

  • May 22, 2008 usafpowell
    Report This User

    i am 7 yeres old and i loved it!!!!!!!!!!!

  • May 22, 2008 McGhee
    Report This User

    I can't find a track on this one that I don't like. It is the hottest long awaited music out there long to last. I never would of guessed in my wildest dreams and my curisostiy got the best of me all the hype I couldn't wait to get it and I got it now and loving it and I FIND IT HARD TO TAKE IT OFF..........GO AND GET IT YOU WON'T BE DISAPOINTED. IT MADE ME BLUSH INSIDE AND FEEL SOOOO GOOD..ALL OVER.

  • May 22, 2008 rdliid
    Report This User

    I love the song you wrote in his house, if you could send me the words, I would love it

  • May 22, 2008 dramaqueenat10
    Report This User

    See Evan Almighty, it spreads a GREAT message! God strength like no other and this movie showed it! The critics are stupid, don't listen to them! This movie is inspiring and will change you. So become closer with the Lord. Go see this movie, and learn!

  • May 22, 2008 simoninikid
    Report This User

    Let me simply say this....I HAD FUN watching this movie! I laughed a lot, cried a bit (thinking of how creative and cool God really is), and left the theater with the feeling of pure delight. Now that felt good!

  • May 22, 2008 whits34
    Report This User

    My husband and I loved this movie! We were going to see another movie, and it was sold out. My husband just picked this movie, this was a movie we were supposed to see! The story line, the actors and the animals were great, it teaches you to be kind to everyone. This was a wonderful, inspirational movie.

  • May 22, 2008 themovieman777
    Report This User

    42 out of 100 critic's rating? I saw this movie with my 13 yr old daughter and I have to admit I went reluctantly to see this movie. The only people who won't enjoy it are people who shy away from either God, morals, Bible stories or just don't like to laugh. The people who were a part of our audience evidently felt the same way we did about this entertaining flick. Reaction to MANY scenes throughout the showing varied from mild giggles to loud gaffawing. It even had a simple message that anyone SHOULD be able to relate to. My advice is just as simple: GO SEE IT!!!

  • May 22, 2008 dreamersks
    Report This User

    I really liked this movie ! Please don't take the critics' comments too seriously.It is a movie with a message; a real " feel-good " flick. Go see it for an uplifting couple of hours. I would see it again.

  • May 22, 2008 nittywhitty07
    Report This User

    This movie is great for families. There is nothing offensive in the movie at all and its sutable for young children. Overall i was a little disappointed being a big fan of The Office i found this to be a little boring adn i came expecting to see Steve Carrell's antics and was bored after realizing how tone down he was. The message of the movie is clear and obvious and it is a good message not necessarily a Christian based one, it leaves you with a desire to be more of an environmentalist. Great for families with a variety of aged kids, dont reccomend it for people seeking a funny movie since the funniest part was the dancing in the credits at the end of the movie.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X