Skip to main content

reviews

64
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 43 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Leave it to Hilary Swank. Even when her film's pace lags behind its cliches, she sparks this true story, about a California teacher who sparks her students, with the passion the subject demands. show more

  • 75
    Ruthe Stein San Francisco Chronicle

    Overall Freedom Writers is a noble effort. At a time when New Year's resolutions to change already are falling by the wayside, you can't help but be moved by a group of young people who followed through on their resolve. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Freedom Writers is an earnest, well-meaning attempt at inspirational teen drama. It has some moving scenes and honest observations, based on a school in Long Beach, Calif., but the movie sinks under the weight of formula and stereotypes. show more

  • 75
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    I say bring 'em on, if the stories can be told as well, as convincingly and as inspirationally as Richard LaGravenese's Freedom Writers, an educational fantasy that happens to be mostly true. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The film is both too short and too long at two hours-plus. Not enough time is spent with the teens and far too much with their teacher. show more

  • 75
    Michael Wilmington Chicago Tribune

    Hilary Swank gives a powerhouse performance as a maverick high school teacher in Freedom Writers, an often gripping and sometimes even inspiring film drama taken from the real-life story of Erin Gruwell. show more

  • 75
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    The movie works. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Freedom Writers delivers the expected messages about hope and the ability to change one's destiny, and does it in a manner that it is emotionally and intellectually satisfying. show more

  • 75
    Lawrence Toppman Charlotte Observer

    The movie is based on the life of California high school teacher Erin Gruwell, played with captivating honesty by Hilary Swank, yet it feels like the usual Hollywood exaggerations. show more

  • 63
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Swank's character, Erin Gruwell, is a real educator who, in the years following the Rodney King riots, coaxed her students into writing about their bullet-riddled lives. show more

  • October 25, 2011 hawksdevil63
    Report This User

    it was a awesome movie would watch over again

  • May 22, 2008 missytygris
    Report This User

    This movie brought tears to my eyes. Not because I felt bad or because it was sad. Because, it hit home. Every single experience in that movie can hit home in one way or another. We all need to understand eachother for who we are and not for who we appear to be. This movie was directed amazingly. I couldnt say it better but to suggest all to make a difference in their own lives. Oh, and check out this movie!!

  • May 22, 2008 raiinonme123
    Report This User

    this movie is amazing, it truely touched my heart, it states the truth about what goes on in are day to day life's, and i see that today as a student,. i would deffinetly go to see this movie again...

  • May 22, 2008 hersheykizzes26
    Report This User

    This Movie Is Worth The MoneY!!!

  • May 22, 2008 David
    Report This User

    Today, while most parents that still care and have the means, have taken their children out of our PUBLIC SCHOOL and put them into private or home school situations, to instill some sense of morality and importance of a good education, this movie reminds us that their is still hope. But there is only hope if we stand strong against what the world, read media and Hollywood, want us to believe; that is, that the status quo of kids disrespecting teachers and adults and each other is not right. Hang in there kids and be the author of your own story - don't let anyone take that away from you. Go Hilary!

  • May 22, 2008 hkirkhouston
    Report This User

    WHAT AN EXCELLENT MOVIE! I COULDN'T BELIEVE HOW GREAT IT WAS! ONE PERSON CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE IN THE WORLD IF THEY JUST DON'T GIVE UP ON PEOPLE! IT WAS SOOOO REAL AND INSPIRIING! CAN'T WAIT TO SEE IT AGAIN - HOW MANY MOVIES HAVE YOU GONE TO WHERE YOU WANTED TO WAIT UNTIL THE NEXT SHOWING AND PAY TO SEE IT AGAIN!!! HILARY SWANK DID A GREAT JOB TOO!!DON'T MISS THIS ONE!

  • May 22, 2008 jadehirsch
    Report This User

    Freedom Writers, it wasnt all that. Dont get me wrong, the things that they showed in there were pretty good, but it just shows how---well, like. Its basically kids in the ghetto and this one lady trying to help them with personal issues and help them get confidence, which is not bad, but that does not happen in the real world. Its not all the time a white lady helps all the problems that kids in the ghetto had. Poeple were also saying that it was a tear jerker. Not to me. I'm also trying to say WHERE WAS SHE AT WHEN I WAS IN MIDDLE SCHOOL????!!!! That's right i went to school up in the ghetto and there was no one like that to help us, those were some lucky kids. It was a great thing she did for those kids, but it just seems unreal. Be honest, you think in today's society and the issues going on in public schools, do you think for one seconds a a white lady would do things like that for the students..............exactly!

  • May 22, 2008 legreen29
    Report This User

    As a teacher I found Freedom Writers to be an inspirational reminder of why I chose this profession. I have read a few negative comments from the critics. I would challenge those educated critics to have the courage to walk into the environment that Erin Gruwell mastered so beautifully. Erin is a true heroine whose spirit continues to make a difference in our world! Elaine Green

  • May 22, 2008 paulpenn45
    Report This User

    Good performance by Hillary

  • May 22, 2008 joybck4
    Report This User

    I think the movie was excellent.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X