Skip to main content

reviews

72
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 28 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Gone Baby Gone is full of dark secrets, and how they unravel will keep you glued. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    A story so good that maybe anybody could have turned out something decent. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    There is a compelling ethical question raised skillfully that will haunt viewers. The poignant conclusion probably will incite debate. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Storytelling problems surface toward the overwrought climax, but the worst problem is the unrelenting grimness. It's hard to like a movie that leaves you with no hope. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Casey's big brother has made a tough, taut mystery. show more

  • 75
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    The film's standout performance belongs to Ed Harris, who plays a Boston detective with decades of experience and an equal amount of built-up resentment toward people who would harm children. show more

  • 80
    The Hollywood Reporter

    It's a tribute to this thoughtful, deeply poignant, splendidly executed film that we replay the conclusion in our minds long after the lights come on. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The result is a superior police procedural, and something more -- a study in devious human nature. show more

  • 88
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    The joke's on us, it turns out; as a director, Affleck has come through with a sharp, morally ambiguous piece of pulp crackerjack. show more

  • 88
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Gone Baby Gone is powerful stuff - a movie that derives its plot twists from moral conundrums rather than from narrative sleight of hand. show more

  • July 08, 2013 msusieq6969
    Report This User

    I loved this movie. Great acting, awesome directing. Moving story line, it makes you think. Good job Ben, I am proud of you, you made me a believer.

  • January 05, 2009 Momof2cuteez
    Report This User

    cassandra3224 I walked out after 15 minutes of it. Every other word was the f word. It looked like the story would have been good without all the foul language. I can not understand why that cursing is necessary. They didn't have it years ago and the plots were great without it. ... get used to it. the F word is everywhere, times have changed

  • June 16, 2008 rinconmd
    Report This User

    movie was just ok. afleck was good

  • May 22, 2008 cassandra3224
    Report This User

    I walked out after 15 minutes of it. Every other word was the f word. It looked like the story would have been good without all the foul language. I can not understand why that cursing is necessary. They didn't have it years ago and the plots were great without it.

  • May 22, 2008 ignats 123
    Report This User

    I read the book and couldn't put it down. I am looking forward to seeing the movie and seeing the characters brought to life.

  • May 22, 2008 nessa53103
    Report This User

    great movies 5 stars.. movies keeps on the edge .. theres a part u think the movie is ending but thats just the beginning.. im not a fan of ben ... but damn good movie..

  • May 22, 2008 em392975
    Report This User

    Gone Baby Gone was great on so many different levels. Not only is it entertaining to watch, it stimulates the viewer intellectually and makes you question the variousmoral dilemmas brought about by each character. They are,wide-ranging, giving one much to think (and talk) about. My respect for Ben Affleck, which was previously very small, has increased ten-fold. His native roots proved to put this movie at the top of all Boston movies. I don't care what other veiwers wrote about the foul language. The over-usage of the F-word captures the spirit of the world he presented so perfectly. There wasn't a dull moment. The acting was phenomenal, as every character did an excellent job portraying whatever ethical issue they were faced with. This was especially true of Amy Ryan who played an unlikeable person to perfection. It will be a disappointment if this movie is not nominated for a few oscars. Good job, Affleck brothers!

  • May 22, 2008 janice7827
    Report This User

    This was a wonderful movie based on a wonderful book. It is not lighthearted...be warned. You will worry and obsess, and you will leave thinking about this movie. It made me cry in parts and it was interesting because I was crying in different parts than my friend who hadn't read the book and didn't know the end.This is a must-see if you want a quality movie. It's a don't-see if you want to be amused.

  • May 22, 2008 tommyandshin
    Report This User

    you know,

  • May 22, 2008 cgdressler
    Report This User

    Movie was very good.but Disturbing at the same time..Made you think alot>and feel..>.Acting was Fabulous..

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X