Skip to main content

reviews

40
Based on 22 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 28 )
  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    There's virtually nothing new in the dull Paranormal Activity 4 except for a modification in the method of documenting the spooky shenanigans. show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    PA 4's best idea, besides reintroducing the slow-walking, statuesque Katie, is a strange video trick involving lots of little lights filling a darkened room. It's tough to describe, but the cameras, of course, capture a figure the characters can't. show more

  • 40
    The Hollywood Reporter

    Fairly mild in tone and riffing -- if not quite ripping -- off a collection of horror classics that includes "The Shining," "Rosemary's Baby" and "Poltergeist," both the franchise's premise and its execution nevertheless remain rudimentary, with the narrative and character backstories representing more of a sketch than a fully realized vision of the supernatural world that Katie inhabits. show more

  • 70
    Movieline

    The film is heavily reliant on jump scares, but its best moments are the ones before them, when the tension builds without the benefit of escalating music to queue you in to the approaching shock. show more

  • 50
    Sara Stewart New York Post

    This is hardly reinventing the wheel, but it is serviceable, if you're looking for a few shivery communal scares. show more

  • 50
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    The ending steals actionably from "The Blair Witch Project," the movie that helped spawn these first-person chillers. show more

  • 38
    Chuck Bowen Slant Magazine

    Paranormal Activity 4 sadly continues the series' downslide, most drearily with a mid-film twist that enables the filmmakers to go about essentially remaking the second entry. show more

  • 25
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    They could have called this Paranormal Inactivity. show more

  • 60
    Kim Newman Empire

    Catfish pair Joost and Ariel Schulman keep the franchise firmly on track with a satisfyingly scary fourth instalment. show more

  • 60
    Boxoffice Magazine

    Paranormal Activity 4 may mean more of the same, but in a modern horror landscape too often made up of equal parts of gore and boredom and resigned straight-to-video, it's a chiller designed to be seen in a crowded theater, and that alone makes it superior to its peers. show more

  • February 19, 2014 guku1
    Report This User

    Biggest piece of crap I have seen in a long time, obviously done by blody amateers!!

  • January 29, 2013 qu00000000058708
    Report This User

    1 WORD- FLOP!

  • December 25, 2012 tv00000000102054
    Report This User

    See This Movie at FLY27 COM

  • November 21, 2012 vl00000000132211
    Report This User

    It was kind of lame but I did enjoy it to some degree. The ending is super retarded. Although, it seems like they are trying to set it up for a Paranomal Activity 5 by creating a bizarre ending that does not tie in to any of the first 3 prior films. Maybe the Director is trying to get into the \"zombie\" Walking Dead storyline...my suggestion, rent the DVD for sure.

  • November 17, 2012 ve00000000132164
    Report This User

    This was an utter disappointment. If you were looking for questions answered, think again. There were no loose ends tied up, no explanation at all. The movie wasn\'t horrible, it wasn\'t as good as the first, but the endng had the entire theatre pissed. I just can\'t wrap my brain around why the filmakers wouldn\'t want the audience to know wtf is up with the whole storyline. New characters and no explanations to who they are and what happened to them in the end. Normally you would want to see this in the theatre for the scare factor, but don\'t, if you are a die hard fan just rent it from Redbox and save yourself some money. It is not really scary anyway, and the ending will have you glad you didn\'t drop 50 bucks at the theatre.

  • November 03, 2012 sethw2000
    Report This User

    One of the scariest movies of the four Paranormals. It had a lot of comic relief but a lot of suspense and creepiness. It was a good scary flick!

  • October 31, 2012 franksellsfl
    Report This User

    This was so not what the advertising said it would be. At no time was I frightened or wondering what is next. Especially since just last week I saw Sinister which was a GREAT movie based on paranormal activity. Sorry Paranormal 4, I really wanted to be better, I was so disappointed.

  • October 28, 2012 afischer0012
    Report This User

    the trailor is F****** scary!!!! i could not live through the movie

  • October 28, 2012 msinoh
    Report This User

    I like the Paranormal Series of movies, but this one was only bearable. Each of the earlier three much better. Too bad this one could not keep up the thrills and scares going. Maybe #5 will get the Paranormal movies back on track.

  • October 28, 2012 hj00000000131698
    Report This User

    I have not seen this movie yet but i can tell you its one the worst movies of the year. Icolon0630 gave this movie 5 stars and said this movie was awesome. Cleary this guy ***** and pisses his pants whenever he watches old reruns of Goosebumps or Are you afraid of the dark. What he should really be afraid of is being a virgin for the rest of his life.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X