Skip to main content

reviews

65
Based on 42 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 132 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The ending isn't squishy scary or deeply satisfying. Bummer. Otherwise, Prometheus – especially in its spellbinding first hour – kicks ass so hard and often that it's impossible not to be thrilled by it. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Try as it might, the movie is hardly profound, and the murky atmosphere and the leaden pace drag things down. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Scott seduces audiences with thought-provoking possibilities, then pulls a bait-and-switch, subbing in a familiar monster thriller and fiery explosion-fest. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Prometheus, in efficient 3-D, places most of its bets on the wonders that today's visual artists and technicians can work with digital tools. This tale of an interstellar search asks cosmic questions about the meaning of life, but comes up with lame answers in a script that screams attention-deficit disorder. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    It is Rapace, the Swedish actress who gained worldwide recognition as Lisbeth Salander in the original adaptation of "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo," who ends up the true heroine of Prometheus. show more

  • 80
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    We are left, after all the propulsive action, with great turns by Theron and Rapace, and a tightly wound turn by Fassbender, whose eerie, poetically impish mechanical man might have burst from Bradbury's conscience. show more

  • 80
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    Although Ridley Scott's 3D visual feast is no classic, the oozing alien tentacles hit all the right sci-fi horror notes. show more

  • 60
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    It's imaginative only in a stiff, expensive way. Scott vests the movie with an admirable degree of integrity – it doesn't feel like a cheap grab for our moviegoing dollars – but it doesn't inspire anything so vital as wonder or fear, either. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    A magnificent science-fiction film, all the more intriguing because it raises questions about the origin of human life and doesn't have the answers. show more

  • 88
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Gorgeous set pieces thrill the senses, but there is philosophical inquiry as well. "Alien" was, after all, just "Jaws" in space, but Prometheus ponders where evil comes from and how it conquers its makers. show more

  • December 03, 2012 wardore
    Report This User

    Very entertaining if you have already seen the Alien movie series. If not, forget it.

  • November 16, 2012 jm00000000132998
    Report This User

    Really a \"must see\" for any fan of the Alien franchise (whether you like it or not). Very interested and hoping to see a continuation.

  • October 28, 2012 uo00000000126571
    Report This User

    There weren’t many questions answered about the Alien franchise and the plot may have its pitfalls, but the graphics alone are enough to make this movie a worth while watch. After I saw the trailer in my office at DISH I knew it was going to be breathtaking and the blu-ray did not disappoint. There were some interesting mysteries that were brought up in the movie that were not answered, but I hear the sequel will be very enlightening. I can’t wait. Since I’ve been using Blockbuster at Home instead of going to the theaters I have been able to watch movies all month for the price of one ticket and this is by far the best one I have seen al

  • October 23, 2012 jackd1207
    Report This User

    Though Scott denies the ties to \"Alien\", it is obvious that this movie is the prequel to that series. I thought the movie was fairly well done but it lacked the intensity of Alien until the end, and I was okay with that. Acting was top shelf and CGI wasn\'t over done. All in all, entertaining.

  • October 21, 2012 Poinciana55
    Report This User

    no entendi

  • October 21, 2012 by00000000130594
    Report This User

    Falls almost immediately into ridiculous and nonsense, and never leaves the ground \'til the final sequence.

  • October 18, 2012 Sir Raymond
    Report This User

    Though the visuals are great.....plot seems weak and tiresum. I actually thought the first 10 minutes was the best of the movie. Not one of my favorites this yr.

  • October 11, 2012 ah00000000130343
    Report This User

    The plot is a little thin, and some parts are just downright dumb. For example; we have a two year journey to some unknown planet, the crew is in hibernation/stasis/what have you for that time, so they are awakened by a lifelike robot when they arrive at the mysterious planet and immediately they are snotty to each other. Yah sure some agency is going to spend billions to send 10 people into space and not check if they are mentally fit for the job. Then they don their silly looking space suits and head into an alien structure. Within minutes they have abandoned all concern for their safety and are removing their helmets. Yah sure. Then they notice hey there is a huge pile of dead aliens, they look like they were killed or trying to escape from something. And hey look at this really scary looking growth on this alien, hey go ahead and touch it. And while you’re at it lets send people off in various different directions. And then a couple of the team are just plain jerks with no sense of adventure and they get bored and head back to the space ship. Yah sure I signed up to go into space, be locked in hibernation for two years, to visit a possible alien civilization, but hey I’m bored with this exploring stuff, let me know if you find any bugs or anything. I could go on with the idiocy but I think you get the

  • October 09, 2012 kenquito
    Report This User

    Was this SciFi or a dumb Horror movie ? The visuals were great but the rest of the movie was not good SciFi because too many protocols were broken. Good SciFi has some credibility but not here; poor weaponry or none at all in that the weaponry that in use by our military today in advanced tech. is far more advanced than the movie. For scientists these people acted like high school kids . Very poor direction so as to grab the true SciFi fan due to a lack of reality as to the actions of true scientists.

  • October 02, 2012 Viscocious
    Report This User

    You can tell it\'s leading to sequel. It\'s a good brain excersize. You need to watch it atleast twice to absorb it all. Best Sci-fi movie I;ve seen in a long time.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X