Skip to main content

reviews

28
Based on 27 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 25 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The real plague is the movie, a sci-fi hodgepodge of bad history and worse special effects. show more

  • 50
    Scott Bowles USA Today

    A mishmash of horror and history genres that's not as bad as its trailers but ultimately is dragged down by, of all things, its star. show more

  • 10
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Mr. Cage's knight ends up playing second banana to a digital devil. Welcome to the January dead zone. show more

  • 38
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Cage appears as a knight of the Crusades, slogging across the continents, slaying infidels and unbelievers and anyone else who gets in his way. There isn't a minute when it looks like he's having fun. show more

  • 20
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    At least "Witch" offers Perlman's easy, early-hominid charm, and a semi-suspenseful rickety-bridge scene. show more

  • 40
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Cage supplies energy but no depth in his portrayal of a disillusioned knight. Ditto that for Perlman, who never feels comfortable in the sidekick role so he pretty much goes through the (exaggerated) motions. show more

  • 55
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Season of the Witch is barely even a Nicolas Cage movie. He wanders through the picture, zombified. show more

  • 50
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    You know I am a fan of Nic Cage and Ron Perlman. Here, like cows, they devour the scenery, regurgitate it to a second stomach found only in actors and chew it as cud. It is a noble effort, but I prefer them in their straight-through Human Centipede mode. show more

  • 50
    Rick Groen The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    The pretty good stuff comes early, when Nic and Ron, weary of wasting women and children, suffer an attack of conscience and desert the Crusades. show more

  • 38
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    A movie that appears to have been shot entirely on leftover sets from "Monty Python and the Holy Grail." show more

  • September 23, 2011 cy00000000102345
    Report This User

    Could have been decent had they actually not decided to make her an evil demon.

  • July 05, 2011 brbgra7
    Report This User

    Season of the Witch was terrible--I paid 5.99 to view this movie on Pay Per View. Very disappointed in Nicholas Cage. I loved the Sorceer’s Apprentice and it was good. I love Nick Cage but keep making the good ones Ni

  • July 01, 2011 Mr. Baker
    Report This User

    What\'s happened to Nicholas Cage? Another terrible script with which he seems to be the least bit interested. This movie seems ro rewrite history, and that\'s always dangerous. All of those computer generated special effects are not at all believeable. No wonder this film was released in Japan of all places. Perhaps its our way of getting back for what happened at Pearl Harbor, Dec. 7, 1941. Ron Perlman and the others do as much with this script as they can be expected. I note that it cost about $40 million to make and brough in about $25 million. Go figure. .

  • March 12, 2011 sarabunio
    Report This User

    very interesting plot. cool movie.

  • February 25, 2011 sw33tduchesse
    Report This User

    Kept me at the edge of my seat the whole movie. Great acting and story.

  • February 11, 2011 OatleySamuel
    Report This User

    Season of the Witch, while not the greatest film around, certainly is not a terrible money waster. Nicholas Cage is perhaps the worst problem with the movie. He does the average "haunted hero" character with sleep inducing results. Ron Pearlman did pretty good as comic relief, but if you have ever seen "Hellboy", his drop from badass demon to womanizing and drinking knight seems unseemly. Stephen Campell Moore's portrayal as the priest who firmly believes the girl to be a witch is interesting, but hardly believeable. Claire Foy did the best portrayal in the movie as the accused witch. She pleads innocence, yet the viewer begins to doubt this. Her attractiveness is high enough, yet not to the point where she becomes the only memorable character of the movie. Stephen Graham is interesting, but his character really doesn't develop through the film. The film's beginning and middle are yawnful, but the twist ending turns this movie from a wannabe Lord of the Rings ripoff to a decent movie about evil witches. The box office results can be deceiving ( The film was kicked out of my local theater in less than 2 weeks and I was the only one to see it on its last showing), but if you like historically acurate tales of the Black Plaugue and witches, this is your movie.

  • January 30, 2011 pdavis5239
    Report This User

    More of a historical basis that most people understand.

  • January 28, 2011 CT8609164246
    Report This User

    SEE IT

  • January 27, 2011 Batata714
    Report This User

    Save your money, this DVD will be in the 2.99 movie box at Wal Mart in two weeks.

  • January 23, 2011 SoSCOUT 1
    Report This User

    what a joke, we saw the mic & boom at least 7 times !!! I could have recorded it better with my I phone !! don't waste your money or time !!!! Nic you should be ashamed & I like you !!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X