Skip to main content

reviews

74
Based on 39 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 47 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    In a summer of dumb, shameless drivel, Moore delivers a movie of robust mind and heart. You'll laugh till it hurts. show more

  • 100
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Sicko will scare people, and it probably should. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Highly entertaining and informative. show more

  • 70
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Lots of Sicko stands as boffo political theater, but its major domo lost me by losing his sense of humor. show more

  • 88
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    It is not a polemic but a plea. show more

  • 88
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Moore's most assured, least antagonistic and potentially most important film. show more

  • 90
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Michael Moore intelligently, comically and incisively diagnoses and calls for the treatment of a sick U.S. health care system. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    I have only one complaint, and it is this: Every American should be as fortunate as I have been. As Moore makes clear in his film, some 50 million Americans have no insurance and no way to get it. show more

  • 88
    Ty Burr Boston Globe

    Sicko is Moore's best, most focused movie to date -- much more persuasive than the enraged and self-righteous "Fahrenheit 9/11." show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Sicko doesn't formulate a way out of this heartless craps game we're playing. It is, however, a very entertaining position paper, and a reminder that we should do better by more of our citizenry. show more

  • February 27, 2012 skinbus33
    Report This User

    Having just seen this movie, I was so angered by it that I actually lost a night\'s sleep after seeing it. Even the day after, I\'m still angry enough to be fuming. As long as healthcare is for profit, nothing will change & our leaders in politics & medicine should be ashamed of how broken our system is. As usual, money is the motive. These people make me physically ill!

  • March 17, 2009 Grkkid75
    Report This User

    this is a shame the riches country and it doesnt have UNIVERSAL HEALTH CARE. FOR IT PEOPLE ... COUNRTIES LIKE CANADA , THE ENGLAND, FRENCE, AND OUT ALL COUNRTY CUBA.. WERE CUBA ALSO HAS THE BEST DOCTERS IN THE WORLD.. HOW CAN THAT ALL BE ... CUBA A POOR COUNRTY AND IT PUMPS OUT THOSE KIND OF DOCTERS ..... I THINK IT TIME THE POEPLE IN THE U.S.A. GET AND UP AND START TO VOICE THE ISSUES.... AND WE NEED TO NOT BE AFREAD OF YOUR COUNRTY....

  • February 07, 2009 devildog
    Report This User

    Did you know that veterans that are 100% disabled get free medical and dental care, is that socialism? One thing though, the veterans that don't have 100% have to pay for wounds that received while in the military. Or any other kind of treatment they need,

  • May 22, 2008 no1socer
    Report This User

    The best point made: America cannot be a good nation until we start caring for each other. Having been brain washed for decades about the fears of socialism really did damage to the betterment of our nation. Universal health care will not make anyone suffer....it's not what is it about. Funny how the best thing going for America is the military. I believe the point was made; if we can find money for war(especially one that isn't worth fighting) we can find money for free health care and maybe even free college education. (Free college is a dream from a middle class perspective... I'll have to worry about my health like so many others when something bad happens)

  • May 22, 2008 The Deels
    Report This User

    VERY TRUTHFULL MOVIE ! BEING A "FORMER" HEALTH CARE WORKER. I CAN TELL YOU THIS MOVIE GET IT THE REAL STORY. HOW THE AVERAGE CITIZEN IS RECEIVING HEALTH CARE UNFIT FOR A DEAD HORSE! ITS TIME FOR A TOTAL OVERHALL OF THIS FEASTING ON THE RIVING CORPSES TO BE OF THE SICK ! HIGHLY RECOMEND THIS TO ANY DOUGHTING TOMS!

  • May 22, 2008 Myles' AOL Info
    Report This User

    i cant find it in any theaters

  • May 22, 2008 stonelyons03
    Report This User

    My wife and I enjoy going to a show frequenty and not have to spend a lot of money. Now Beltway 6 has change its policy of giving free soda refills. Instead of getting a refill, you have to pay full price for another soda. This is an outrage and a hostile greedy policy towards patrons. Its not that I cant afford to pay, Its the principle of the matter. I hate being ripped off and taken unfair advantage of. The management of Beltway 6 should be ashamed of themselves for making such a policy. I hope more people read this and pressure Beltway 6 to change this abusive attitude towards its customers. As a result of my experience today, I will probably go there less often. When you start taking the "bargain" out of bargain movies, it is just as well to go to the first run movie theatres.

  • May 22, 2008 harborp
    Report This User

    NOW....we can see how our scumbag politicians take care of themselves.Our returning veterans, the poor respect and assistance they get from Corporate America is the next big scandal.Wait for this one...it WILL start a riot...

  • May 22, 2008 pmfloodman
    Report This User

    We should have junkets to Cuba for healthcare. And maybe have all medical students do at least a Semester there.Congress should just hire some of the Canadian people to come and start a healthcare system here. Money could come from all of the rich pigs who oppose reform.

  • May 22, 2008 Kimberly!
    Report This User

    Outstanding! Most people who take issue with Moore and his films have never seen his films. Reviewed the claims from the film and found Moore to be more credible than the CNN doctor. The most memorable moment in the film was the statement that the government of France is afraid of the people, whereas the American people are afraid of the government. Makes sense when one reads of very afraid Americans are to challenge authority.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X