Skip to main content

reviews

83
Based on 39 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 135 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    This Sweeney is a bloody wonder, intimate and epic, horrific and heart-rending as it flies on the wings of Sondheim's most thunderously exciting score. show more

  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    What looks good on paper contracts doesn't guarantee results. Stylized but spasmodic, this "Sweeney" seems more interested in distancing than captivating an audience. show more

  • 88
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Mesmerizing and highly entertaining. show more

  • 90
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    An elegant horror film, starring Johnny Depp and Helena Bonham Carter, that takes pleasure in its own theatricality, gives pleasure with caustic wit, trusts the power of Stephen Sondheim's score and exults in flights of fancy that only a movie can provide. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    With Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street, Tim Burton gives new meaning to the term "director's cut." show more

  • 75
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    Depp may not be a trained singer, but his voice is more than passable, and his presence - his Sweeney is Edward Scissorhands gone bad - is perfect. Bonham Carter sings well, too, and young Ed Sanders, as the pie shop's Dickensian apprentice, is a delight. show more

  • 90
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Teaming with Depp, his long-time alter ego, Burton makes Sweeney a smoldering dark pit of fury and hate that consumes itself. With his sturdy acting and surprisingly good voice, Depp is a Sweeney Todd for the ages. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Helena Bonham Carter may be Burton's inamorata, but apart from that, she is perfectly cast, not as a vulgar fishwife type but as a petite beauty with dark, sad eyes and a pouting mouth and a persistent fantasy that she and the barber will someday settle by the seaside. Not bloody likely. show more

  • 100
    Glenn Kenny Premiere

    The result is one of the odder and, certainly the most compelling of the short stream of Broadway-to-Hollywood transplants of recent years. The interweaving of the music and the visuals casts an unusual, restive spell of delight and unease. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Sweeney Todd may haunt you in ways you’re not used to with a movie musical. At least not since “Mame.” show more

  • January 06, 2012 hannahsmine
    Report This User

    it was great, as everything Depp does.

  • December 19, 2009 Lil mikey 1012
    Report This User

    im suree the play was an amazing peice of liturature because the movie was outstanding! The horror and the blood is very epic and eerie.. the soundtrack is magnificent! if u listen to the words, u'll find it very suspenseful and scary ,... and (spoiler alert) there are people who u do not expect to die, that die.... everyones evil; every character has there evilness in this movie;EVERY character, besides maybe 2 or 3, but every single character have evilness in them... i would defidently suggest this movie... OVERALL RATING - 9.7/10

  • September 29, 2009 Wmac212
    Report This User

    This is another great example of Tim Burton's work. Johnny Depp was really awesome. The rest of the actors that I can't name right were awesome to. I give this masterpiece of a film a really, really, REALLY strong 5 OUT OF 5!

  • January 29, 2009 SwimmrBrian3
    Report This User

    oh my god i loved the movie it is the best movie i ever saw i sing the song s all the time i sing them so much i make my fam. go crazy i whach it every night befor i go to bed my favoret part of the movie is when sweeney todd kills priells another part i love is when sweeney todd thows miss lovett in the oven than tobe kills mr todd so i lobe klove love this movie who ever has not seen it you should really take the time and whach i promse this will be the best movie you will ever see count on it ....................... im telling you to wach it you will love this movie pceeeeeeeeeeee=]

  • November 13, 2008 Arual888
    Report This User

    totaly agree, it should be the new rocky horror, johnny depp was the best. I have yet to hear anyone mention Hellen Bonham Carter, but she was also amazing. Mrs. Lovits is the best character in a movie in a long time, brilliant. Stellar pice of work, i deserves more reconition than it got from the oscars. This movie is sharp and smart and funny with fantastc direction from Tim Burton. I so wish i could see the stage version. Artistic and brilliant, ever single minute of it.

  • November 09, 2008 cjofthevine
    Report This User

    Love this movie...It should be the new cult movie. Audience participation would be very interesting!!! Johnny Depp is awesome in it!

  • August 16, 2008 Binka19
    Report This User

    I love this movie and the singing was GREAT!!!! I also enjoyed the Sweeney Todd play but it was not the same with Johnny Depp playing Sweeny.

  • July 29, 2008 SweeneyTodd5930
    Report This User

    This is my favorite movie. I dont know why so many people hated it. It was a fantastic work of art. It took me FOREVER to convince my mom to take me to see it in theatres. But i finally got her to do it. I didnt watch pretty much any of the graphic bloodiness and other deaths, even though i shouldve. But I read so much about it online and i read a bit too much about the ending. but even though i knew alot, it still surprised me. It was fantastic! Even though the ending was tragic, it was stupendous. I was so happy Johnny took the chance with singing. When i got the DVD i watched all the blood and i was surprised about how easy it was to watch. It has become my newest obsession. I even got tickets to see the actual play, which was also great, not as graphic of course, but awesome. I now have a bunch of sweeney merchandise and I think about it every day. It hit me harder than Phantom of the Opera or Wicked did. I love musicals obviously and even though this was a very odd movie, i loved every minute of it.

  • July 07, 2008 grndigrl
    Report This User

    Loved this movie even though they sing through the whole thing!!

  • July 01, 2008 eddoisnotashrimp
    Report This User

    I'm not an extremely queasy person. I do, however, have a phobia for neck slitting. The moment I see a knife start to break skin, I freak on the neck. I can look afterwards, though. In the case of Sweeney Todd, I covered my eyes for the gross scenes. No, I'm not a wimp. I faint easily. Lol. ANYWAY! I didn't want to see it at first because it was rated R for graphic bloody violence. That turned me away from it, but then my friend mentioned how much she loves it. She informed me it was a musical, gross, but interesting. I'm a musician, so I tend to navigate towards musicals. I looked at her picture book from the movie and saw Pirelli's slit neck and freaked.Finally, I mustered the strength to buy the DVD. I sat down and watched it. I fell in love with it. It's beautiful, really. Even the scenes I don't watch (bloody ones) I know are meant to be funny because of how the blood splurts out. Everyone I've ever watched it with has laughed at Johanna when Sweeney slits a bunch of throats and drops the people. I, however, cower under a cover for the 5 minute song. Haha... But it is a great movie, and I find it rather funny. Morbid, of course. I read the book, the original story of Sweeney Todd, so I got familiar with his original character before Sondheim changed him. People complain about Burton's Mrs. Lovett but I must say I prefer feeling sympathy for Mrs. Lovett. Angela Lansbury's performance is not one I'm particularly fond of. (I watched the staged version). Singing could have been stronger, but it really was a good movie. It's not for the faint of heart, but the blood looks fake. It isn't horribly graphic. With my phobia, I can tell you that I have little issue watching the last three neck slitting's of the movie, and Mrs. Lovett in the oven isn't hard to watch, either. The ending is tragic, but there couldn't have been a better ending. It was perfect for the story, though dramatic.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X