Skip to main content

reviews

68
Based on 40 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 14 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The movie comes at you in a whoosh, like a volcano of creative ideas in full eruption. show more

  • 100
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    Such are the timeless joys of the books (and now the movie), this sparkling absurdity and knack for buckling swash under the worst of circumstances. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The much-publicized collaboration between producer Peter Jackson and Spielberg sets high expectations. But while the technical artistry is there, the film lacks a sense of magic, intrigue and mystery. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    The motion-capture animation is spectacular..Yet the action grows wearisome as it grinds on, and the film becomes a succession of dazzling set pieces devoid of simple feelings. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    And if there's a problem with Tintin, it's that it's too big and booming. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The film is spectacularly constructed, from intimate closeups to dizzying chase scenes. But as is often the case with this format, the motion-capture animation feels weirdly lifeless. show more

  • 80
    The Hollywood Reporter

    A visually dazzling adaptation of the legendary – at least outside the US – comic book series by Belgian artist Herge. show more

  • 75
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Everything in The Adventures of Tintin is meticulous - this is a Steven Spielberg movie, after all. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    It evokes Saturday afternoon serials in an age when most of the audience will never have seen one. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed myself. show more

  • 88
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    Thankfully, Tintin is Spielberg at his most playful and unpretentious. show more

  • August 07, 2012 ro00000000128209
    Report This User

    Graphically it was phenomenal! Story could be better, but still a really cool flick. I would like to see a sequel.

  • August 04, 2012 ev00000000127776
    Report This User

    The graphic of this movie is amazing, love it so much. the movie was ok. www.moviezya.com

  • May 01, 2012 uv00000000122701
    Report This User

    Optimal story of adventure that recalls the old and great stories of TinTin, optimal choice to do in animation, excellent visual effects, the positive aspect of the film is due to the accelerated excelent scenes adventures and creative sense of humor and great to the scenes, downside is for the development of the story that ******* and uncreative.

  • March 27, 2012 dayday301998
    Report This User

    I\'ve probably seen this movie about 15 times on my iPad after buying it on iTunes and it still hasn\'t gotten old. The 3D and realness of the characters is amazing and how it felt like he was in the 1940\'s with the cars, the inventions, even Sakarines goons looked like mobsters! The Thom(p)sons were hilarious and me and my friend who saw this move with me call each other that as our nicknames, theyre historical! The story, plot, dialogue was great and suspensful, which never left your bored but able to catch your breathe. Additionally, they made TinTin pretty good looking in this movie! 5 stars all the way, I hope everyone, even people who haven\'t heard of TinTin or Herge before this movie will love it whole heatedly :D.

  • January 22, 2012 Xenia
    Report This User

    Grew up reading the books multiple times and thought I would be annoyed that it hardly followed the story, but I wasn\'t. Enjoyable. Didn\'t see it in 3D but I can imagine it probably looks great. Good for *********** for all the whisky-enchanced stupors -- that part was semi-consistent with the book! Does they plan to produce films of more of the stories? The way all the details from different albums was mixed in and jumbled together in this film seems to not bode well for much future authenticity. Ah well, maybe someone down the line will get it right....

  • January 07, 2012 awizardwoo
    Report This User

    Herge Was correct spellberg captures the essance of the comic strip.

  • January 01, 2012 limir678
    Report This User

    the best movie i ever saw in my life i love tintin.

  • January 01, 2012 ul00000000109562
    Report This User

    Really fun and adventurous! Very close to the comics ;)

  • December 29, 2011 rfranzone
    Report This User

    From a technology POV, this was amazing. That\'s was it for me. Despicable Me was way better than this movie. It did not grab me and take me for an adventure at all. I see that Peter Jackson was one of the producers. If it is the LOTR Jackson, I can see why it felt too long and boring. And they are going to make a second adventure...Then name it, \"Adventures of Bleh Bleh!

  • December 29, 2011 id00000000110089
    Report This User

    Absolutely brilliant movie, and a fantastic cinematic translation of the books. Spielberg clearly knows, and loves, the original. I think there may be a pretty broad divide in audience reaction, unfortunately, between those familiar with Herge\'s comic strip and those (e.g., all the disgruntled folks below) who are not. Spielberg has perfectly captured the tongue-in-cheek humor, the wonderfully improbably coincidences, the hair\'s-breadth escapes, the nail-biting danger-without-consequence. Alas, these ingredients may fly under the radar for those not attuned to this French cartoon version of Roger Moore. (At the showing I was at, on the other hand, there was a woman and her young son sitting behind me. The latter was familiar with Tintin already, but the the mother not, and she seemed to get even more of a bang out of it than he, which gives me some fleeting hope that the movie will not be doomed for its subtlety, taste and intelligence.)

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X