Skip to main content

reviews

39
Based on 35 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 56 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    No matter Bateman and Reynolds make The Change-Up seem a lot better than it is. Each earns a star in my review. The movie would be literally nothing without them. show more

  • 50
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    The film is often funny and even more frequently vulgar, exploiting every last chance for raunch in the full-chassis exchange of two grown men. The only thing missing: male nudity. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    The Change-Up should have fired on all cylinders. What went wrong here? show more

  • 10
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Let's give this ghastly studio comedy a Truthiness in Advertising award, if nothing else. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Like the kids in detention, The Change-Up wants to offend your sensibilities. It sets new records for scatological humor and profanity. show more

  • 40
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The Change-Up bravely attempts to revive the dormant subgenre but it's a lame effort that grows increasingly frantic and foul-mouthed as the realization sets in that the gimmick isn't working. show more

  • 20
    Ian Buckwalter NPR

    The Change-Up's spin on the material transplants the same old house on a crumbled foundation, trying to disguise its creaky familiarity with the gaudiest coat of paint possible. show more

  • 40
    Michelle Orange Movieline

    Tainted by a script (by Jon Lucas and Scott Moore) so risibly broad it makes "Wedding Crashers" look like Bergman in the Hamptons. show more

  • 63
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    If I must watch two men not be gay together for the 300th time this summer, those men should be Jason Bateman and Ryan Reynolds. show more

  • 63
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    Distilled to its basics, it's little more than a sit-com that has been tarted up with scenes of projectile poop, odd sexual fetishes, and knife wielding babies. It all seems a little tired and, more importantly, not as funny as it should be. show more

  • November 16, 2012 nl00000000132980
    Report This User

    2 thumbs

  • February 17, 2012 aw00000000112866
    Report This User

    Awesome

  • December 02, 2011 mirysma
    Report This User

    This movie was an excuse for gratuitous female nudity that didn\'t serve to make the plot any more interesting. As a woman, T and A doesn\'t make me find a movie more enjoyable, and actually only alienates me since there was no male nudity throughout the entirety. The two main characters exhibited nothing but selfish behavior until the last five minutes of the movie, making them totally unlikeable. I\'m glad I didn\'t waste my money at the theater on this one!

  • November 20, 2011 spyke12324
    Report This User

    Amazing Movie Don\'t listen to the critics has something for everyone funny, inspirational and an all together good movie.

  • September 04, 2011 Meshi
    Report This User

    == w w w ( y a h c c ) u s === A new season, In our website can be found in many cheap thing, fashion for your choice. Your charm start from here, welcome to our website: == w w w ( y a h c c ) u s === Dedicated service, the new style, The new update, a large hot == w w w ( y a h c c ) u s === == w w w ( y a h c c ) u s ===

  • August 30, 2011 tea24cher
    Report This User

    I loved it! I could really relate to the family aspects. My husband was laughing too! I didnt need all of the curse words but I really felt the movie. I laughed most of the movie. What a great stress relief!

  • August 27, 2011 yf00000000100376
    Report This User

    this movie sucks just because a women takes her shirt off doesnt mean im supposed to roll on the floor laughing this should be the motto for the movie:FLOPPY ****

  • August 24, 2011 Bo
    Report This User

    Was ok, could have waited for it to come out on video or cable.

  • August 23, 2011 jbdlawyer
    Report This User

    Wow- it\'s hard to ever say Hollywood has reached a new low- they keep amazing us! I counted 58 F-bombs in the movie.. I may have missed some.Public urination showing everything except (thankfully) the male penises- does show \"flow\", in front of a crowd of people including youngsters and girls scouts which makes the nudity ,porn scene (it was only light porn, after all) and projectile poop on Bateman\'s face, and yes in his mouth, seem almost tame by comparison. Usual stupid plot - waste of time and money. DO NOT GO TO THIS MOVIE!

  • August 22, 2011 judygutie
    Report This User

    I thought it was horrible. If you like the F____ word used regularly and boobs displayed regularly, then you would like this movie. Had funny parts, but definitely not a good movie.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X