Skip to main content

reviews

28
Based on 10 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 28 )
  • 30
    Frank Scheck The Hollywood Reporter

    Playing somewhat like a juvenile version of "Rosemary's Baby," this inept, incoherent attempt to cash in on young girls who can't buy a ticket to the R-rated "Saw V" (or are too lazy to sneak in) will be out of theaters long before the Halloween pumpkins start to rot. show more

  • 50
    Boston Globe

    Molly Hartley is dull at worst and surprisingly spooky at best. show more

  • 38
    TV Guide

    Horror of the glossiest, safest kind. It's a boring bubblegum shocker that loses its flavor faster than Fruit Stripes. show more

  • 11
    Marc Savlov Austin Chronicle

    The real shocker is how hellishly yawn-inducing this utterly pointless and forgettable Haunting turns out to be. It's enough to make you scream. show more

  • 42
    Entertainment Weekly

    The story's a snooze, so the filmmakers punch it up with smash cuts and thunderclaps that turn the most laughably banal items -- birds, mail, an alarm clock -- into cheap jack-in-the-box shocks. show more

  • 50
    Jeannette Catsoulis The New York Times

    Tame and inoffensive, The Haunting of Molly Hartley is no more than a big-screen lasso for the "Gossip Girl" and "Supernatural" demographic. show more

  • 50
    Variety

    This softcore thriller runs strictly by the numbers. show more

  • 40
    Los Angeles Times

    A dead-on-arrival thriller that resolutely fails to come to life. show more

  • 10
    L.A. Weekly

    From Freestyle Releasing, the self-service distributor that brought you "D-War" and "In the Name of the King: A Dungeon Siege Tale," comes a movie even worse than those two combined. show more

  • 33
    Keith Phipps The A.V. Club

    It's a horror film better suited for skittish cats than humans. show more

  • September 23, 2011 alyssheart12
    Report This User

    I really loved this movie. I felt the plot was twisted and intriguing. It\'s definitely one of my favorites :)

  • July 02, 2009 haleyhales97
    Report This User

    i thought it was going to be really scary but it turned out to be a snooze! i didnt really get the end though. it was kinda confusing!!!!!

  • March 26, 2009 Paul Preister
    Report This User

    this movie inplied that the devil is more powerful than god, which is NOT TRUE!!! lame.

  • March 20, 2009 GossipQueen531
    Report This User

    I honesltey liked this movie, but i didnt get this ending at all. Was she okay at the end? What was wrong with her dad? Was this all in her dad's head? Did she turn over to the dark side? I dont know, i was just rele confused. Can someone please explain this movie to me because i rele want to get it?..lol Also, who was in the beginign of the movie, was that her mom? I dont recommend this movie because it was rele hard to follow. I mean i wtached this with 4 of my firneds and neither of us got it...idk its just rele confusing.

  • March 12, 2009 DANCERMB10
    Report This User

    good in the beggining at the end was terrible it was lik the worst ending ever it ruined a good movie

  • March 10, 2009 ShaneyLocke
    Report This User

    i just watched this movie and i found it very disturbing. Not from the whole scary concept... just the plot of the movie and the conclusion how she ends up perfectly fine really threw in a black hole. good movie. not great

  • January 31, 2009 Megrocks9
    Report This User

    waste of my money. i sat throug the whole thing wondering when something scary was going to happen

  • November 22, 2008 Taylor xo0 Lee
    Report This User

    well i think it was simply delightful ! :]

  • November 18, 2008 gymnast16xo
    Report This User

    this movie was simply horrible. i invited my friend to it and i felt really bad i made her sit though all of it. it wasn't scary at all and it was boring with a stupid plot. 0 stars!!

  • November 16, 2008 Green44lizard
    Report This User

    This movie was utterly horrible. I sat through the entire movie thinking when is this going to be over.

`

similar movies

  • The Unborn (2009)

  • The Messengers (2007)

  • The Exorcism of Emily Rose (2005)

  • The Eye (2008)

  • The Rite (2011)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X