Skip to main content

reviews

50
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 48 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    In Portman's dynamic performance you can see strength and vulnerability warring for Anne's soul. In this bedroom view of history, it's that image that sticks. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    An enjoyable movie with an entertaining angle on a hard-to-resist period of history. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Can't quite figure out what it wants to be. At times it strains to be a stately period drama about 16th-century political intrigue. Then it devolves into soap opera muck and emerges as a rather tame bodice ripper. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    After covering much of its ground at a stylish canter, The Other Boleyn Girl finishes at a plod. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    Feels less like an epic drama about power and the power of love than an episode of a Masterpiece Theatre mini-series. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Chadwick builds a brisk pace and sweeping scope that initially grab our interest. But this Anne's sole motivations are sex and greed, and the wild rumors that were designed to destroy her are treated here as gospel. show more

  • 60
    Ray Bennett The Hollywood Reporter

    Shot in high definition and filmed at many historic locations, the film somehow still lacks the splendor of an epic, and its urgency to get on with the next plot point leaves much unexplained while context goes out the window. show more

  • 75
    James Berardinelli ReelViews

    The result is an entertainingly sudsy trip through early 16th century English history. show more

  • 63
    Chicago Tribune

    Eric Bana doesn’t have much to do as Henry VIII except play the monarch as an overgrown spoiled brat. He is, however, awfully nice to look at. show more

  • 63
    Maitland McDonagh TV Guide

    It's a terrific showcase for battling Boleyn babes Scarlett Johansson and Natalie Portman. show more

  • January 29, 2010 Jess9695
    Report This User

    I thoguht it was dramatic, heartbreaking, everything a movie should be

  • December 31, 2009 silverescence04
    Report This User

    I don't know about you guys, but i actually read the entire book and found it fascinating. if the movie is very much like the book, then it should be just as good.

  • August 15, 2009 OneWayOnlyJesus
    Report This User

    In our opinion the movie was boring and long and we agree with user:seaside breeze x's review that it was more like a soap-opera. We felt absolutely nothing for the characters because they were a bunch of self-serving despots. It was really depressing to watch such a useless story about useless lives. The acting was fine except for Eric Bana's performance... ugh.

  • January 13, 2009 robbie61987
    Report This User

    What are you all sick? This was the most repulsive movie ever made, those girls were sold like call girls to a pimp.

  • January 03, 2009 mattsci
    Report This User

    I really enjoyed the entire movie. Not sure why it got dismissed so quickly.

  • July 25, 2008 SallieB58
    Report This User

    This is NOT a historically correct film in any sense. The novel was part conjecture and some fiction itself but this was WAY over the top! AWFUL---AWFUL---the characters are extremely underdeveloped...I could go on and on but............................:

  • July 12, 2008 Supergram80744
    Report This User

    Not nearly what it could have been . The book ., although fictional in part was so much mor einteresting. The characters so much more interesting. This movie could have been a great film if the book were followed more. I was very disappointed.

  • June 13, 2008 TMVance128
    Report This User

    Loved it! Thought it was a very entertaining movie and would definetly watch it again. I have read other comments that the girls should have played the other ones character. I don't agree with that. It would not have had the same impact that it gave with Natalie as "Anne" if she hadn't looked so frail and would not have been the same if Scarlett had played Anne, Getting the performance out of Natalie as Anne with such vicious force for her size was great to watch. And Scarlett played Mary so kind and gentle but she was actually the "strong" one of the two girls. OVerall I really liked this movie.

  • May 22, 2008 farmergirl58
    Report This User

    This is a very historically correct film. The costumes are fantastic and the acting is wonderful. Natalie Portman is awesome and Scarlett does an excellent job as the "other Bolyn" girl. Scenery is divine - tragic story but wonderful ending!

  • May 22, 2008 jenij02
    Report This User

    I thought this movie was pretty good but I have to agree with some of the other reviews that scarlett and natalie should have played each others roles. I thought they both did a good job though. I bought the book after I saw the movie because so many reviews said the book was better.

`

similar movies

  • The Duchess (2008)

  • Marie Antoinette (2006)

  • The Young Victoria (2009)

  • Her Majesty, Mrs. Brown (1997)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X