Skip to main content

reviews

64
Based on 29 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 14 )
  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    If you like this sort of movie - and actually, cards on the table, I like this kind of movie - you will not be sorry you saw it. But you will not come away from the experience feeling that you've seen Victoria, young or otherwise. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Once you get past the fact that lovely Emily Blunt doesn't look anything like the dour historical pictures of Britain's longest-reigning monarch, The Young Victoria is an appealing and well-crafted, if staid, portrait of a fascinating ruler. show more

  • 75
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    If the film itself isn't brilliant, its star most definitely is. show more

  • 70
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The film does look beautiful, and there's enough intrigue to inspire anyone to learn more about such a complex, fascinating life. It just would have been nice to see a little more of that complexity onscreen. show more

  • 70
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Emily Blunt, one of the best and most glamorous actresses to come out of England in recent years, makes an unusual but highly successful choice for the young Victoria. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Emily Blunt makes Victoria as irresistible a young woman as Dame Judi Dench made her an older one in "Mrs. Brown" (1997). show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    The Young Victoria achieves a fine balance. I guess that's what you get when a film is produced by both Martin Scorsese and Sarah Ferguson. show more

  • 75
    Ann Hornaday Washington Post

    A sumptuous period drama. show more

  • 75
    Mike Scott New Orleans Times-Picayune

    As engrossing as The Young Victoria is, this isn't a movie that will stay with you very long. Mostly that's because Blunt's character does little by way of evolving. show more

  • 63
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    A nice set of drapes and a striking ballgown or two are not enough to provide this interesting love story any serious heft or insight. show more

  • December 28, 2011 lonafirst
    Report This User

    TOTALLY ABSORBING, ACTORS EXCELLENT, AND AS A BONUS SOME INSIGHT INTO EUROPE, ITS RULERS, PRE-THE GREAT WAR. A FILM ONE CAN VIEW REPEATEDLY TO UNDERSTAND THE INTIMATE CONNECTIONS BETWEEN PERSONAL AND NATIONAL RELATIONSHIPS IN AN AGING CONTINENT

  • March 25, 2011 Susanwilensky
    Report This User

    Lovely engaging movie

  • November 23, 2010 Mark Heithaus07
    Report This User

    Okay, I know a few of these reviews aren't good, and I suppose I can see someone unfamiliar with the history of the time period and political intrigues being a little like "what's going on?" The purpose of this movie is explicitly the developing love between Victoria and Albert. It is not meant to be a full history lesson. With that said... I LOVED IT! I am a history major, and had read plenty about Victoria and Albert, and all the political intrigues ranging from relations to other Royals to the troubles in British-Victorian India. As a history major I am well aware that there were slight poetic licenses taken, but the movie was true to the heart of the reality! There was great acting, and the film really delivered!!

  • March 07, 2010 bridgettvallery
    Report This User

    Loved Emily Blunt in this movie. What a beautiful young actress!! She is developing her acting style wonderfully with each movie she makes. The costumes and makeup was excellent. After watching this movie, it made me go home to check the history online for Queen Victoria. Hers and Prince Albert's love story is facinating. The movie was so very close to the history records.

  • February 13, 2010 Acivilwar
    Report This User

    Acivilwar Very well written, filmed and acted. Truly a two handkerchief movie. Terrific early nineteenth century setting, great close-up filming which helped show the emotions of the actors. Even two really despicable "bad-guys." Blunt and Friend were amazingly believeable. I'll see it again. Great for any age.

  • February 12, 2010 Xsonza
    Report This User

    Emily Blunt was the one thing that shines in this (what felt like) a better-than-average BBC costume tv drama. I think because of the small-scale of the movie and some of its historical inaccuracies(i.e. Prince Albert was never shot during that carriage ride), the Oscars didn't give Emily her due. I love the scene when the dying King William insults her abusive mother (the Duchess of Kent) at his lavish birthday party....Blunt was able to portray a whole range of emotions that was restrained and transparent at the same time....it was pure Oscar nomination material for ************* this film for her performance.

  • February 05, 2010 Dave
    Report This User

    Outstanding the casting was excellent

  • February 02, 2010 JushiBuruBeri
    Report This User

    I have written my review and posted it twice, ******** not showing up so hopefully 3rd time's the charm. I was very disappointed in this movie thinking it would be anywhere near the caliber of The Duchess. There is a lot more to a movie than just pretty scenery and frilly costumes, or maybe my standards are just too high (note sarcasm). I did not feel the chemistry between the two leading characters. I do think that Emily Blunt did a wonderful and believable job in her roll as Q. Victoria, but I wouldn't be talking about Oscars by any means. The storyline was extremely piecemeal. This tactic adds interest and intrigue to the right movie, but it did not work here and was totally unnecessary. Although this film is supposed to focus on the young love story, I was a bit disturbed that the achievements of Victorian Era were summed up in 2 black-and-white sentences at the end of the film. Also, there were angry mobs and assassination attempts, but no explanation as to the political climate at the time. My friend kept leaning over and asking me if I understood what was going on, and I did not. She did not like the movie, and I felt bad for choosing it. Wait for this to come out on DVD. It just wasn't that good.

  • January 27, 2010 Margaret Opine
    Report This User

    JUST GREAT, LOTS OF HOPE AND HAPPINESS, SEE THIS MOVIE . WELL DONE, WELL PERFORMED

  • January 26, 2010 lfrail7
    Report This User

    My favorite movie of all time! Beautiful scenery, gorgeous colors, historical content, but the love of Queen Victoria and Prince Albert is absolutely heart gripping...to have such a love is the ache of the human heart. It put into human portrayal that tender, trusting, pure self-giving love that only Christ gives to us in our love relationship with Him. A must see movie, I have seen it two times...will buy the DVD when it becomes available!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X