Skip to main content

reviews

63
Based on 32 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 25 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    The tricky thing about parody movies is that the jokes get old fast and they're hit-and-miss. Walk Hard, a spoof of every musical biopic from "Ray" to "Walk the Line," is guilty on both counts. How lucky that when the jokes do hit, they kick major ass. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    For pure, uncomplicated enjoyment, it's the movie to see right now. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    If you want to escape all the deadly serious fare of this pre-awards season, run to Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story.Why? Cox rocks. This rowdy spoof of music biopics is silly fun and often hilarious. show more

  • 63
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    While it might not have the laughs-per-minute ratio of the "Naked Gun" movies (but then, what does?), it is a reliable titter generator for boomers and their echo boomlings. show more

  • 75
    Jack Mathews New York Daily News

    This kind of parody is hard to sustain for an hour and a half, and "Walk Hard" does gets wearying at times. But the humor is so outrageous, the original music so much fun and Reilly so good - both while hamming it up in the role and in singing the songs - that it's irresistible. show more

  • 80
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    A pitch-perfect musical comedy that at long last moves the talented John C. Reilly up the billing ladder from second banana to top banana. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Reilly is required to walk a tightrope; is he suffering or kidding suffering, or kidding suffering about suffering? That we're not sure adds to the appeal. show more

  • 75
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    The first 30 or so minutes of Walk Hard: The Dewey Cox Story condense the entire Hollywood biopic genre into a sweet chewable tablet. It's the Flintstones vitamin of spoofs. show more

  • 63
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The tunes are so good, you can’t believe the film itself doesn’t amount to more, especially with the rightness of the casting. Still, a few laughs are better than none. show more

  • 63
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    I loved both "Walk the Line" and "Ray," but it will be hard to watch either one with a straight face again after the skewering they get in this Judd Apatow production, which quotes scene after scene to hilarious effect. show more

  • June 11, 2011 janetb127
    Report This User

    Very clever ,I enjoyed ********* like a neo-Spinal Tap.

  • December 31, 2008 Barbara Blackman
    Report This User

    Loved it!

  • August 29, 2008 Laura
    Report This User

    dude, I thought it was hilarious. "It made fun of Walk The Line" Oh, come on. DUH! It's a satire....... geez. I thought it was a super good movie. and like nodoubt001 said. There was a ton of naked men in the movie and everyone flips out but no one gets upset when they put naked chicks in movies. You need to chill. I laughed like crazy in this movie. I saw this movie before I say Walk The Line so Walk the Line was all boring. lol =P

  • July 28, 2008 Soaringsoulangel
    Report This User

    This movie was a waste of time,talent and money. It copyed the Walk The Line Movie. Which is a fav of mine. It made fun of The Man in Black. Tasteless I rate this movie a ZERO.

  • May 22, 2008 jeppydog07
    Report This User

    What a waste of time and money! I love comedies, but I'm going to keep a list of the names of the people who made this movie in my wallet so I don't make the mistake of seeing a movie that any of these people had anything to do with. Total garbage. Amazing actors wasted with no story, no funny lines and no songs you've ever heard before, so you can't even get into the music. Really hard to sit through. The worst movie by far that I've ever seen. 2 sixth graders could write a better, funnier movie in a couple of hours.

  • May 22, 2008 nodoubt001
    Report This User

    I never watched this movie before, but with the way you guys act when you see naked men, i just have to say grow up, stop acting like everything has to be your way!!!! naked girls are always thrown in movies how many times? thousands!! So shut up and realize maybe women have gone though seeing nude women in cinema movies 95% to mens 5% and they didnt like it, for the most part didnt complain about it, naked women shouldnt be more exceptable in movies it should be equal, you insecure men, complaining about nude men( like your gonna die) make me sick

  • May 22, 2008 hunter121588
    Report This User

    I thought the movie was witty with a lot of funny scenes. It was a creative film that is just like any other movies such as anchorman and ricky bobby. I saw it a second time and would see it a third time if someone i knew wanted to go see it. The music is good and Jenna Fischer is a babe in this movie. Go see it for yourself because it really does depend on the person.

  • May 22, 2008 famousbug
    Report This User

    Worst movie I've seen. I love John Reilly, he's a great actor, but this wasn't the vehicle. Really very boring.

  • May 22, 2008 JJYankeesFan2
    Report This User

    Don't listen to these idiots on here that are not secure enough in their masculinity. The "full male frontal" nudity that grossed several dudes out on here....comprises a grand total of about THREE SECONDS of the movie! The rest is a rather bland but often "silly funny" spoof. It's good mindless entertainment but no the kind of "laugh till your stomach hurts" movie like a Wedding Crashers or 40 Year Old Virgin.

  • May 22, 2008 kyddet07
    Report This User

    Made for a decidedly juvenile audience which preys on those who are enjoy the parody genre. It's a rowdy spoof of music biopics which has its silly and funny moments. This movie is humorous but definitely not funny even though it has a few laughable spots. I would not suggest this movie to friends, even though there is big money pushing its promotion. I give it about a 55 out of a 100 scale.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X