Skip to main content

reviews

90
Based on 38 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 24 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Winter's Bone is unforgettable. It means to shake you, and does. show more

  • 100
    Amy Biancolli San Francisco Chronicle

    This is one helluva drama, with one helluva star turn by Jennifer Lawrence as Ree. show more

  • 100
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Every so often a film gets under our skin with its haunting authenticity, reinforcing our faith in the wonderfully transporting power of cinematic storytelling. Winter's Bone is unquestionably that film. show more

  • 100
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    Spectacular for its humanity, austere beauty and heart-stopping urgency. show more

  • 88
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    It's been a long time since a film has conveyed a culture, and a sense of place, with such telling precision. At the same time, Winter's Bone thrums with suspense. show more

  • 60
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Amid all the hokey hill stuff, Lawrence's hard eyes and manner draw us in. show more

  • 70
    John DeFore The Hollywood Reporter

    Grim backwoods tale takes its time building momentum. show more

  • 70
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Debra Granik's Winter's Bone is one of those movies -- like last year's inner-city down-a-thon, "Precious" -- that can't quite make a distinction between profundity and plain old bleakness. show more

  • 85
    Ella Taylor NPR

    On its face, Winter's Bone, like "Down to the Bone," is a bleakly realist drama about a community decimated by poverty and hopelessness, yet bound together by deep ties of class, gender and blood. show more

  • 100
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    The movie heroes who affect me most are not extroverted. They don't strut, speechify and lead armies. They have no superpowers. They are ordinary people who are faced with a need and rise to the occasion. Ree Dolly is such a hero. show more

  • November 24, 2012 bbr1039
    Report This User

    Jennifer Lawrence amazing and Johnn Hawks truly becomes his character..This was the best movie I saw in years too bad I missed it in theaters but thank g-d for dvd\'s Brosen BPC NY

  • May 17, 2011 candice
    Report This User

    Wonderful movie, the characters are so real you can believe them, the attmosphere is right on target, the pace is superb. The lead actress did an incredible job, I am so impressed with her performance that I can not wait to see the next movie she is in. Overall, well done, one of my favorite movies ever.

  • February 02, 2011 stahstah
    Report This User

    I saw this movie on a recommendation not knowing anything about it. Afterwards, I said I'm no critic but this should be nominated for best picture and Jennifer and John should also. A few days later their nominations were announced. It has been a very long time since a movie sucked me in and I thought I was there. The story line is incidental. It's the characters and dialogue that grab you. The fact that you think they just used hillbillys is a credit to their performances. If they were hillbillys, they were damn good. It's got my vote for best picture. Oh, that's right, I don't have a vote.

  • January 25, 2011 telltailcockers
    Report This User

    The worst movie I've ever seen is now nominated for an academy award. I accidentally clicked on it to watch by mistake. So boring & just stupid stupid! You've GOT to be kidding me???!!!

  • January 19, 2011 Tmmytomato
    Report This User

    Very well done and casted perfectly with many regional actors and locals involved. Being familiar with the area, the settings were depicted accurately and the photography draws you into the mood. The minimal dialogue and pointed body and facial expressions proves that often less is more. I would definitely recommend this movie.

  • November 15, 2010 Blondefox1079
    Report This User

    This is a wonderful movie..im from the Ozarks of Missouri and this movie was as real as it gets when it comes to life in Missouri..made me miss home so much..

  • October 28, 2010 GeorgeGray9401
    Report This User

    This is one of the worst films made. I think they did this movie in west virginia and used the hillbillys there for the actors. What a joke who ever gave this movie a good review must be on drugs or paid to lie. I will never trust this site for a review again. please don't waist your money on this film i will give you mine it sucked !!!

  • August 15, 2010 TwoThree140
    Report This User

    Good acting for the most part. Depressing subject. What was the point of making this motion picture.

  • August 08, 2010 NMessner
    Report This User

    I just came out of Winter's Bone. It was a haunting, chilling movie about a society most of us know nothing of. I think it should have an Academy award. Jennifer Lawrence is very, very good.

  • August 05, 2010 Cjsismoon
    Report This User

    I just walked out of "Winter's Bone" when the young lady was beaten and awoke to spit out her bloody teeth....I found this movie appalling...I am no sheltered chick.... to pay to see such ugly people is, I would call it, to be robbed....

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X