Skip to main content

reviews

56
Based on 33 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 24 )
  • 75
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Naughty and nice is a killer-hard combo to pull off. Stick with Rogen and Banks. They rock it. show more

  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    Along with the awkward romantic exchanges that always seem to find their way into Smith's movies, there's also a sweetness that you don't often see in films that average multiple f-words per minute. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Longs to be a smutty film with a heart of gold. Instead, it's a funny concept whose execution does not live up to its potential. show more

  • 30
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    It's really dumb, even though it starts promisingly and continues, in a self-infatuated way, to consider itself quite bright. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    By the halfway mark, Rogen's performance, like his voice, is less cuddly than grating, and the carbonated giggle that is Elizabeth Banks grows flat. This one's for the Smith cultists. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    The moments when "Z&M" works are, almost without exception, the ones that are more sweet than shocking. All the rest, frankly, feel like Apatow Lite. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Despite shortcomings and implausibility linked to their roles as written, Rogen and Banks come off with surprising charm and grace. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Seth Rogen and Elizabeth Banks make a lovable couple; she's pretty and goes one-for-one on the bleep language, and Rogen, how can I say this, is growing on me, the big lug. show more

  • 75
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    Zack and Miri has a bright, chipper look to it, thanks to cinematographer Dave Klein, a frequent Smith colleague. Wintertime in Pittsburgh never looked so good. show more

  • 75
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    Smith's funniest, sharpest and most polished movie to date. It also is his most mature and emotionally engaging picture, even if it happens to contain one of the grossest sight gags I've ever encountered in a mainstream Hollywood film. show more

  • March 18, 2009 Leo
    Report This User

    Hey KA from SO CAL. DID YOU HAPPEN TO READ THE TITLE TO THE MOVIE? LMAO!

  • November 29, 2008 joezsexycatman
    Report This User

    i have a cat my cat is orange HIS NAME IS GUSTOPHER G WILKINS and i like to watch zach and miri and whoever whatever PORN. never seen it but whateva whateva i do what i want

  • November 14, 2008 Bruce
    Report This User

    I love movies. They are one of America's great treasures. But I gotta tell you, this was the worst movie that I have ever seen. Seth Rogen is so homely and his mouth looks like a muppet's. The plot was ridiculous. The characters lame and undeveloped and it just wasn't funny. I truly believe that Rogen makes these movies just to get laid and the joke is on us. You'll just love the big wanger that's if full sight. I have had a better time getting a flu shot. Can you say waste of money???

  • November 10, 2008 Tanya
    Report This User

    Kavack you have absolutely no reason to bring POLITICS into this MOVIE review. Good grief. Get over yourself.

  • November 10, 2008 BrewMan07
    Report This User

    This Movie Was Great. I Went and Saw this All My Friends and We Couldnt Stop Laughing. It was A NONSTOP Riot

  • November 09, 2008 BigBeautifulMoms
    Report This User

    I loved this movie! I laughed from start to end, and caught myself giggling about some of it later in the day. Yes, it has sexual scenes in it, hence the title Zack and Miri Make a Porn. We're talking Seth Rogan, and Kevin Smith here, not John Malkovich and Steven Soderburg (sp) Several people got up and walked out BEFORE any "porno" scenes, few more left during a "porno" scene. If you cannot laugh at silly/stupid things then don't go see this flick. There is a lot of "*******" aka sex, a lot of swearing, with a twinge of reality kicked in for good measure. Be sure to stay until after the credits roll to see how Zack and Miri's lives "really" turned out. I hate when people forget to let others know that there is anything after the credits roll.

  • November 09, 2008 schena
    Report This User

    The idea of two friends making a porno has a lot of potential. The movie failed to meet expectations. long periods of time that are awkward and not funny.

  • November 08, 2008 Kavack
    Report This User

    As a word from someone who hasn't seen the movie. Its hard to tell if some of you didn't like it just because they said "dirty words" or the "nudity" offended you too much. Frankly, I like both if used in context with a good story line. So, if you are easily offended by "dirty talk and nudity" please don't comment on this movie. Look at the title of the movie and realize what you are going to see and if you are on the Right Wing of the Repulican Party (and destroyed it) please don't leave a comment here.

  • November 08, 2008 RedDragonIV
    Report This User

    The worst movie I ever attempted to watch. I left mid movie it was SOOO bad. Just foul language every other word and not much sex going on. If this is the new standard for movies our society is really in big trouble. NOT FUNNY at all. Just trash. Save your money on this one.

  • November 08, 2008 KA from SO CAL
    Report This User

    It was either watch this movie or put a gun to my head, but I couldn't decide which side to do it on, so I unfortunately decided to watch the movie instead...if you can call it that. Profane, vulgar, PLENTY of nudity. Definitely deserved far more than an R. Yes, sometimes very funny. A sorry excuse for a big screen movie.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X