The CW wasted no time in the new year, giving early renewals to seven primetime series just a few days into 2017. At the Television Critics Association Press Tour over the weekend, network president Mark Pedowitz announced 2017-2018 season renewals for these shows:

• "Arrow" (Season 6)

• "Crazy Ex-Girlfriend" (Season 3)

• "DC's Legends of Tomorrow" (Season 3)

• "The Flash" (Season 4)

• "Jane the Virgin" (Season 4)

• "Supergirl" (Season 3)

• "Supernatural" (Season 13)

Specific premiere dates will be announced later. And this list is not meant to reflect the entirety of The CW's 2017-2018 schedule -- they're just the early birds catching the freshest new year worms.

Here's a press release statement from The CW president:

"Over the past several seasons, The CW has built a schedule of proven performers, from our lineup of DC superheroes, to critically acclaimed comedies, to sci-fi dramas. Early pickups of these seven series now allow our producers to plan ahead for next season, and gives us a solid base to build on for next season, with original scripted series to roll out all year long."

In other news from The CW, it was revealed during a TCA panel that Supergirl (Melissa Benoist) and The Flash (Grant Gustin) will battle the Music Meister in their musical crossover episode. Executive producer Greg Berlanti said (via TV Guide), "We're finishing the script this weekend," but they have not yet started casting for the villain role. The crossover episode has yet to be scheduled.

The current season of "Supergirl" returns Monday January 23 at 8 p.m., and "The Flash" returns Tuesday, January 24 at 8 p.m.

Want more stuff like this? Like us on Facebook.