Chilling Adventures of Sabrina

Netflix

The Powers That Be did warn/promise fans that "Chilling Adventures of Sabrina" would be quite dark. Melissa Joan Hart may not even recognize Kiernan Shipka's Sabrina, who seems very rooted to the world of the comic book.

Netflix just shared two new photos from "Chilling Adventures of Sabrina," which streams its first season this October.

These are the first official cast photos, including a shot of Sabrina herself (above), and another (below) of what TVLine called "the dark Baptism of Sabrina" by Father Blackwood (Richard Coyle).

The baptism photo also features Lucy Davis as Hilda Spellman; Miranda Otto as Zelda Spellman; and Abigail Cowen, Adeline Rudolph, and Tati Gabrielle as The Weird Sisters.

Chilling Adventures of Sabrina

Netflix

Here's more on the series from The Hollywood Reporter:

"The show will reimagine the origin and adventures of the comic book character 'Sabrina the Teenage Witch' as a dark coming-of-age tale that traffics in horror, the occult and witchcraft. It's described as in the vein of 'Rosemary's Baby' and 'The Exorcist' and finds Sabrina wrestling to reconcile her dual nature as a half-witch, half-mortal while fighting the evil forces that threaten her, her family and the daylight world humans inhabit.

Sabrina Spellman is described as an empowered young woman, half-human, half-witch, who is just beginning her dark education as a sorceress, even as she tries to maintain a normal life as a sophomore at Baxter High. Intelligent, compassionate and brave to the point of recklessness, Sabrina is all that stands between us and the forces of darkness that threaten our world."

Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa -- Chief Creative Officer at Archie Comics -- created "Riverdale" and this series. He already showed off the first look at the new Salem the Cat, plus the perfect official poster for the series.

Although "Sabrina" was originally conceived as a companion series to "Riverdale" -- since they are both set in the same Archie Comics universe -- "Sabrina" ended up on Netflix instead of The CW, and Aguirre-Sacasa said there are no plans for series crossovers at this time.

"The Chilling Adventures of Sabrina" starts streaming Friday, October 26 on Netflix.

Want more stuff like this? Like us on Facebook.