Skip to main content

reviews

43
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 68 )
  • 25
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    As for the ladies who think any kind of chick flick is preferable to football, be careful what you wish for. show more

  • 50
    San Francisco Chronicle

    You promised only a slim plot, tidy morals and lovers with quaking loins. It was fun while it lasted. show more

  • 50
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    You're more likely to roll your eyes than swoon over this slow-moving and far-fetched love story. show more

  • 40
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    What happens when a genuinely dear John gets a Dear John? For the answer, just meander--no need for running or walking--to your local multiplex. That's where Dear John, based on the Nicholas Sparks novel of the same name, will be meandering on its downward path from sweetly tender to terminally turgid. show more

  • 50
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    The film has two curious subplots and supporting performances that feel tacked on rather than organically part of it. show more

  • 50
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    If you're just hoping for a little easy escapism, bring your tissues and leave your high standards at home. show more

  • 50
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    The film, while heartfelt and directed by multiple-Oscar nominee Lasse Hallstrom, is dramatically stillborn. show more

  • 63
    Connie Ogle Miami Herald

    There's an audience for old-fashioned romance, and Dear John will please most of it. show more

  • 63
    Calvin Wilson St. Louis Post-Dispatch

    Fulfills its mission, which is to be a crowd-pleasing tearjerker. show more

  • 50
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Dear John exists only to coddle the sentiments of undemanding dreamers, and plunge us into a world where the only evil is the interruption of the good. show more

  • August 16, 2011 Gloria Perkins
    Report This User

    One of the best movies since notebook, so romantic and comepelling , couldn\'t of picked any better twosome. . Channing Tatum is terrific in this movie , Just like the guy a girl would want to fall in love with, He\'s perfect for this movie , he is a natural. Gloria

  • April 08, 2011 teddylu1216
    Report This User

    How can people not like this movie. The ending was perfect and you knew they got back together. I cried everytime I watched it. 12 times. I loved him and I liked her till I saw her in a filthy movie CHOLIE. Don't let me see him in one of those type movies please!

  • March 05, 2011 TMarie1188
    Report This User

    psiluvya4eva I agree with you it was a great movie and the ending could have been a little better and also how i don't know how people couldn't love this movie. It was a great story line and Channing Tatum is a great actor, this was just another great movie of his added tot he list.

  • September 09, 2010 JOSIE
    Report This User

    Can't wait to see Channing Tatem's next movie! Great actor, not fake at all!

  • August 18, 2010 psiluvya4eva
    Report This User

    i thin this was a great movie, i don't know how people didn't like it, i do have to admit that ending should of had a better ending, but still great movie

  • June 03, 2010 jackd1207
    Report This User

    As far as "chick flick's" go, it wasn't bad. The acting was believeable if the story itself was not. I got the part where 9/11 kept them apart, but, the reason for the "Dear John Letter" was so convoluted as to be totalling unbelieveable! Worth the watch, just don't expect the last 30 minutes/ending to make much sense.

  • March 22, 2010 Popeclan03
    Report This User

    The worst movie out there. Don't waste your time or money. :(

  • April 03, 2010 RAZLDAZL88
    Report This User

    this movie for or bad hopfully the last song with be better! i hated dear song i think they could have done a alot better job then they did it was so bad wast of money! note book was so much better

  • March 16, 2010 lambcrusher
    Report This User

    channing is the worst actor of all time. i dont get it. how can anyone watch him in a film? he has no onscreen presence, no acting skill. it is just vexing to me.

  • March 10, 2010 Guessgirl0088
    Report This User

    Saw it last night and I was extremely disappointed. If you read the book prior to seeing the movie, EVERYTHING was different. The first scene im like this wasnt in the book and especially the ending totally changed, complete 180 turn. Such a disappointment thought it would be much better. The book was more exciting. Don't waste your money. It was all over the place.

`

similar movies

  • The Notebook (2004)

  • The Cider House Rules (1999)

  • Ghost (1990)

  • The Bridges of Madison County (1995)

  • The Fault in Our Stars (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X