Skip to main content

reviews

61
Based on 22 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 13 )
  • 75
    Peter Hartlaub San Francisco Chronicle

    In a genre where too many films are all brawn and no brain, Fighting is a contender. show more

  • 38
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Fighting seriously lacks punch. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    As its defiantly bland title suggests, Fighting is a bare-bones effort that tries just hard enough to keep us watching. By making good use of its New York setting, Montiel does bring a certain indie grit to the generic story. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    In Channing Tatum, who also starred in "Saints," the film has a good-looking, magnetic hunk to draw a crowd. Terrence Howard lends the pedigree of great screen acting, and Zulay Henao adds charm and glamour. show more

  • 88
    Wesley Morris Boston Globe

    Fighting has real grit and excellent acting. In other words, there is gold in that dirt. show more

  • 75
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    I like the way the personalities are allowed to upstage the plot in Fighting, a routine three-act fight story that creates uncommonly interesting characters. show more

  • 75
    Kyle Smith New York Post

    Fighting arrives fully charged by the charisma of its star, Channing Tatum, who has landed the lead in the upcoming "G.I. Joe." show more

  • 75
    Premiere

    Fighting is a fun, frank and faithful homage to simple inner-city drama. show more

  • 50
    TV Guide

    It's not as if Fighting is terrible. The acting is well done, as is the unique look at the underbelly of the Big Apple. show more

  • 50
    Liam Lacey The Globe and Mail (Toronto)

    Fighting is a crude love letter to seventies' New York cinema but set in the present. show more

  • July 23, 2009 ronnoc55365
    Report This User

    I was pumped for this movie but it was a disapointment.

  • June 19, 2009 THE DESERT RAT
    Report This User

    "Fighting." "Hangover." This is what entertains us these days? This is deep? This should sound the death knell for the culture...feel the cold chill blow over your skin, hear the low peel of the bells toll for the death of the culture. Cage fighting for humans as Senator McCain characterizes as "human cock-tighting," now sails by our TV screens as entertainment. Tell me, what the diff between that and gladiators 3,000 years ago in the Coliseum in Rome? Nada, methinks. Roger....Tucson

  • May 16, 2009 ToriBlue9
    Report This User

    This movie was very entertaining. The fighting was exciting, and it also had a goos story line. It kept you guessing until the very end. I could go back and see it again.

  • May 10, 2009 Frankiep111
    Report This User

    This movie far exceeded my expectations. It was a very real movie with good acting. My only criticism would be that you could get lost in the ending if you don't follow close enough. Other than that, good movie. Worth seeing.

  • May 05, 2009 RaCy ReBeL 03
    Report This User

    This movie was AWFUL! The story line was so chopped up, along with the entire movie. What was the point of this movie? Yea, I still have no idea. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!

  • May 02, 2009 zomini15
    Report This User

    it was a good movie you can watch it but some of the fighting parts were shakey

  • May 02, 2009 PRFEM
    Report This User

    i would like to kno who liked obssed

  • April 29, 2009 Claire
    Report This User

    I thought it was a good movie. I just love anything were I can look at Channing Tatum! But can someone please tell me what was up with the way Terrance Howard was talking?? I love his acting too, but I couldnt even look at him the same with that stupid accent he was talking with. Was he supposed to be gay or what??

  • April 27, 2009 sternschnuppe561
    Report This User

    This movie isn't even worth the time. It has horrible acting, bad story line, and not so great fights....I guess thats what happends when you make a rated PG-13 movie about illegal underground fighting.

  • April 26, 2009 XNeroFireX
    Report This User

    This movie isnt worth going to the movies to see its full of mostly talking with like 4 fights. It has a basic plot and even the movie sadly enough seems to screw up and the ending was kind of stupid. The movie doesnt explain much on the reasons for the fighting so ya it was a waste of my money.

`

similar movies

  • Never Back Down (2008)

  • Million Dollar Baby (2004)

  • RoboCop (2014)

  • Skyfall (2012)

  • Captain America: The Winter Soldier (2014)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X