Skip to main content

reviews

63
Based on 37 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 53 )
  • 50
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Their banter is fun at the start until it becomes relentless. show more

  • 75
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    The takeaway on Friends With Benefits is that mores change, styles change, the rules change, and even humor changes. (There are two jokes involving apps, of all things, that are pretty funny.) But people's emotional needs remain the same from era to era. show more

  • 63
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    When it's good, Friends With Benefits is quite good - especially as it skewers rom-com clichés. show more

  • 63
    Steven Rea Philadelphia Inquirer

    Instead of gleaning something from real life, the great minds behind Friends With Benefits slapped their ideas together based on screwball classics, "Sleepless in Seattle" bits, and a keen analysis of Hollywood hackery. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    It's cute and funny and sweet, which - as any woman can attest - puts it way ahead of most Friday night options. show more

  • 80
    Michael Rechtshaffen The Hollywood Reporter

    Goes a long way in bringing sexy back to a soggy genre, benefiting greatly from the presence of its likable leads. show more

  • 45
    Stephanie Zacharek Movieline

    Every actor in Friends with Benefits, including the nearly indestructible Patricia Clarkson and Richard Jenkins, stalls out in the process of pedaling desperately to make this substandard material work. show more

  • 55
    Ian Buckwalter NPR

    Watching these two actors move from being sweetly flirtatious to doing real emotional battle may not entirely compensate for the movie's other failings, but it goes a long way toward making amends. show more

  • 88
    Roger Moore Orlando Sentinel

    Chemistry is king. It's one reason the rom-com has long seemed like the toughest code for Hollywood to crack. But never underestimate the power of snappy, rapid-fire banter, the paving stones of the Hollywood road to romance. show more

  • 88
    Mike Scott New Orleans Times-Picayune

    The result isn't just the best new romantic comedy released so far this year, but one of the best comedies, period. show more

  • April 16, 2012 nnp210
    Report This User

    I think the movie was great, Kunis is beautiful and Timberlake is very handsome. They make the movie enjoyable to watch over and over. I do not understand how people can say they did not like it. Perhaps they are just jealous that Justin and Mila make the movie work. Alot of movies today are not worth seeing because the acting is so terrible.

  • December 27, 2011 BRADMAN
    Report This User

    Movie was just \"OK\" Extremely predictable. I wish I woulda rented it rather than buying it because I probably ********** it again. Wait til you can rent it for a dollar.

  • December 10, 2011 Artie
    Report This User

    This movie, although having likeable actors was total ********* wasn\'t funny...it wasn\'t amusing. Personally I couldn\'t get through it and had to stop watching it. At least it was a rental. I hate drivel and tripe like this. Movies like this are an insult to anyone but imbeciles....but then why insult imbeciles?

  • December 05, 2011 yy00000000107432
    Report This User

    Not a bad film for a chic flick

  • December 03, 2011 Ken
    Report This User

    awesome movie Justin& Mila great in movie .

  • October 14, 2011 sp00000000102993
    Report This User

    really liked this movie

  • October 07, 2011 wu00000000102520
    Report This User

    I like a good rom-com. Of late, however, the offerings in the genre have been pants - big, crusty, stained, beige Y-fronts - The Bounty Hunter anyone? Eat Pray Love (Waste Two Hours of Your Life)? I could go on and list more, but I think I’d best move on, lest I depress myself. The point is, there are a truckload of rom-coms, which range from mediocre to lose-the-will-to-live kind of terrible, and, because of this, you would be forgiven for thinking that the genre is dying. However, that is not the case, as, much like panning for gold, in amongst the rom-com grit and grime, there are small nuggets of gold to be found. Friends With Benefits is one such nugget. Friends With Benefits isn’t perfect. It feels sectional; it goes from being sexy to being silly to being cutesy and sentimental, without any real sense of cohesion, ********** also clever, satirising its genre, it’s funny, which is more than can be said for a lot of romantic comedies at the moment, and Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake are good together; they have chemistry and a lot of charm. The movie also has a great supporting cast, including Patricia Clarkson, who does a fine job as Kunis’s hippie-type, carefree mother and Woody Harrelson, whose gay sports writer colleague of Timberlake is just hilarious. If you like your rom-coms, and you haven’t already seen this, do. I promise you’ll get a decent laugh, and be heartened by the fact that every so often a romantic comedy comes along to prove the g

  • August 16, 2011 parnase6
    Report This User

    Mila was wonderful, great actress, really hit the nail! Justin....WTF!.....the boy can\'t act....AT ALL!!

  • August 16, 2011 kmo2009
    Report This User

    I wasn\'t sure about this movie when I saw it in previews but I actually really enjoyed it! There are some really funny cameos and Mila and Justin have some mad chemisty together. Yes, it is predicibly predictable but thats what you sign up for when you go to a rom com. It was still very cute and funny and I liked it!

  • August 15, 2011 EARNIE
    Report This User

    This is a wonderful movie. Thought it was going to be another stupid waist of time . Was a pleasant surprize.

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X