Skip to main content

reviews

Based on Reviews
fan reviews ( 12 )
  • July 23, 2012 sg00000000127790
    Report This User

    Absolutely witty film with a superb cast. The script is very real; even Megan Fox comes off as true to life, and well suited for the character she plays. Some people might find the themes to be condescending and offensive, but in the end the message rings clear and it actually makes for a very refreshing film. This is definitely a film for movie lovers as it offers a less traditional script.

  • April 16, 2012 hawbecker191
    Report This User

    http://rhawbecker3.blogspot.com/2012/03/friends-with-kids-movie-review.html

  • April 06, 2012 Margaret Opine
    Report This User

    NOT FOR TRADITIONALISTS...AMEN! [I DON\'T BELIEVE I\'M SAYING THIS but 4 stars...because the actors carried this movie as if it was their own.] It does drag but then it takes off and keeps going for the most part...but then you must know this rhythm and pattern is just about how a real life relationship like this would go. Adam Scott & Jennifer Westfeldt seemed modern and real. [Scott reminded me of Tom Cruise: his factial features and sound, and size.] But what would traditionalists have to complain about in this movie: the couple took the ball and ran with it but in the end they came together like a true conservative team, never to folly again. I WENT TO SEE THE MOVIE TO SEE MODERN IDEAS about marriage: I\'m looking for them. And this movie certainly had a good dose of it: splitting the work and the care 50/50 and then trying to separate out their personal-private lives for ANOTHER LIFE as parents but then when Jennifer\'s character mentioned FAMILY...with tears; well, there wasn\'t a dry eye in the theater where I went except for the six young guys sitting in a group who likely feel that they have to at least forty,forty-five to ask a twenty year old to marry them and be faithful. Well, the youthful, attractive 40-yr.old women where I live are looking at Mr. Solid + well-funded-50-55-60 year-old man and they are planning on having a lot of affordable romance with a pinch of sex. They only have ONE problem with Mr. Gray-At-The-Temple: he doesn\'t want kids and their bio-clock is winding down. They are educated and already well-funded but they need a Mister for romance and manliness to complete their PERFECT LIFE syndrome. Americans are switching things around a lot, feeling free and seeking happiness--the traditional rules don\'t always fit modern Americans desires, dreams and wishes for happiness. So, let\'s have make-us sex...that\'s what I said: make-us-a-baby sex and be parents together but let\'s forget that marriage stuff because it is way too serious and since we are already the best of friends and know everything about each other until we feel like connected as twins...let\'s not mess that up by trying to marry it together to live happily ever-after. Carrie said something like to Big in SEX \'N THE CITY: ^We were doing fine until we decided to live happily ever after.^ So, young Americans are trying to find new ways to have marriage in their designer lives; new ways to think about being married; they have lots of options and ideas, and that DIVISION OF LABOR has always, but always been high on the list. --MO

  • March 30, 2012 grechero
    Report This User

    fabulous

  • March 27, 2012 jbdlawyer
    Report This User

    once again Hollywood preaches to us how to live our lives in a most condescending and offensive manner. Lead characters Scott and Westfeldt are disgustingly selfish single adults living in Manhattan inrent controlled apartments. This plot has been done a dozen times before. This time, Scott and West felt spend most of the movie avoiding the traps of marriage and parent hood, laughing at their couple friends in gauged in these states. Of course, at some point it dawns on these otherwise brilliant overachievers that they want to have a child – of course avoiding the traps that have destroyed their friends. After all, everyone is entitled to as much free and commitles sex as they can schedule.if you ask Scott\'s character he probably lecture you how it ( the right to unlimited,meaningless, recreational sex)is part of a man\'s rights under the U.S. Constitution. For the silliest of reasons, something like they are two good of friends to ruin the friendship by the shackles of marriage, committed parenthood and family, Scott impregnates Westfeldt and they have the perfect child together. Both of course continue their \"dating\" other people even after the child is born, because after all who wants to have sex with the same person the rest of their life! They watch dear friends get divorced, re-couple, all the while Scott sanctimoniously lectures is friend who is having difficulty in the troubled marriage ends up leaving his wife, that he is the alternate moral authority, falling back on the age-old liberal position of total self-indulgence, flaunting convention. Of course, Scott finally realizes in the last 10% of the that his attitude is completely wrong, and is little more than adolescent selfishness. Other than frequent use of the \"F\" word, and other gutter dialogue, is Scott\'s condescending mealymouthed moral lecturing about his inability to share the planet with anyone who voted for George Bush in 2004, all people who hereto any form of organized religion, etc. Scott\'s so-called \"ethic is little more than his verbalization of his incredibly selfish attitude toward everyone else in the world. Of course, a child does not need a mother and father that is an arcane vestige of the day gone by when people believed in such stupidity. The \"so-called\" happy ending wherefirst Weldstedt, then finally Scott realize that may be a committed marriage is not only best for their child, but for themselves, is to lead in an otherwise disgusting Seles will of moronic moralizing by a bunch of idio

  • March 21, 2012 vh00000000101589
    Report This User

    Had potential, but fell short. Too raunchy for a rom/com. The ending was seriously flawed. I couldn\'t help myself but said, \"Really? Really? What kind of a person wrote this script?\" The movie was okay, a few laughs. I wasn\'t bored watching. With a different ending the movie could have been four stars.

  • March 18, 2012 koltzbfff
    Report This User

    loved it. two criticisms, nothing to show the love a parent has for a child and not enough from the kids. also, the last scene lost all the tenderness and poignancy by using \"******* the **** out you\" as the sentiment that brings them together

  • March 17, 2012 brendanmarx
    Report This User

    Funny. Great Cast. See it.

  • March 16, 2012 jq00000000117663
    Report This User

    Split Review: I actually loved this movie while my husband didn\'t care for it at all. While we both agreed the supporting cast had little to do but play 1 dimensional character roles that represented different types of marrieds with children, the main characters had some really good moments. There are a few scenes where the dialogue was so honest and moving, I ached. I suppose the reason the movie resonated so well with me is due specifically to my life experiences. This is the same reason it did not resonate with my husband as his relationship history before me was quite different. I imagine many will think it\'s a chick-flick, perhaps so... all I know is, there were moments that spoke to me and in the end, I quite appreciated it.

  • March 12, 2012 kl00000000117085
    Report This User

    Touching, poignant and a quite realistic view of couples with kids. Both my husband and I shared a few laughs and even a few tears. Great movie for a parents date night out.

`

similar movies

  • The Kids Are All Right (2010)

  • 2 Days in Paris (2007)

  • When Harry Met Sally... (1989)

  • Please Give (2010)

  • Don Jon (2013)

Stay Connected with Moviefone

Download the Free App!

My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X