Skip to main content

reviews

62
Based on 48 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 46 )
  • 63
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    Seeing the scaly dude side with Mother Nature against the freaks is almost worth enduring the blather that precedes it. I said "almost." show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    What's particularly weird about Godzilla is that for long stretches, all it shows is destruction. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Godzilla 2014 is a more somber and frightening reboot than the cartoonish 1998 movie. show more

  • 50
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    When the film finally gets around to monsters on a rampage, you'll get both more and less than you bargained for. show more

  • 40
    Joe Neumaier New York Daily News

    Despite a few fiery breaths, there’s mostly hot air from a lot of serious actors slumming it. show more

  • 70
    Todd McCarthy The Hollywood Reporter

    Superbly made but burdened by some dull human characters enacted by an interesting international cast who can't do much with them, this new Godzilla is smart, self-aware, eye-popping and arguably in need of a double shot of cheeky wit. show more

  • 55
    Alonso Duralde The Wrap

    Director Gareth Edwards (“Monsters”) gets the money shots right, but neither he nor screenwriter Max Borenstein (working from a story by David Callaham) makes the human characters interesting enough to get us through two mostly Godzilla-free acts. show more

  • 60
    Film.com

    The best thing about this new Godzilla is that it spares no expense or effort to deliver big, burly IMAX-ified action... The worst thing about this new Godzilla is how that’s the best thing about it. show more

  • 65
    Bob Mondello NPR

    We're here to see the film's leading lizard, who is pretty gorgeously realized by an army of digitizers, even if he seems just a bit-player in his own movie for the first hour or so. show more

  • 88
    Michael Phillips Chicago Tribune

    The director thinks visually, which sounds redundant until you realize how many monster movies are flat, effects-dependent factory jobs. Edwards knows how to use great heights for great effect. show more

  • June 17, 2014 Bob Hughes
    Report This User

    one word awsome

  • June 17, 2014 Bob Hughes
    Report This User

    one word awsome

  • June 08, 2014 maya.noah
    Report This User

    best movie ever

  • June 04, 2014 redhawk696
    Report This User

    Outside of the special effects it was the worst Godzilla movie I've seen, and I grew up on him. For the little bit you see of Godzilla he should be listeded as the co-star.

  • June 03, 2014 tony.hernandez17
    Report This User

    Best Godzilla movie I've ever seen. I hella enjoyed this movie in theathres, tons of action, tons of fun. This is the best movie of the year so far I really enjoyed.

  • May 29, 2014 Shari
    Report This User

    I did not like this movie at all. First off, they didn't even show Godzilla for over an hour from when the movie started. Then they had him on the air for maybe a total of 10 min. The plot was poor. Was more about their personal life than Godzilla. Really boring monster movie. I've always loved Godzilla movies but this one was terrible. Do not waste your time and money. Was SO disappointed. So we're all my friends I went with.

  • May 27, 2014 TrumanDem
    Report This User

    I went to this movie with high expectations and they were exceeded. As a fan of the past Godzilla movies for their camp value [so bad they are funny] this one was made with adults in mind. I keep reading fan reviews saying they were confused. Really? Perhaps they weren't paying attention. I loved the EMP variant in this movie as it relates/related to nuclear devices. Awesome. I loved the plot line, the narrative of the story, and finally the metaphors embedded in the Muto(s) and Godzilla. My eight year old daughter ate it up. She seemed to understand it as we discussed it all the way home afterwards with her begging to go back and see it again. The final denouement between Godzilla and the second Muto at the end is a jaw dropper. A couple of reviews have mentioned a guy in a rubber suit. No. This was CGI all the way. I give it 5 out of 5 stars and highly recommended for the thinking fan but not for the fan that wants their thinking done for them [i.e. explained like you are a first grader].

  • May 26, 2014 Tiffiney
    Report This User

    I thought the movie was pretty good. I didn't follow Godzilla from back in the day so I don't really have a frame of reference to compare to, but I will say the 3D effects seemed misguided. Meaning most of the effects were of the people on the ground or seeing someone's cell phone as if you can grab it, but when it came to Godzilla himself, the 3D effects just weren't intense enough. Whenever Godzilla opens his mouth or swings his tail I was expecting to feel like I'm being swallowed or slapped by his tail but I didn't feel that way. Whenever planes or people were falling from the sky, I was expecting to actually feel like they were going to fall on me but I never screamed out loud throughout the whole movie. Maybe because it was only rated PG-13 and I wasn't at an IMAX theatre.

  • May 26, 2014 NuJack72
    Report This User

    Godzilla, not the main character in this movie. I enjoyed the plot but at times found myself confused as to what was going on! Godzilla was not given the credit he deserved as the hero dino-monster that I remember him to be! This movie has alot of hype for its mediocre performance!

  • May 25, 2014 What it do?
    Report This User

    Would of loved to see more Godzilla, but I was in love with the movie! They brought Godzilla to life and his true character. He is a legend. And I will buy this movie as soon as it comes out. People will say not enough fight scenes, that they are disappointed but the fight scenes they do show, AMAZING. ! Go,Go Godzilla!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X