Skip to main content

reviews

72
Based on 34 Reviews
critic reviews (10)
fan reviews ( 234 )
  • 88
    Peter Travers Rolling Stone

    A lifetime in movies runs through this prime vintage Eastwood performance. You can't take your eyes off him. The no-frills, no-bull Gran Torino made my day. show more

  • 50
    Mick LaSalle San Francisco Chronicle

    Maybe this mixed-up and weird, awful but awfully likable movie is what Dirty Harry had coming to him, after all. show more

  • 75
    Claudia Puig USA Today

    Earnest and understated, Gran Torino is an unflinching examination of themes that have fascinated Eastwood in most of his recent films: family, war, loss, faith and unexpected human connection. show more

  • 80
    Joe Morgenstern Wall Street Journal

    It's a meditation, as affecting as it is entertaining, on the limits of violence and the power of unchained empathy. show more

  • 75
    Carrie Rickey Philadelphia Inquirer

    For those who gripe that America doesn't make cars or movies like it used to, Clint Eastwood has two words for you: Gran Torino. show more

  • 60
    Elizabeth Weitzman New York Daily News

    Eastwood's performance is the movie's centerpiece, and as you might expect, it's just tough enough to hold everything together. show more

  • 60
    Kirk Honeycutt The Hollywood Reporter

    Eastwood has always had the gift for comedy in his acting repertoire, but he indulges in it only rarely. His fans might embrace this return to comedy. show more

  • 88
    Roger Ebert Chicago Sun-Times

    Stars Eastwood as an American icon once again -- this time as a cantankerous, racist, beer-chugging retired Detroit autoworker who keeps his shotgun ready to lock and load. Dirty Harry on a pension, we're thinking, until we realize that only the autoworker retired; Dirty Harry is still on the job. show more

  • 88
    Rene Rodriguez Miami Herald

    The movie is supremely entertaining -- and often hilarious. show more

  • 88
    Lou Lumenick New York Post

    It's also a terrific, career-capping role for Eastwood, who claims he's now retired as an actor. He shows off his comic chops more fully than in any film since "Bronco Billy" more than a quarter-century ago. show more

  • July 27, 2012 AllyRowley
    Report This User

    Love Clint Eastwood

  • July 27, 2012 sahanakrish
    Report This User

    what next

  • July 27, 2012 Allison Rowley
    Report This User

    Love it

  • June 30, 2011 xw00000000094425
    Report This User

    great movie 10 stars

  • February 17, 2010 maxicarras8
    Report This User

    love this movie no 1 in my family said no to to see this my uncle casme all the way from staten island cuz his movie theater is a rippoff so if u are as me & my family u would love this movie

  • November 28, 2009 hmd83
    Report This User

    Gran Torino was on of Clint Eastwoods' Greatest movies since "The Million Dollar Baby" without qustion. iT WAS ALMOST his most under-rated movies of all times. I rented the movie first, then after watching it, I went out and **************** then, I have watched "Gran Torino" over a dozen times. I feel like "Gran Torino" could have and should have been promoted twenty times more than it was, before its release at the theater. tHE video stores sure did not have no problems renting it, and it was probably rented and sold 1000 Times more than it was seen at the theater, due to lack or promotion. mY sisters and I could not help but to change the name of the movie, referring to it as "The Retirement of Dirty Harry"!!!! Some people say this was probably the last movie Clint Eatwood will star in as a Actor. Thesepeople might be right, but all of us Clint Eastwood Fans hope not. I'm sure Mr. Eastwood will continue to Direct, Produce, and Write movies forever. I'm 50 years-old, and Clint Eastwood was the Actor and Director I watched and admired since I was a child. Mr. Eastwood will always be my favorite movie Actor and Director of all my and my families life. We hope to see him act in another movie or ten, before he does finally hang his hat up in the Celebrity Hall of Fame...! tHERE will never be another/better Clint Easteood... Thank you for many, many years of entertainment, Charles / Rushi2@aol.com

  • October 25, 2009 cubes32
    Report This User

    my dad loved it and i loved it to, VERY GOOD ACTING

  • August 06, 2009 OTSKSKA
    Report This User

    Loved this movie. I watched it five times. My new favorite movie of all time

  • June 29, 2009 hollaatyourboy8
    Report This User

    very good movie. wow

  • May 31, 2009 Hello Mike,
    Report This User

    FallonTOBrien, did you flip out or what!

`
My Settings

You are currently subscribed as: {email}


Subscriptions

Get the latest reviews, movie news, photos, and trailers sent straight to your inbox.

Weekly Newsletter

Daily alerts

Movies

You're not following any movies.

These are the movies you’re currently following.


    Update settings
    X